Snowy Mountains

The Snowy Mountains, known informally as "The Snowies", is an IBRA subregion in southern New South Wales, Australia, and is the tallest mountain range in mainland Australia, being part of the continent's Great Dividing Range cordillera system. It makes up the northeastern half of the Australian Alps and contains Australia's five tallest peaks, all of which are above 2,100 m, including the tallest Mount Kosciuszko, which reaches to a height of 2,228 m above sea level. The offshore Tasmanian highlands makes up the only other major alpine region present in the whole of Australia.
The Snowy Mountains experiences large natural snowfalls every winter, normally during June, July, August and early September, with the snow cover melting by late spring. It is considered to be one of the centers of the Australian ski industry during the winter months, with all four snow resorts in New South Wales being located in the region. The range is host to the mountain plum-pine, a low-lying type of conifer.
The Alpine Way and Snowy Mountains Highway are the major roads through the Snowy Mountains region.
Show lessRead more

Discover this place

9 items

Google apps