The "Stork King" Palace Discovered in the Late 19th Century

Named after the legendary King Boko, mentioned in Loro Jonggrang folklore, the 16 hectares sites is located on a plateau, about 3 kilometers from Prambanan temple complex in Yogyakarta.

It consists of temples, paseban (square stone structures), pendopo (audience hall), miniature temples, kaputren and a bathing place.

A Dutch researcher Van Boeckholtz was the first to discover the ruins of Ratu Boko in 1790.

However, serious research about the temple were done a hundred years after. According to archaeologists, Ratu Boko Temple served as Kraton, religious place and cave.

The large stone gates are impressive, the first gate has three entrances, and the second gate has five entrances. The shape of these entrances is known as Paduraksa and is a traditional Javanese construction. Not far from the gates there is a limestone Batu Putih temple, the name means ‘white stone’.

This structure consists of two levels which measures 26 metres square. The centre is a deep square hole. It is speculated that this would have been a crematorium.

This zone also has a large pond and a series of base stones which would have held building pillars.

Using the traditional building techniques of the time, the pillars walls and roof would have been made from organic materials, so they are no longer remaining.

The "Pendopo" or audience hall is built with Andesite stone. This was the base and floor of the structure, which also included pillars and a roof made of wood.

The complex remains a great mystery for millions of Indonesians and foreign visitors. Whether a monastery or a palatial kingdom, many are left to wonder the life lived in these grounds.

Credits: All media
The story featured may in some cases have been created by an independent third party and may not always represent the views of the institutions, listed below, who have supplied the content.
Translate with Google
Home
Explore
Nearby
Profile