1905年

帝國榮景

Freer and Sackler Galleries

東亞統治者的圖輯
愛麗絲‧羅斯福‧朗沃思 (Alice Roosevelt Longworth) 於 1905 年 Taft 使節團出訪亞洲時收藏的照片

愛麗絲‧羅斯福‧朗沃思在訪問亞洲殿堂時,收藏了一系列的攝影肖像,這些都是送給她的正式的外交禮物。在她 1933 年出版的自傳中,愛麗絲詳細每件禮物當時的故事,對於王室肖像畫的使用提供了十分有用價值的觀點。此外,調查每位統治者不同的肖像對於了解當代的外交背景十分具有教育性。

」這一天午飯後,慈禧送了我一個非常精美的繡屏,上面是一塊金色布料繡有白色的菊花、一只漆盒,以及她自己的照片。在我年輕時的這些旅程中,送物似乎是種規定,而我總是迫不及待的想要擁有這些禮物,實在是太有趣了。事實上,我實在是坦率且毫無顧忌的貪婪動物。我真的非常喜愛我的「戰利品」,至少我的家人是這麼稱呼這些禮物的。在日本,我收到了皇室賜予的禮物、服飾。扇子和各種紀念品。

—節錄自愛麗絲‧羅斯福‧朗沃思,擁擠的時間一書 (於紐約和倫敦的 Charles Scribner's Sons 出版,1933年)

愛麗絲在東京受到的接待是她旅途中最奢侈的行程。日本前一年在陸地和海上擊敗了俄羅斯,是第一個擊敗西方強國的亞洲國家。日本民眾被驕傲沖昏了頭,即使是在西奧多‧羅斯福 (Theodore Roosevelt) 總統本人在朴茨茅斯 (Portsmout) 進行兩國之間的和平談判時,也表現出相同的態度。日本有充分的理由相信,羅斯福其實是扮演著日本人角色,而和他的支持對於和平談判的成功是至關重要的。

因此,日本人傾向在平等的基礎上與大國在世界舞台上證明自己的能力。因此,送給愛麗絲的肖像顯示了一位開明但堅定的統治者,身著得體的西式軍事服飾,另一伴則身著適合歐洲法院的燦爛禮服,其中絲毫未見日本本國的裝飾元素。

按照西方文明行為的概念,照片通常是成對出現,暗示著日本已經接受了基督教一夫一妻制的觀念。簡而言之,總統的女兒在肖像中表現出共享美國價值觀的統治者形象,是一個可靠的外交盟友。

「慈禧的個性和權力是顯而易見的。雖然我們見到她的當時她已年過七旬,但仍然能夠感受到她的魅力。她看起來絕對不像他原本的年齡,她的眼睛小小的但很明亮,黑色的眼睛警覺且銳利;她相當殘忍,薄唇的一端向上揚起,其餘部分則稍稍下垂,讓她的臉看來十分生動而令人難忘。」

「第二天早上,兩個法庭官員到使館來給我看慈禧差人送來的一隻小黑狗,當天下午更送來了照片。這照片拍得很好,頗有「老佛爺」的樣子。當時她在我在腦海裡的印象確是如此,現在再看這張照片,我生動地回憶起在頤和園的那一天,一隊士兵在街上行走發出嘩啦聲,周圍的象徵王室的黃色椅子,即是照片本身。這是一個再普通不過的金色的相框,但其盒子有精美的內襯和代表帝王的黃色錦緞包裹著,而送來照片的兩位官員的位階,則比帶北京狗來的要高得多了。」

—節錄自愛麗絲‧羅斯福‧朗沃思,擁擠的時間一書 (於紐約和倫敦的 Charles Scribner's Sons 出版,1933年)

根據其 19​​33 年的自傳,愛麗絲謁見西太后時則相對平靜許多。第二天送上的慈禧照片似乎讓人印象更為深刻。如此戲劇化的呈現,表示了這不單只是一項個人紀念品,照片的目的是慈禧帝國的延伸。清廷試圖在帝國隱藏的傳統標準和君主可公開接見之間取得平衡。慈禧送來的肖像肩負著外交饋贈的義務,並公開揭露帝國的面貌。慈禧的首要任務是要不惜一切代價維護表面的法治 - 這對於一個被中國和國外視為篡奪皇位的女人來說,是特殊的考驗。

相較於傳統的清廷畫風,肖像展現了慈禧嚴厲的正面。攝影師在底片上充分打亮並柔和她的五官,讓她看起來比實際的 70 歲年輕幾十歲。

慈禧送給美國總統女兒的禮物可能已經讓羅斯福想要放棄支時中國義和團運動後的賠償。美國被認為是對中國的情況較為同情的國家之一,也是最有可能豁免可能損害中國的經濟的沉重賠償之八國聯軍成員。有趣的是,由羅斯福提出的賠償減免要求於 1908 年在國會通過,而慈禧於同年死亡。

「成為「末代皇帝」的皇帝和他的兒子,在其宮殿與我們的使館中成為一個存在於暗處的人物。我們到達的幾天後,在宮殿的歐洲風格建築中與他們共進午餐。我們被帶到樓上的房間,然後傀儡皇帝並沒有向我伸出手臂,而是直接拉著我的手臂匆匆經過一段狹窄的樓梯來到一間不值得一提的小巧餐廳。我們吃了韓國料理,碗以皇家的鳥類羽毛裝飾。我用過的碗之後他就送給我了。在我告退之後,皇帝和王儲給了我他們的照片。他們在這裡幾乎沒有身為皇室成員的存在感,十分可憐。」

—節錄自愛麗絲‧羅斯福‧朗沃思,擁擠的時間一書 (於紐約和倫敦的 Charles Scribner's Sons 出版,1933年)

在稍早之前的旅程,愛麗絲在東京得到盛情的款待,陸軍部長威廉‧霍華德‧塔夫脫 (William Howard Taft) 與日本的總理大臣桂 (Katsura) 進行私下討論,基本上是讓日本統治朝鮮,以換取日本保證不干預美國在夏威夷和菲律賓的活動。愛麗絲訪問首爾的兩個月內,日本政府頒布了 1905 日韓議訂書 (Protectorate Treaty),有效地排除了韓國進行自己的外交政策的能力。日本繼續朝統治韓國而邁進,直到 1910 年韓國正式併入日本帝國,高宗皇帝被廢黜。

這兩幅肖像可能是韓國政府為了世襲的統治向美國總統所做的最後一次絕望的嘗試 - 肖像訴說了一個合適的繼承人選 ,他們將美國總統視為面對日本恐嚇和霸權唯一的保護者。不幸的是,這時美國人對太平洋的野心已經決定了韓國的命運。愛麗絲在 1933 年的回憶錄中毫不掩飾自己對於皇帝努力的個人外交所給予的冷漠回應 - 也許在事件的背後,她試圖證明美國放棄其長期既定的外交承諾。

故事協力單位/參與人員

Archivist — David Hogge
Research Assistant — Shelby Conley

所有媒體協力單位/參與人員
在某些情況下,精選故事可能是由獨立的第三方製作,並不代表下列展覽機構的意見與觀點。
使用 Google 進行翻譯
首頁
探索
附近
簡介

1905

Imperial Exposures

Freer and Sackler Galleries

Photographic portraits of East Asian rulers 
The Alice Roosevelt Longworth Collection of Photographs from the 1905 Taft Mission to Asia

During her visits to the imperial courts of Asia, Alice Roosevelt Longworth collected a series of photographic portraits given to her as official diplomatic gifts.  In her 1933 autobiography, Alice recalls in detail the events surrounding each gift, providing valuable insight into the use of royal portraiture.  Furthermore, an examination of the different images of each ruler is instructiive in understanding the diplomatic context of the era.

"The day after the lunch, the Empress sent me a very fine embroidered screen, a piece of gold cloth embroid­ered with white chrysanthemums, a lacquer box, and a photograph of herself. On these trips of my youth, gifts seemed to be the rule, and I was filled with greedy delight at getting them—it was such fun. In fact, I was a frankly unashamed pig. I did so love my "loot," as it was called in the family. In Japan I was given, as well as the Imperial presents, costumes and fans and souvenirs of all sorts."

—Excerpt from Alice Roosevelt Longworth, Crowded Hours (New York and London: Charles Scribner's Sons, 1933) 

The reception given to Alice in Tokyo was the most extravagant of her journey.  Japan had the previous year militarily bested Russia in a hard fought battle on land and sea, the first defeat of a Western power by an Asian country.  The Japanese public was dizzy with pride, even as President Theodore Roosevelt himself conducted peace talks between the two countries in Portsmouth.  The Japanese had every reason to believe that Roosevelt was acting on their behalf, and that his support was crucial for a successful outcome of the peace talks.

The Japanese were therefore intent on proving their ability to stand on an equal footing on the world stage with the great powers.  The images presented to Alice were therefore intended to show an enlightened but resolute ruler, in proper Western military garb, with a consort in splendid gown suitable for European courts and without a trace of Japanese decorative element.

In accordance with Western notions of civilized behavior, the photographs are presented as a pair, intimating that the Japanese have embraced Christian notions of monogamy.  In short, the President's daughter was presented portraits of a ruler who shared American values and could be a dependable diplomatic ally.

"The character and power of the Empress were palpable, and though at the time we met her she was over seventy, one felt her charm. She by no means looked her age; her small, brilliant, black eyes were alert and piercing; they and her rather cruel, thin mouth, turned up at one corner, drooping a little at the other, made her face vivid and memorable."

"The next morning two court officials came to the Legation and presented me with a little black dog sent by the Empress, and in the afternoon her photograph arrived. It is an excellent photograph, really like the "old Buddha." I thought so at the time when her face was fresh in my mind, and to look at it now, recalls vividly that day at the summer palace. A troop of cavalry clattered down the street to the Legation, sur­rounding an imperial yellow chair in which, by itself, was the photograph. It was in an ordinary occidental gilt frame, but the box that held it was lined and wrapped in imperial yellow brocade and the two offi­cials were of much higher rank, than those who brought the Pekinese."

—Excerpts from Alice Roosevelt Longworth, Crowded Hours (New York and London: Charles Scribner's Sons, 1933)

According to her 1933 autobiography, Alice’s audience with the Empress Dowager was relatively uneventful. The presentation of Cixi’s photograph the following day seemed to make more of an impression.  This dramatic presentation suggests that, rather than a mere personal memento, the photograph was intended as an extension of Cixi’s imperial presence. The Qing court was attempting to navigate between traditional standards of imperial concealment, and new expecations of a publicly accessible sovereign intimately identified with her subjects.  The delivery of the Cixi portrait in a covered palanquin suggests that in spite of the obligation of diplomatic gifting, the court was not prepared to expose the imperial visage to public gaze.  Cixi's priority was to maintain at all costs, the appearance of legitimacy - a unique challenge for a woman that many in China and abroad regarded as a usurping concubine. 

The portrait shows Cixi in a strictly frontal pose, corresponding to traditional Qing painted portraits.  The photographer has dramatically lightened and smoothed her features on the negative, making her look decades younger than her near 70 years.

Cixi's gift to the daughter of the American president may have been to sway Roosevelt to support relinquishing China's reparations following the Boxer Rebellion.  The US was considered one of the more sympathetic countries to China's situation, and the most likely member of the Eight-Nation Alliance to forgive the heavy reparations which were damaging China's economy. Interestingly, indemnity reductions called for by Roosevelt were passed by Congress in 1908, the same year as Cixi’s death. 

"The Emperor and his son, who became the last Emperor, led a furtive existence in their palace alongside our Legation. A few days after we arrived, we lunched with them there in the European part of the building. We were received in an upstairs room, and then the squat Emperor did not give me his arm, but took mine, and together we went in a hurried wobble down a very narrow staircase to an unnoteworthy, smallish dining room. We had Korean food, served in Korean dishes and bowls ornamented with the imperial crest. Those I used were afterwards presented to me, and at a farewell audience, the Emperor and Crown Prince each gave me his photograph. They were two rather pathetic, stolid figures with very little imperial existence ahead of them."

—Excerpt from Alice Roosevelt Longworth, Crowded Hours (New York and London: Charles Scribner's Sons, 1933) 

Earlier in the tour, while Alice was being lavishly feted in Tokyo, Secretary of War William Howard Taft was conducting private discussions with Japan's Prime Minister Katsura, essentially giving Japan free reign over Korea in exchange for Japan's assurances of non-interference in America's activities in Hawaii and the Philippines.  Within two months of Alice's visit to Seoul, the Japanese Government issued the 1905 Protectorate Treaty, effectively eliminating Korea's ability to conduct its own diplomatic policies.  The slide toward domination continued until Korea was formally annexed into the Japanese Empire in 1910, and Emperor Gojong deposed.  

These two portraits may be the last desperate attempt by the Korean government to project an image of entitled hereditary rulership - replete with a suitable heir - to the American President, who they saw as the sole defender of an independent Korea in the face of increasing Japanese intimidation and hegemony.  Unfortunately by this time, the Americans had already determined Korea's fate within the context of its own Pacific ambitions.  Alice's 1933 recollection does not hide her own indifference to the Emperor's efforts at personal diplomacy - perhaps in hindsight it is her attempt to justify America's abandonment of its long-stated diplomatic commitments.

Credits: Story

Archivist — David Hogge
Research Assistant — Shelby Conley

Credits: All media
The story featured may in some cases have been created by an independent third party and may not always represent the views of the institutions, listed below, who have supplied the content.
Translate with Google
Home
Explore
Nearby
Profile