Migori also known as Suna-Migori is a multi-ethnic municipal town which acts as the capital of Migori County, Kenya. The town is located 63 kilometers south of Kisii town and 22 km north of the Tanzanian border. The Migori Metropolitan area consists of Migori municipality and the adjacent smaller towns. The area has three constituencies namely Suna East, Suna West and Uriri with a total population of 393,012 according to the Kenya National Bureau of Statistics sponsored national census of 2019. The neighboring town/constituency of Awendo has 96,872 and Kuria East has 117, 290. In 2010, The Star newspaper reported that the town had a population of approximately 100,000 people.
Migori is the second most viable urban center in Luo Nyanza after Kisumu city. However, it is the third largest town in former Nyanza province after Kisumu and Kisii. As compared to most Nyanza towns, Migori is unique because of its multi-ethnic makeup consisting of Dholuo speaking people, Abasuba community, Abagusii, Abaluhya, Kuria, Indians, Arabs, and Somali people. Increasingly, there are also westerners living in the town engaged in mission activities as well as gold mining at Macalder Mines.
Show lessRead more

Discover this place

Google apps