草药学是指对植物和植物知识的研究。植物学家通常会收集和鉴别不同种类的植物来制作药水和药物,相应的汇编资料被称为“草药志”。如今,一些最重要的草药志收藏在伦敦的大英图书馆,其中包括伊丽莎白·布莱克韦尔 (Elizabeth Blackwell) 的《奇草图鉴》(A Curious Herbal)(为了造福大众而编写)以及杰出的著作《花之神殿》(Temple of Flora)。

“一周三次,他们都要由一个叫斯普劳特的矮胖女巫带着到城堡后边的温室去研读草药学,学习如何培育这些奇异的植物和菌类并了解它们的用途。”
《哈利·波特与魔法石》

卡尔培柏的草药志
尼可拉斯·卡尔培柏 (Nicholas Culpeper) 是一名“树篱巫师”,也就是不受医学权威机构欢迎的无执照药剂师。1642 年,他因练习巫术而受到公开审判,却被宣判无罪。卡尔培柏的草药志最初以《英国医师》(The English Physitian) 这一书名出版,其中全面列出了当地草药,同时还说明了最有效的治疗方法以及治疗时机。

J·K·罗琳为了给草药和药剂命名而寻找灵感时,参考了尼可拉斯·卡尔培柏所编写的草药志。

植物收藏家
盖拉尔多·奇博 (Gherardo Cibo) 是一位意大利博物学家,他撰写了这本栩栩如生的日记来记录他的植物采集之旅。与其他聘用画家的植物学家不同,他亲自绘制插图。最重要的是,奇博还记下了采集植物的地点、日期和时间。

这一页展示了两名男子(其中一名可能是奇博本人)在意大利的山坡上采集标本,他们随身携带着锄头(或钩镰)、镰刀和麻袋。

神奇的园艺工具
这些园艺工具由骨头和鹿角制成,专门用来播种和采摘。在采集许多植物时,不仅要收获它们的药用价值,还要收获它们所谓的超自然力量,因此在采集过程中使用的仪式相当重要。

人们认为,鹿角制成的工具可以将大地与更高的精神世界联系起来。鹿角每年都会脱落再重新生长,它们象征着重生和再生的魔力。

约翰·伊夫林在现在是以日记作者的身份出名,但他其实还是一位业余植物学家。他一生大部分的时间都用来编写园艺百科全书,这本书却从未出版过。1645 年,他用从帕多瓦公共植物园(欧洲最古老的植物园)采集的植物标本制作了这本册子。

“哈利闻到一股润湿的泥土气息和肥料的味道,夹杂着一些从天花板上吊下来的伞状大小的花的浓郁香气。”
《哈利·波特与密室》

恶魔之舌

中国的草药传说起源于神话中的神农皇帝。这份带插图的手稿介绍了有毒植物和药用植物。这是恶魔之舌,也称为魔芋、伏都百合或蛇头根草。如今,恶魔之舌用于制作减肥营养品和面部按摩产品。它与泰坦魔芋花同为一属,是地球上最臭的植物,气味似腐肉。

治疗蛇咬伤

蛇咬伤
有一种名为“矢车菊”的植物可用于治疗蛇咬伤。根据这本中世纪草药志的记载,Centauria major 和 Centauria minor 这两种矢车菊属植物均以喀戎 (Chiron) 的名字命名,他是最伟大的半人马,作为医生和占星家而闻名。

在这幅图中,喀戎将这些植物交给医神阿斯克勒庇俄斯。一条蛇从他们脚下溜走。

蛇根草
大约在 1440 年,这本装饰华丽的草药志在意大利北部的伦巴第制作而成。每页都包含各种植物栩栩如生的附图,还有解释它们名称由来的简短注释。这幅图展示的是蛇根草,别名为 dragontea、serpentaria 和 viperina,均表示它能用来治疗蛇咬伤。

“拔出土的不是根,而是一个身材很小、浑身是泥、长相奇丑无比的小婴孩。叶子就长在他的头顶上。”
《哈利·波特与密室》

采摘曼德拉草
根据中世纪的传说,曼德拉草可以治疗头痛、耳痛和精神错乱,但它们的根部长成了人形,在拔出时会大声尖叫。

这份 15 世纪的手稿展示了采摘这种植物最安全的方法:将绳子的一端系在植物上,另一端系在狗身上。

通过吹响号角或用肉引诱来促使狗向前移动,从而将曼德拉草拔出。

曼德拉草茎上的断手图形表示它可以在截肢手术中用作麻醉剂。

雄性和雌性曼德拉草
这份彩色手稿包含罗马军医迪奥科里斯 (Pedanius Dioscorides) 作品的阿拉伯语译文。迪奥科里斯是最先区分雄性和雌性曼德拉草的人之一(或许我们应该将它们重新命名为“mandrake”(雄曼德拉草)和“womandrake”(雌曼德拉草))。不过,现代科学表示这种鉴别是不正确的,这对于我们当中的浪漫主义者来说有些遗憾。在地中海地区有不止一种类型的曼德拉草,但这并非是同一种植物的两种不同性别。

吉姆·凯对曼德拉草的研究
吉姆·凯的这幅素描草稿展示了一株婴儿曼德拉草和一株成年曼德拉草。这张图的设计灵感似乎源自真实生活:吉姆·凯曾是皇家植物园“邱园”图展的策展人。

植物的根部自然形成了成年曼德拉草的身躯,叶子从它的头顶长出来。

在凯的想象中,根茎形成了婴儿曼德拉草的脊柱。

著名草药志

杰勒德的草药志
约翰·杰勒德 (John Gerard) 是一位英国草药医生,他最著名的作品是《草本植物与植物史》(The Herball or Generall Historie of Plantes)。杰勒德在伦敦霍尔本有自己的花园,他在里面培育了各种植物,包括马铃薯等外来物种。他的草药志中包含 1800 多幅木刻版画,其中大部分都摘自一本在他的草药志前不久于德国出版的书(而且并未标明出处)。

《艾希施泰特的花园》
这本书堪称植物学图谱的一个里程碑。它是当时(1613 年)内容最丰富、记录最详实的植物文献。它收录了在德国巴伐利亚州的艾希施泰特采邑主教宫殿花园中种植的植物,书中包含 367 幅手绘版画,其中包括圣诞玫瑰(黑嚏根草),如图所示。

“加月长石的粉,逆时针方向转 3 次,慢慢地煮 7 分钟后加两小勺菟葵的果汁。”
哈利·波特,《哈利·波特与凤凰社》

《奇草图鉴》
《奇草图鉴》这本书背后有一段不可思议的故事。伊丽莎白·布莱克韦尔 (Elizabeth Blackwell) 亲手为这本书绘制插图、刻雕并上色,为的是能够筹集资金把她丈夫亚历山大从债权人监狱里赎出来。亚历山大·布莱克韦尔帮助她鉴别她在伦敦切尔西药草园所画的植物,直到她还清债务。为了报答妻子的好意,他在获释后就前往瑞典为弗雷德里克一世国王效力,后来因卷入政治阴谋而被处决。

这一本充满了心酸过往的《奇草图鉴》上有伊丽莎白·布莱克韦亲手写下的注释。

《花之神殿》
这本精心制作的书几乎让作者罗伯特·约翰·桑顿 (Robert John Thornton) 破产。这本书的原名为《林奈性体系的新图解》(The New Illustration of the Sexual System of Linnaeus),后来改名为更为人所知的《花之神殿》。桑顿聘请了一批大师级雕刻师和着色师,重现了 28 幅世界各地的植物绘画作品。龙海芋(有时被称为“臭味百合”)会产生腐肉的气味,吸引苍蝇来授粉。

故事鸣谢名单:
所有参展内容的来源:
展出的故事有时可能由独立的第三方创作,并不完全代表以下提供这些内容的机构的观点。
使用 Google 进行翻译
首页
浏览作品
附近
个人资料

Herbology is the study of plants and plant lore. Botanists typically collect and identify different species of plant in order to make potions and remedies, and their compilations are known as 'herbals'. Some of the most important herbals are today held by the British Library in London, including Elizabeth Blackwell's Curious Herbal (made as an act of devotion) and the extraordinary Temple of Flora.

'Three times a week they went to...study Herbology...where they learnt how to take care of all the strange plants and fungi and found out what they were used for.'
Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone

Culpeper's Herbal
Nicholas Culpeper was a ‘hedge-witch’, an unlicensed apothecary who was disliked by the medical profession. In 1642, he was even apparently tried, but acquitted, for practising witchcraft. Originally published as The English Physitian, ‘Culpeper’s Herbal’ provides a comprehensive list of native medicinal herbs, prescribing the most effective forms of treatment and when to take them.

J.K. Rowling used the herbal compiled by Nicholas Culpeper when she was seeking inspiration for naming her herbs and potions.

The Plant Collector
Gherardo Cibo was an Italian naturalist, who made this visual diary to record his plant-collecting excursions. Unlike other botanists, who employed artists, he did his own illustrations. Most importantly, Cibo also noted the location, day and hour when his herbs were gathered.

This page shows two men (one of whom may be Cibo himself) collecting specimens on an Italian hillside, equipped with a mattock (or billhook), a sickle and a sack.

Magical Gardening Tools
These gardening implements, made from bone and antler, were used specifically for sowing and harvesting. Many plants are harvested not only for their medicinal qualities but for their alleged supernatural powers, and so the rituals used in gathering them are hugely important.

Tools shaped from antlers are considered to connect Earth with the higher spirit world. As antlers are shed and regrown annually, they symbolise the magic of regeneration and renewal.

John Evelyn is today most famous as a diarist, but he was also an amateur botanist. Much of his life was spent in writing an encyclopaedic history of gardening, which was never published. In 1645, he made this album of dried plant samples taken from the public botanic garden at Padua, the oldest in Europe.

'Harry caught a whiff of damp earth and fertiliser, mingling with the heavy perfume of some giant, umbrella-sized flowers dangling from the ceiling.'
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

Devil’s Tongue
Herbal medicine in China traditionally originated with the mythical emperor, Shen Nong (the ‘Divine Farmer’). This illustrated manuscript describes poisonous and medicinal plants.

Here is Devil’s Tongue, also known as konjac, voodoo lily or snake palm. Today, Devil’s Tongue is used in making weight loss supplements and facial massage products. It is a member of the same genus as Titan Arum, the worst-smelling plant on Earth, which has an odour that resembles rotting flesh.

Cures for Snakebite

Snakebite
One remedy for snakebite is the plant known as ‘centaury’. According to this medieval herbal, the two plants Centauria major and Centauria minor were named after Chiron, the greatest of all centaurs, renowned as a physician and astrologer.

In this drawing, Chiron is shown handing over these plants to Asclepius, the god of medicine and healing. A snake slithers away from under their feet.

Snakeroot
This magnificently decorated herbal was made in Lombardy, northern Italy, around the year 1440. Each page contains life-like drawings of various plants and short notes explaining their names. Shown here is snakeroot, known variously as dragontea, serpentaria and viperina, all referring to its ability to cure snakebite.

'Instead of roots, a small muddy and extremely ugly baby popped out of the earth. The leaves were growing right out of his head.'
Mandrakes in Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

Harvesting a Mandrake
According to medieval lore, mandrakes could cure headaches, earache and insanity, but their roots grew in human form and would shriek when torn.

This 15th-century manuscript shows the safest way to harvest that plant, by attaching one end of a cord to the plant and the other to a dog.

The dog would be encouraged to move forward by sounding a horn or by enticing it with meat, dragging the mandrake with it.

The severed hands on the mandrake’s stems denote its use as an anaesthetic during amputations.

The Male and Female Mandrake
This illuminated manuscript contains an Arabic translation of the writings of Pedanius Dioscorides, a physician in the Roman army. Dioscorides was one of the first to distinguish between the male and female mandrake (perhaps we should rename them the ‘mandrake’ and ‘womandrake’). Sadly for the romanticists among us, modern science now dictates that this identification is incorrect. There is more than one mandrake species native to the Mediterranean, rather than two separate sexes of the same plant.

Jim Kay’s Study of Mandrakes
This preparatory sketch by Jim Kay shows a baby mandrake alongside a fully grown adult. This drawing appears to be drawn from life: Jim Kay was previously a curator at the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew.

The roots of the plant seamlessly form the adult mandrake’s body, with leaves growing from its head.

In Kay’s vision, the root forms the spine of the baby mandrake.

Famous Herbals

Gerard’s Herbal
John Gerard was an English herbalist, whose most famous work was entitled The Herball or Generall Historie of Plantes. Gerard maintained his own garden in Holborn, London, and he cultivated all manner of plants, including exotic specimens such as the potato. His Herball contains more than 1800 woodcut illustrations, the majority of which were taken (without acknowledgement) from a book printed a short time before in Germany.


The Garden of Eichstätt
This book is a landmark in botanical illustration. At the time (1613), it was the largest and most detailed text on plants ever made. It catalogues the plants growing in the palace garden of the Prince Bishop of Eichstätt in Bavaria, and contains 367 hand-coloured engravings, including Helleborus niger (black hellebore), shown here.

‘“Add powdered moonstone, stir three times counter-clockwise, allow to simmer for seven minutes then add two drops of syrup of hellebore.”’

Harry Potter, in Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

A Curious Herbal
There is an incredible story attached to A Curious Herbal. Elizabeth Blackwell illustrated, engraved and hand-coloured this book to raise funds to have her husband, Alexander, released from a debtor’s prison. Alexander Blackwell assisted by identifying the plants she had drawn at Chelsea Physic Garden in London, until she had absolved the debt. Once released, he repaid his wife’s kindness by leaving for Sweden, entering the service of King Frederick I, and getting himself executed for his involvement in a political conspiracy.

This poignant copy of A Curious Herbal has been annotated in Elizabeth Blackwell’s own hand.

The Temple of Flora
This elaborate book nearly bankrupted its author, Robert John Thornton. It was originally entitled The New Illustration of the Sexual System of Linnaeus, but became better known as The Temple of Flora. Thornton employed teams of master engravers and colourists to reproduce 28 paintings of plants from across the world. The Dragon Arum, sometimes called Stink Lily, reproduces the smell of putrefying meat to attract flies for pollination.

Credits: All media
The story featured may in some cases have been created by an independent third party and may not always represent the views of the institutions, listed below, who have supplied the content.
Home
Explore
Nearby
Profile