Spanish Civil War

Jul 17, 1936 - Apr 1, 1939

The Spanish Civil War, widely known in Spain simply as The Civil War or The War, took place from 1936 to 1939. The Republicans, who were loyal to the democratic, left-leaning and relatively urban Second Spanish Republic, in an alliance of convenience with the Anarchists and Communists, fought against the Nationalists, a Falangist, Carlist, Catholic, and largely aristocratic conservative group led by General Francisco Franco. The war has often been portrayed as a struggle between democracy and fascism, particularly due to the political climate and timing surrounding it, but it can more accurately be described as a struggle between leftist revolution and rightist counter-revolution similar to the Finnish Civil War, the Russian Civil War, and the wars fought over the formation of the Hungarian and Slovak Soviet republics. In early 1939, the Nationalists won, and Franco ruled over all of Spain until his death in November 1975.
The war began after a pronunciamiento against the Republican government by a group of generals of the Spanish Republican Armed Forces, originally under the leadership of José Sanjurjo.
Show lessRead more

Discover this historical event

287 items
Translate with Google