Underriver is a village about 3 miles south-east of Sevenoaks, Kent. It is in the civil parish of Seal.
The name "Underriver" is derived from the Old English sub le ryver which translates into modern English as "under the hill".
The village's church, St Margaret's, is a Grade II listed building. It was built in 1867 to the designs of George Gilbert Scott.
Until the early 20th century, Underriver had its own school, forge, post office, pub and church. Today only the pub and the church remain. The other buildings have since been converted into housing.
Underriver also has its own village hall and an active village association.
Show lessRead more

Discover this place

Google apps