对星空的研究可以追溯到远古时代。希腊和中国的天文学家一共确定了数百颗恒星,将它们分为几种星座,其中一些沿用至今。在中世纪和现代欧洲早期,天文学与占星学之间的分界线一直不甚明确。长久以来,人们都认为恒星和行星的运动会对国家和个人的命运产生影响。

“每星期三晚上,他们都要用望远镜观测星空,学习不同星星的名称和行星运行的轨迹。”
《哈利·波特与魔法石》
他们眼中的星辰

最古老的星图集
1907 年,探险家奥莱尔·斯坦 (Aurel Stein) 在中国敦煌的一个山洞里偶然发现了一个藏有 4 万份佛教手稿和画作的宝库,其中就包含这幅卷轴,这是所有文明中最古老的星图集。

这幅星图集是在大约公元 700 年(比望远镜发明还要早好几个世纪)绘制的,它展示了北半球肉眼可见的 1300 多颗恒星。当时的人们认为恒星的运动直接反映了中国皇帝和朝廷的行为。

阿索斯山上的天文学家
约翰·曼德维尔爵士 (Sir John Mandeville) 是一位著名的中世纪英国旅行家(不过他是虚构人物),他的奇幻作品在西欧广为流传。这张插图附有《曼德维尔爵士旅行记》(Mandeville’s Travels) 的捷克语译文。

该图描绘的是一群天文学家站在希腊的阿索斯山(也称为“圣山”)上用星盘和象限仪研究星体.

其他人则用棍子在地上写下奇怪的字符,也许是曼德维尔描述的某种神秘的外文字母。

天球仪
天球仪显示了从地球角度看到的天空中星体的位置。这个伟大的样本是由文森佐·科罗内利 (Vincenzo Coronelli) 设计的,他被视为全世界最伟大的球仪制造者之一。这座天球仪于 1693 年在巴黎制造,直径 108 厘米(为法国国王路易十四制造的那座更大)。科罗内利与曾担任法国王室雕刻师的让-巴蒂斯特·诺林 (Jean-Baptiste Nolin) 合作完成了这座天球仪。

“…观察天空,对于能读懂星相的人来说,那里已经描绘出了我们各个种族的命运。”
《哈利·波特与凤凰社》

盎格鲁撒克逊半人马
这份 11 世纪的盎格鲁撒克逊手稿是大英图书馆馆藏中最精美的书籍之一。

射手座的名称源自拉丁文的“射手”一词,在这一页上被描绘成一个留有胡子的半人马,肩上披着一件白色斗篷,手中拉开了弓箭。

这份手稿是远古时代的珍贵遗存,当时我们的祖先非常重视研究天体的运动轨迹。

你不可能是小天狼星
《哈利·波特》系列小说中很多角色名字的灵感都来自星空,其中包括德拉科·马尔福贝拉特里克斯·莱斯特兰奇小天狼星·布莱克。这份手稿于大约 900 年前在英格兰完成,这一页展示的是大犬座。

这个星座中最著名的恒星(也是夜空中最闪亮的恒星)是天狼星,也称为“犬星”。书页上狗的形状是用一首拉丁诗文堆砌而成,诗文描述了这颗恒星的神话起源。

《天空的风景》
在希腊神话中,乌拉尼亚是掌管天文的缪斯女神。在 19 世纪,她的名字出现在名为《乌拉尼亚之镜》(Urania’s Mirror) 或《天空的风景》的星图系列作品中。

每张卡片都是手工上色而成,星座被描绘成奇特的生物。这些卡片的设计非常巧妙,将它们拿起对着亮光时,透过小孔的亮点与那些最亮星星的大小相对应。尽管曾有传言说作者是一位“女士”,但现在已经被确认为沃里克郡橄榄球学校的助理教练理查德·布洛克斯姆 (Richard Bloxam)。

著名天文学家

列奥纳多对月球的研究
列奥纳多·达·芬奇是一位发明家、科学家兼艺术家,他的成就超越了他所在的时代数百年。这些手稿摘自他的其中一本笔记本,以他特有的倒写方式用意大利语书写而成,需要从右向左阅读。

与他所处的那个时代的思想一致,列奥纳多认为地球位于宇宙的中心,因此中心位置偏右的阴影图展示了太阳和月亮围绕地球转动。此外,列奥纳多还认为月球被水覆盖,其表面会像凸面镜一样反射光线。

《让我旋转起来》
著名的德国天文学家彼得鲁斯·阿皮亚努斯 (Petrus Apianus) 是一位鞋匠的儿子。这本制作精美的书是他最著名的作品:书中包含一系列旋转纸盘(称为“转盘”),用于模仿行星的运动。这种转盘展示了如何确定月球的纬度。一条龙盘坐在转盘中间,可以将其来回旋转以指向十二宫内的各种符号。这种转盘也可用于占星术。

开普勒对星体的研究
在发明望远镜之前,最精确的星体表是由约翰内斯·开普勒编制而成。这份资料里描述了超过 1000 颗星体的位置,可帮助读者轻松找到各个行星。1617 年,开普勒的母亲被怀疑是女巫;她在狱中待了一年,在她儿子介入后被释放。

精心制作的卷首插图描绘了历史上各位伟大的天文学家,包括托勒密、哥白尼和开普勒本人。

所有参展内容的来源:
展出的故事有时可能由独立的第三方创作,并不完全代表以下提供这些内容的机构的观点。
使用 Google 进行翻译
首页
浏览作品
附近
个人资料

The study of the night sky can be traced back to ancient times. Greek and Chinese astronomers were collectively able to identify hundreds of stars, which they grouped into constellations, some of which are still recognised today. In medieval and early modern  Europe, the distinction between astronomy and astrology remained blurred. The movement of the stars and planets were believed to have an influence upon the destiny of nations and individuals.

‘They had to study the night skies through their telescopes every Wednesday at midnight and learn the names of different stars and the movements of the planets.’
Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone
Stars in their Eyes

The Oldest Atlas of the Night Sky

In 1907, the explorer Aurel Stein stumbled upon a treasure trove of 40,000 Buddhist manuscripts and paintings in a cave in Dunhuang, China. Among them was this paper scroll, the oldest star atlas from any civilisation.

It was made around AD 700, centuries before the invention of the telescope, and it shows more than 1,300 stars visible to the naked eye in the Northern Hemisphere. At that time, it was believed that the movement of the stars directly reflected the actions of the Chinese emperor and the court.

Astronomers on Mount Athos

Sir John Mandeville was a celebrated, but fictitious, medieval English traveller, whose fantastical writings became popular across Western Europe. This illustration accompanied a Czech translation of Mandeville’s Travels.

It shows a group of astronomers standing on Mount Athos in Greece, known as ‘Holy Mountain’, studying the stars with their astrolabes and quadrants.

Others are shown writing strange characters in the dust with their sticks, perhaps one of the mysterious foreign alphabets described by Mandeville.

A Celestial Globe

Celestial globes show the position of the stars in the sky as viewed from Earth. This majestic example was designed by Vincenzo Coronelli, who is considered to be one of the world’s greatest globe makers. It was made in Paris in 1693 and is an impressive 108 cm in diameter (a larger version was made for King Louis XIV of France). Coronelli collaborated on this globe with Jean-Baptiste Nolin, who served as the engraver to the French Crown.

'... observe the heavens. Here is written, for those who can see, the fortune of our races.'
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

An Anglo-Saxon Centaur

This 11th-century Anglo-Saxon manuscript is one of the most beautiful books held at the British Library.

The constellation Sagittarius takes its name from the Latin word for ‘archer’, and is depicted on this page as a bearded centaur, with a white cloak draped round its shoulders, and drawing back its bow.

This manuscript is a precious survival from another age, when our ancestors set great store in tracking the movements of celestial bodies.

You Cannot Be Sirius

The night sky has inspired many of the character names in the Harry Potter series, among them Draco Malfoy, Bellatrix Lestrange and Sirius Black. This manuscript was made in England approximately 900 years ago, with this page illustrating the constellation of Canis Major.

The most famous star in that constellation — and also the brightest star in the night sky — is Sirius, known as the ‘Dog Star’. The dog’s shape is infilled here with a Latin pattern poem, which describes the star’s mythological origins.

A View of the Heavens

In Greek mythology, Urania was the Muse of astronomy. She lent her name in the 19th century to a series of star charts called Urania’s Mirror; or A View of the Heavens.

Each card is hand-coloured and the constellations are depicted as fanciful creatures. The cards are designed to be held up to the light, being pierced with holes that correspond to the size of the brightest stars. Although the author was said to be ‘a Lady’, they have now been identified as Richard Bloxam, an Assistant Master at Rugby School in Warwickshire.

Famous Astronomers

Leonardo on the Moon

Leonardo da Vinci — inventor, scientist, artist — was centuries ahead of his time. These pages come from one of his notebooks, and are written in Italian, in his characteristic mirror handwriting, reading from right to left.


In common with contemporary thinking, Leonardo believed that the Earth occupied the centre of the universe, and so the shaded diagram in the centre right shows the Sun and Moon revolving round the Earth. Leonardo also believed that the Moon was covered with water, and that its surface would reflect light like a convex mirror.

You Spin Me Round

Petrus Apianus, the son of a shoemaker, was an acclaimed German astronomer. This beautifully produced book is his most famous work: it contains a series of rotating paper discs, known as volvelles, mimicking the movements of the planets. This volvelle shows how to determine the Moon’s latitude. A dragon sits in the middle, which can be spun round to point at the various signs of the Zodiac. The volvelles could also be used to cast horoscopes.

Kepler on the Stars
Before the invention of the telescope, the most accurate catalogue of the stars was made by Johannes Kepler. It describes the position of more than a thousand stars, helping its readers to locate the planets. In 1617, Kepler’s own mother was suspected of being a witch; she spent a year in prison before she was released following her son’s intervention.

The elaborate frontispiece depicts great astronomers from history, including Ptolemy, Copernicus and Kepler himself.

Credits: All media
The story featured may in some cases have been created by an independent third party and may not always represent the views of the institutions, listed below, who have supplied the content.
Translate with Google
Home
Explore
Nearby
Profile