Edmonton is the capital city of the Canadian province of Alberta. Edmonton is on the North Saskatchewan River and is the centre of the Edmonton Metropolitan Region, which is surrounded by Alberta's central region. The city anchors the north end of what Statistics Canada defines as the "Calgary–Edmonton Corridor".
The metro area of Edmonton had a population of 1,491,000 at the beginning of 2021, making it Alberta's second-largest city and Canada's fifth-largest municipality. Edmonton's 2019 municipal census recorded a population of 972,223. Also in 2016, Edmonton had a metropolitan population of 1,321,426, making it the sixth-largest census metropolitan area in Canada. Edmonton is North America's northernmost metropolitan area with a population over one million. A resident of Edmonton is known as an Edmontonian.
Edmonton's historic growth has been facilitated through the absorption of five adjacent urban municipalities in addition to a series of annexations through 1982, and the annexation of 8,260 ha of land from Leduc County and the City of Beaumont on January 1, 2019.
Show lessRead more

Discover this place

42 items

Google apps