Bretton Woods

Bretton Woods is an area within the town of Carroll, New Hampshire, United States, whose principal points of interest are three leisure and recreation facilities. Being virtually surrounded by the White Mountain National Forest, the vista from Bretton Woods toward Mount Washington and the Presidential Range includes no significant artificial structures other than the Mount Washington Cog Railway and the Mount Washington Hotel.
Bretton Woods was the site of the United Nations Monetary and Financial Conference in 1944 which has given its name to the Bretton Woods system and led to the establishment of both the World Bank and the International Monetary Fund in 1945. The Bretton Woods system ended in 1971.
Bretton Woods is located along U.S. Route 302, 5 miles east of the village of Twin Mountain and 20 miles through scenic Crawford Notch northwest of the town of Bartlett.
In 1772, King George III granted Sir Thomas Wentworth of Bretton Hall, a country house in West Bretton, West Yorkshire, and 82 others, a parcel of 24,640 acres of land to be laid out as a plantation in the White Mountains.
Show lessRead more

Discover this place

54 items

Google apps