Lansing-East Lansing, MI

The Lansing–East Lansing Metropolitan Statistical Area is a three-county metropolitan area located in Central Michigan defined by the Office of Management and Budget, and encompassing the counties of Eaton, Clinton, and Ingham. The region is colloquially referred to as "Mid" or Central Michigan, and less often as "Greater Lansing". As of the 2010 census, the MSA had a population of 464,036. It ranks as Michigan's third-largest metropolitan area behind metropolitan Detroit and Grand Rapids.
The metropolitan area was originally defined as only including Ingham County in 1950, but Eaton and Clinton counties were added in 1960. Ionia County was added in 1973, but taken out a decade later for the 1990 Census.
The Lansing–East Lansing–Owosso Combined Statistical Area includes the Lansing–East Lansing MSA, plus the Owosso μSA, which includes Shiawassee County. As of the 2010 census, the CSA had a population of 534,684.
The Lansing Urban Area, as defined by the U.S. Census Bureau, which measures the extent of the built environment, had a population of 313,532 as of the 2010 census.
Show lessRead more

Discover this place

433 items

Google apps