Mysuru District is an administrative district located in the southern part of the state of Karnataka, India. It is the administrative headquarters of Mysore Division.Chamarajanagar District was carved out of the original larger Mysore District in the year 1998. The district is bounded by Chamrajanagar district to the southeast, Mandya district to the east and northeast, Kerala state to the south, Kodagu district to the west, and Hassan district to the north.
This district has a prominent place in the history of Karnataka; Mysore was ruled by the Wodeyars from the year 1399 till the independence of India in the year 1947. It features many tourist destinations, from Mysore Palace to Nagarhole National Park. It is the third-most populous district in Karnataka, after Bangalore Urban.
Show lessRead more

Discover this place

Google apps