Folgen sie uns auf einem digitalen Rundgang durch das Senckenberg Naturmuseum Frankfurt.

Erforschung der Vielfalt des Erdsystems
Das Senckenberg Naturmuseum Frankfurt ist nicht nur ein spannender Lernort für Besucher, sondern gehört auch zur Senckenberg Gesellschaft für Naturforschung, einer der wichtigsten Einrichtungen, die die Vielfalt des Erdsystems erforscht. Über 300 Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler forschen an verschiedenen Standorten in Deutschland sowie in internationalen Projekten auf der ganzen Welt. Sie finden heraus, wie die Teilsysteme der Erde miteinander zusammenhängen und helfen mit dieser Grundlagenforschung unsere Umwelt zu bewahren. In klassischer Feldforschung sammeln und bestimmen sie dafür etwa Pflanzen und Tiere und untersuchen sie später mit moderner Technik im Labor. Anhand der Messdaten können dann schließlich Erkenntnisse gewonnen und sogar Vorhersagen über die Entwicklung des Erdsystems getroffen werden.
Sammlungen
Die Sammlungen der Senckenberg Gesellschaft für Naturforschung finden ihre Anfänge vor über 400 Jahren und verfügen inzwischen über mehr als 38 Millionen Objekte. Sie gehören damit zu den größten und ältesten Sammlungen der Welt und können zoologische, botanische sowie geologische Entwicklungen besonders gut dokumentieren. Die Sammlungen geben nicht nur interessante Objekte für Ausstellungen her, sondern bilden auch eine unverzichtbare Grundlage für Forschungstätigkeiten.
Senckenberg Naturmuseum Frankfurt
Neben der Präsentation der eigenen Forschungstätigkeit und der Behandlung naturkundlicher Themen greift das Naturmuseum Frankfurt auch kulturelle und soziale Fragen auf, die unsere Umwelt betreffen. Abwechslungsreiche Fotoausstellungen, Multimediainstallationen und zahlreiche Originalexponate werden durch ein breites museumspädagogisches Programm ergänzt, das die Ausstellungen zum Sprechen bringt, die Forschungsergebnisse der Senckenberg Gesellschaft für Naturforschung der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich macht und so eine „Wissenschaft für alle“ stiftet.
Anakonda – der Besucherliebling
Die Große Anakonda ist neben dem Netzpython die größte Riesenschlange und kann eine Gesamtlänge von über neun Metern erreichen. Unsere Anakonda verspeist gerade ein Wasserschwein, das größte Nagetier der Welt. Nach einer solchen Mahlzeit kann sie monatelang ohne Nahrung überleben. Das Leben der im Regenwald des tropischen Südamerikas verbreiteten Anakondas ist stark ans Wasser gebunden. Das Beutespektrum dieser Riesenschlange umfasst Fische, Amphibien, Reptilien, Vögel und Säugetiere. Anakondas sind lebendgebärend und die Weibchen bringen nach einer Tragezeit von sieben bis acht Monaten 15 bis 70 Jungtiere von 60 bis 80 Zentimetern Geburtslänge zur Welt.
Diplodocus – Längenrekord
Mit einer Länge von bis zu 28 Metern ist Diplodocus der längste aller vollständig gefundenen Dinosaurier. Sein Hals und Schwanz waren länger als bei den anderen langhalsigen Formen, beispielsweise dem Brachiosaurus. Aufgrund seiner luftgefüllten Wirbel wog er trotz seiner gewaltigen Größe nur ca. zehn Tonnen. Das Diplodocus-Skelett im Senckenberg Naturmuseum Frankfurt ist das einzige echte Skelett dieser Dinosaurierart, das außerhalb der USA zu sehen ist.
Dodo – ausgestorbene Riesentaube
Die Dronte, ein flugunfähiger Taubenvogel, war einst auf der Insel Mauritius östlich von Madagaskar beheimatet, bevor er Ende des 17. Jahrhunderts ausstarb. Die Flügel der Dronte waren winzig und der Brustbeinkamm, an dem bei flugfähigen Vögeln die kräftige Flugmuskulatur ansetzt, war entsprechend klein. Die massigen Tiere konnten ein Körpergewicht von über 20 Kilogramm erreichen.
Edmontosaurus – die Dino-Mumie
Das nahezu vollständige Originalskelett des Edmontosaurus im Senckenberg Naturmuseum Frankfurt gehört zu den bedeutendsten Dinosaurierfossilien weltweit. Bei diesem Exemplar ist selbst die Struktur der Haut als versteinerter Abdruck überliefert. In diesem Erhaltungszustand gibt es weltweit nur zwei Edmontosaurus-Exemplare. Hals und Vorderfüße sind stark nach hinten gekrümmt. Die verkrampft wirkende Körperhaltung des Tieres lässt vermuten, dass dieser Dinosaurier bereits zur Mumie vertrocknet war, bevor den Körper sandige Ablagerungen zudeckten. Dadurch konnte sich die verhärtete Haut dem Sediment aufprägen und als versteinerter Abdruck erhalten bleiben.
Finnwal – Riese des Meeres
Der Finnwal ist nach dem Blauwal das zweitgrößte heute existierende Tier. Das im Frankfurter Senckenberg Naturmuseum ausgestellte Skelett ist 22 Meter lang. Der Körperumriss an der Wand verdeutlicht die gewaltigen Ausmaße dieses Tieres. Das Maul ist so groß, dass eine kleine Besuchergruppe bequem darin Platz findet. Beim lebenden Tier befinden sich am Gaumendach, lamellenartig angeordnet, lange Borsten. Mit diesen sogenannten Barten filtert es seine Nahrung aus dem Meer, z.B. kleine Krebstiere.
Triceratops – beliebter Hornträger
Der Dreihornsaurier Triceratops ist eines der bekanntesten Exponate im Senckenberg Naturmuseum Frankfurt. Triceratops war ein Pflanzenfresser mit einer Länge von bis zu neun Metern. Er lebte im heutigen Nordamerika. Die Hörner und das große Nackenschild dienten der Verteidigung. Der Schädel war über ein Kugelgelenk mit der Halswirbelsäule verbunden. Dadurch war der Kopf sehr beweglich und die Hörner konnten in alle Raumrichtungen zustoßen.
Urpferd – Miniaturpferde aus Hessen
Berühmt geworden ist die Grube Messel vor allem durch Funde fossiler Urpferdchen. Entdeckt wurden mehr als 40 Skelette von Hengsten, Fohlen und Stuten, letztere zum Teil trächtig. Die größten Pferde aus dem Maarsee erreichten eine Schulterhöhe von nur 60 Zentimetern, einige Arten lediglich 35 Zentimeter. An den Vorderbeinen trugen sie noch vier, hinten je drei Hufe.
Placodus gigas – Ein Meeressaurier im Schotter
Das Skelett des Pflasterzahnsauriers Placodus gigas ist weltweit das einzige dieser Meeresreptilien. Der Rumpf war durch dicht stehende Rippen und Bauchrippen sowie eine Kette rundlicher Hautverknöcherungen über den Wirbelfortsätzen versteift. Zur Fortbewegung dienten dem Meeresraubtier daher nur die Beine. 1915 entdeckte ein Fossiliensammler in einem Steinbruch bei Heidelberg in schon zerschlagenen Schottersteinen Skelettreste. Alle auffindbaren Bruchstücke wurden zusammengefügt, über mehrere Jahre in mühevoller Arbeit aus dem harten Gestein herauspräpariert und zu einem Skelett montiert.
Quagga – Comeback einer ausgestorbenen Zebra-Form?
Das Quagga, eine Unterart des Steppenzebras, wurde im späten 19. Jahrhundert ausgerottet. Seit einigen Jahren gibt es Bestrebungen, den Gencode dieser Tiere zu entschlüsseln und das Quagga von Zebras zurückzuzüchten. Das Exemplar im Senckenberg Naturmuseum Frankfurt befindet sich bereits seit 1830 in der Sammlung. Von den weltweit nur 23 als Vollpräparat vorhandenen Quaggas gehört es zu den am besten erhaltenen.
Senckenberg Gesellschaft für Naturforschung
Mitwirkende: Geschichte

Senckenberg Gesellschaft für Naturforschung

Quelle: Alle Medien
Der vorgestellte Beitrag wurde möglicherweise von einem unabhängigen Dritten erstellt und spiegelt nicht zwangsläufig die Ansichten der unten angegebenen Institutionen wider, die die Inhalte bereitgestellt haben.
Mit Google übersetzen
Startseite
Erkunden
In der Nähe
Profil

1817 - 2016

Highlights of the Senckenberg Nature Museum Frankfurt

Senckenberg Nature Museum Frankfurt

Follow us on a digital tour through the Senckenberg Nature Museum Frankfurt.

Exploration of the earth systems diversity 
Not only is the Frankfurt Nature Museum an exciting place of learning for its visitors, it is also part of the Senckenberg Gesellschaft für Naturforschung (Senckenberg Natural Research Society), one of the most important institutions involved in the exploration of life’s variety – i.e., biodiversity. More than 300 scientists are actively working in ten locations across Germany as well as in numerous international projects around the globe. They explore animals, plants and geology, study ecosystems and the effects of climate change, and are ultimately trying to discover how we can use the Earth as our habitat without destroying it in the process. To this end, they collect and identify animals and plants in the course of classic field work and later study the specimens in the laboratory, using modern technologies. On the basis of the measuring data, final insights can be reached and it is even possible to make predictions regarding the future development of the earth system.
Collections
The collections of the Senckenberg Gesellschaft für Naturforschung can look back on a history of more than 400 years and now include over 38 million objects, counting among the largest and oldest collections in the world. Therefore, they are exceptionally well suited for documenting zoological, botanical and geologic developments. The collections not only offer interesting objects for exhibitions but also form an indispensable basis for research activities.
Frankfurt Nature Museum 
In addition to presenting its own research activities and covering natural science topics, the Frankfurt Nature Museum also addresses cultural and social issues regarding our environment. Varied photographic exhibitions, multi-media installations and numerous original exhibits are supplemented by a broad museum-educational program, which lends a voice to the exhibitions and brings the research results of the Senckenberg Gesellschaft für Naturforschung closer to the public, thereby creating a “science for everyone.”
Anaconda - crowd favourite
Along with the Reticulated Python, the Giant Anaconda counts among the world’s largest snakes and can reach an overall length of more than nine meters. Our Anaconda is in the process of devouring a Capybara, the world’s largest rodent. Following such a meal, the snake is able to survive for months without food. Found in the rainforests of tropical South America, the Anaconda’s lifestyle is closely tied to aquatic habitats. Its prey encompasses fishes, amphibians, reptiles, birds and mammals. Anacondas are ovoviviparous and after a gestation period of seven to eight months, the female gives birth to 15 to 70 young, which are 60 to 80 centimeters long when born.
Diplodocus - length record
With a length of up to 28 meters, Diplodocus is the longest among all of the dinosaurs that have been found as complete specimens. Its neck and tail were longer than those of other long-necked types, such as Brachiosaurus, for example. Despite its enormous size, Diplodocus only weighed about ten tons, thanks to its air-filled vertebrae. The Diplodocus skeleton in the Senckenberg Nature Museum in Frankfurt is the only original skeleton of this dinosaur species on display anywhere outside of the USA.
Dodo - extinct giant pigeon
The Dodo, a flightless relative of the pigeons and doves, once inhabited the island of Mauritius east of Madagascar before it became extinct near the end of the 17th century. The Dodo had tiny wings and its sternum – the attachment site for the strong wing muscles of flying birds – was correspondingly small. The massive birds could reach a body weight of more than 20 kilograms.
the dinosaur mummie
The virtually complete original skeleton of the Edmontosaurus in the Senckenberg Nature Museum in Frankfurt counts among the most important dinosaur fossils in the world. In this specimen, even the structure of the skin has been preserved as a fossilized imprint. Worldwide, there are only two Edmontosaurus specimen that show this high level of preservation. The animal’s apparently cramped posture suggests that this dinosaur had already been mummified before the body was covered by sandy sediments. This allowed the hardened skin to imprint in the sediment and be preserved as a fossilized impression.
Finback - giant of the sea
Next to the Blue Whale, the Fin Whale is the second-largest animal in existence today. The skeleton displayed in the Senckenberg Nature Museum in Frankfurt is 22 meters long. The outline of the body on the wall gives an impression of the animal’s enormous size. The mouth is so big that it comfortably holds a small group of visitors. In living animals, the roof of the mouth bears long lamellate bristles, the so-called baleen. The whales use these plates to filter their food from the ocean, which consists primarily of tiny crustaceans known as krill.
Triceratops - horned dinosaur
The three-horned dinosaur Triceratops is one of the most widely known exhibits in the Senckenberg Nature Museum in Frankfurt. Triceratops was a plant eater that could reach a length of up to nine meters. It occurred in present-day North America. The horns and the large neck plate (or frill) likely served as defensive structures. The skull was connected to the neck vertebrae by means of a ball-and-socket joint. This rendered the head highly mobile and the horns could strike out in all directions.
Prehistoric horse - miniature horse from hesse
Some of the most famous discoveries from the Messel Pit are the fossil remains of prehistoric horses. More than 60 skeletons of stallions, foals and mares have been found, with some of the mares even being pregnant. The discovery of fetuses in the mares’ wombs is of particular interest, since it opens a window into the evolution of the reproductive system in mammals. The oldest and best preserved utero-placenta shows that the reproductive apparatus of the prehistoric mare does not differ from that of modern-day female horses, despite about 50 million years of evolution. Its development had already reached the present state at that time. The prehistoric horses only grew to a height of 35 to 60 centimeters (at the shoulder) and weighed no more than 5 to 6.6 kilograms. The shape of their teeth and the stomach contents that were found indicate a diet of leaves and fruits.
Placodus gigas - marine reptile broken to gravel
The skeleton of the plate-toothed Placodus gigas represents the only skeleton of this marine reptile anywhere in the world. Its torso was reinforced by closely arranged ribs and gastralia (“ventral ribs”) as well as a series of round ossifications of the skin above the vertebral processes. Therefore, these marine predators could only use their legs for propulsion. In 1915, a fossil collector found skeletal remnants in a quarry near Heidelberg inside already broken-up gravel stones. All of the pieces that could be located were put together, and over a period of several years, the skeletal remains were painstakingly extracted from the hard rock and assembled into an entire skeleton.
Quagga - comeback of an extinct Zebra
The Quagga, a subspecies of the Common Zebra, became extinct in the late 19th century. In the past few years, there have been efforts to unravel the genetic code of these animals and to “recreate” the Quagga through back-crossing with zebras. The specimen on display at the Senckenberg Nature Museum in Frankfurt has been part of the collection since 1830. It is one of the best-preserved Quaggas among only 23 fully mounted specimens worldwide.
Senckenberg Gesellschaft für Naturforschung
Credits: Story

Senckenberg Gesellschaft für Naturforschung

Credits: All media
The story featured may in some cases have been created by an independent third party and may not always represent the views of the institutions, listed below, who have supplied the content.
Translate with Google
Home
Explore
Nearby
Profile