Pretoria is the administrative capital of South Africa. It straddles the Apies River and has spread eastwards into the foothills of the Magaliesberg mountains. It is one of the country's three capital cities, serving as the seat of the administrative branch of government, and of foreign embassies to South Africa. Pretoria, has a reputation for being an academic city with four universities, the Tshwane University of Technology, University of Pretoria, Sefako Makgatho Health Science University and the University of South Africa, also home to the Council for Scientific and Industrial Research, and the Human Sciences Research Council.
The city also hosts the National Research Foundation and the South African Bureau of Standards making the city a hub for research. Pretoria is the central part of the Tshwane Metropolitan Municipality which was formed by the amalgamation of several former local authorities including Centurion and Soshanguve. There have been proposals to change the name of Pretoria itself to Tshwane and the proposed name change has caused some public controversy. Pretoria was one of the host cities of the 2010 FIFA World Cup.
Show lessRead more

Discover this place

505 items

Google apps