A Selection of Recent Acquisitions

Arts Council Collection

The Collection’s acquisition policy has always been characterised by a spirit of risk taking combined with an informed appraisal of current practice. The Collection purchases innovative work by artists living in Britain, with a focus on the work of younger and emerging artists. Acquisitions are made through a committee of eight individuals: four internal and four external.  The external advisers to the Acquisitions Committee, usually an artist, a writer and a curator, are appointed for a fixed two-year tenure. The Collection has received support in the past from the Henry Moore Foundation, The Art Fund and Outset Contemporary Art Fund for particularly ambitious acquisitions.

Acquisitions 2014 - 2015

Anthea Hamilton

Helen Marten

Alex Pain

Yelena Popova

Jesse Wine


Acquisitions 2013 - 2014

Phillip Allen

Pablo Bronstein

Georgia Hayes

Raphael Hefti

Katrina Palmer

Acquisitions 2012 - 2013

Tomma Abts

Pavel Bϋchler 

Alice Channer

Donna Huddleston

Sarah Lucas

Anthony McCall

Sara Mackillop

Christina Mackie

Daniel Sinsel

Mimei Thompson

Phoebe Unwin

Acquisitions 2011 - 2012

Becky Beasley

Christine Borland

Varda Caivano

Cullinan Richards

Michael Fullerton

Georgie Hopton

Mark Neville

Alex O.

George Shaw

Renee So

John Stezaker

Jon Thompson

Bedwyr Williams

Lynette Yiadom-Boakye

Credits: All media
The story featured may in some cases have been created by an independent third party and may not always represent the views of the institutions, listed below, who have supplied the content.
Translate with Google