1942年7月6日

安妮•弗兰克

Anne Frank House

  生活•日记•遗物
Anne Frank at the Jewish Lyceum., 1941, 收藏方:Anne Frank House

安妮•弗兰克是二战期间成千上万被迫害的犹太人中的一员。

安妮和家人曾藏身于父亲公司的密室中度过了两年时间。在此期间,她写下了举世闻名的日记。

安妮•弗兰克死于纳粹集中营,当时年仅 15 岁。

她的日记在战争中被保存了下来。迄今为止,安妮所写的日记已被翻译成了 70 多种文字,她也因此闻名于世界。

安妮日记的原稿则在安妮之家博物馆展出。

Anne Frank, one day old, in her mother Edith’s arms. Frankfurt am Main, 13 June 1929., 1929-06-13, 收藏方:Anne Frank House
妈妈艾迪特怀抱刚刚出生的安妮•弗兰克,1929 年 6 月 13 日,法兰克福。

安妮在德国的童年生活

安妮•弗兰克于 1929 年 6 月 12 日出生在德国法兰克福。她是奥托•弗兰克和艾迪特•弗兰克-霍兰德尔的第二个女儿,也是年纪最小的女儿。安妮的姐姐玛戈特比安妮大 3 岁。弗兰克一家都是犹太人。

Neighbors are gathered on the balcony of the Franks’ house on the Marbachweg., 1929, 收藏方:Anne Frank House
Anne Frank asleep, three years old., 1932, 收藏方:Anne Frank House
Otto Frank with his daughters Margot and Anne, August 1931., 1931-08, 收藏方:Anne Frank House
奥托•弗兰克与女儿玛戈特和安妮在一起,摄于 1931 年 8 月。

奥托•弗兰克在家族银行工作。由于德国爆发严重经济危机,银行经营陷入困局。

奥托和艾迪特对未来感到非常焦虑。反犹太主义风潮在当时愈演愈烈。

阿道夫•希特勒组建的反犹太纳粹党的拥护者越来越多。1933 年,希特勒开始在德国掌权。

Police Raid, Three Lions, 1933-03-15, 收藏方:Getty Images
Alfred Eisenstaedt, 1934-08, 收藏方:LIFE Photo Collection
Nazi Book Burning, Keystone, 1933-05-10, 收藏方:Getty Images
The last photograph of Anne, Edith and Margot Frank in Frankfurt am Main, March 1933., 1933-03, 收藏方:Anne Frank House

奥托获得机会在荷兰阿姆斯特丹成立欧培克塔 (Opekta) 分公司。欧培克塔是一家销售果酱胶凝剂的公司。

奥托和妻子决定迁居荷兰。

阿姆斯特丹的安居生活

1933 年,安妮•弗兰克和家人搬进了位于阿姆斯特丹近郊梅尔韦德广场的住所,那儿还住着许多其他犹太难民。

Merwedeplein in Amsterdam-Zuid. The Frank family lives on the right at number 37., 1933/1942, 收藏方:Anne Frank House
Margot Frank roller skating on the Merwedeplein, 1934., 1934, 收藏方:Anne Frank House

安妮和玛戈特很快便学会了荷兰语,并习惯了在荷兰的生活。安妮是一个生性活泼、充满好奇心的女孩,喜欢成为众人关注的焦点。相比之下,玛戈特则更加文静和稳重。她的学习成绩一直非常优秀。

Anne at the Montessori school, Amsterdam., 1935, 收藏方:Anne Frank House
The Opekta employees in front of the office on the Singel in Amsterdam. From left to right: Miep Gies, Isa Cauvern, Henk van Beusekom, unknown employee and Victor Kugler., 1934/1940, 收藏方:Anne Frank House

奥托•弗兰克在阿姆斯特丹市中心设立了自己的公司。由于工作很努力,他常常无暇照顾家人。艾迪特•弗兰克起初很难适应在荷兰的新生活。她十分想家,非常担心尚在德国的家人。

梅普•吉斯年轻时唯一的录像片段。
Anne Frank plays on the Merwedeplein with her friends Eva Goldberg (left) and Sanne Ledermann (middle), who are also German. August 1936., 1936-08, 收藏方:Anne Frank House
Anne Frank during a holiday in Sils-Maria, Switzerland, summer 1936., 1936, 收藏方:Anne Frank House
Hitler/Jaeger File, Hugo Jaeger, 1937, 收藏方:LIFE Photo Collection
Hitler/Jaeger File, Hugo Jaeger, 1937, 收藏方:LIFE Photo Collection

犹太人在德国的生存环境面临越来越多的威胁。

1938 年 11 月,纳粹分子发起了一场针对犹太人的“水晶之夜”血腥暴行。

1939 年 3 月,艾迪特的母亲从德国搬到荷兰与弗兰克一家同住。

Frankfurt Am Main, Germany, 1938, The Horowitz Synagogue in flames., 收藏方:Yad Vashem
Regensburg, Germany, Deportation of Jewish men to Dachau, 10/11/1938., 收藏方:Yad Vashem
Anne and Margot on Zandvoort beach, July 1939. Behind them, their grandmother Rosa Holländer is sitting in a beach chair., 1939-07, 收藏方:Anne Frank House
Annes with her friends on her 10th birthday., 1939-06-12, 收藏方:Anne Frank House
1939-09-13, 收藏方:LIFE Photo Collection

1939 年,德国入侵波兰,迫使英国和法国对德宣战。

德军对波兰首府华沙展开轰炸。

针对犹太人的迫害旋即开始。

Hitler/Jaeger File, Hugo Jaeger, 1939-10, 收藏方:LIFE Photo Collection
Hitler/Jaeger File, Hugo Jaeger, 1939-10, 收藏方:LIFE Photo Collection
Hitler/Jaeger File, Hugo Jaeger, 1939-10, 收藏方:LIFE Photo Collection

德国入侵荷兰

1940 年 5 月,德国入侵荷兰,对鹿特丹展开大轰炸,荷兰政府随即投降。德国开始占领荷兰。

Hitler/Jaeger File, Hugo Jaeger, 1940-05-15, 收藏方:LIFE Photo Collection
Hitler/Jaeger File, Hugo Jaeger, 1940-05, 收藏方:LIFE Photo Collection
Hitler/Jaeger File, Hugo Jaeger, 1940-05, 收藏方:LIFE Photo Collection
Hitler/Jaeger File, Hugo Jaeger, 1940-05, 收藏方:LIFE Photo Collection
Hitler/Jaeger File, Hugo Jaeger, 1940-05, 收藏方:LIFE Photo Collection

1940 年 5 月 15 日,荷军总司令温克尔曼赴德军总部签署荷兰投降书。

反犹太人规定

1940 年入侵荷兰后不久,纳粹分子便开始紧锣密鼓地实施一系列反犹太人规定。这些规定使得犹太人的生活变得愈发艰难。犹太人公务员被解雇。犹太人被禁止进入公园、电影院、游泳池等公共场所,犹太儿童只能进入单独的犹太学校学习。

Anne Frank at the Jewish Lyceum., 1941, 收藏方:Anne Frank House
收藏方:Yad Vashem
Amsterdam, Netherlands, Deported Jews on a truck., 收藏方:Yad Vashem
Netherlands, Amsterdam, The entrance to the Jewish quarter., 收藏方:Yad Vashem
The Frank family on the Merwedeplein, April 1941., 1941-04, 收藏方:Anne Frank House
Margot and Anne Frank, 1941., Frans Dupont, 1941-05, 收藏方:Anne Frank House
安妮•弗兰克在阿姆斯特丹家中的窗前
Anne Frank at her desk., 1941-04, 收藏方:Anne Frank House

安妮日记

1942 年 6 月 12 日是安妮•弗兰克 13 岁的生日。她收到了一个封面带红白相间格子的日记簿作为生日礼物,从此便开始写日记。日记簿是安妮最珍贵的物品,三个星期后她与家人藏进密室时也随身携带着它。

Anne Frank's red and white checkered diary., Allard Bovenberg, 收藏方:Anne Frank House
Anne Frank's diary, Allard Bovenberg, 收藏方:Anne Frank House

犹太人惨遭迫害

随着德国继续占领荷兰,生活在荷兰的犹太人处境变得越来越危险。从 1942 年 5 月开始,所有犹太人被强制要求佩戴黄星袖章。同年 7 月开始,犹太人被迫要求进行工作登记,声称此举是为了将他们送往德国的劳工营,而实际上是要将他们押往集中营进行屠杀。

为避免被驱逐的噩运,奥托和艾迪特•弗兰克秘密地在公司密室后方准备了一处藏身之所。1942 年 7 月 5 日,玛戈特•弗兰克成为家中第一个收到劳工营登记通知的人。第二天,弗兰克一家藏进了王子运河畔的密室中。

Prinsengracht, with the premises of the Opekta company in the middle at number 263., Carel Blazer, 1947, 收藏方:Anne Frank House

与弗兰克一家共同藏进密室的还有奥托的业务合作伙伴赫尔曼•范佩尔斯及其妻奥古斯特和他们的儿子彼得。奥托的员工贝普•弗斯库尔、维克多•库格勒、约翰内斯•克莱曼和梅普•吉斯及其丈夫杨•吉斯为他们提供食物。

白天,藏匿在密室中的人时时刻刻都必须轻言慎行,绝对不能让在下方仓库中工作的人察觉到密室里藏着犹太人。只有在夜间和周末,他们才能正常说话和冲洗厕所。

The annex of Prinsengracht 263., Maria Austria, 1954/1956, 收藏方:Anne Frank House
The bookcase that hides the entrance to the secret annex., Allard Bovenberg, 收藏方:Anne Frank House
Anne Frank's room in the secret annex., Allard Bovenberg, 收藏方:Anne Frank House

数月之后,也就是 1942 年 11 月 16 日,密室里迎来了第八位藏匿者,他就是梅普•吉斯的牙医弗里茨•普费弗。为了给弗里茨•普费弗腾出房间,玛戈特搬进了父母的房间,安妮则和他共住一个房间。

A wall in Anne Frank's room., AFS, 收藏方:Anne Frank House
The Lane Sisters, pasted on the wall., AFS, 收藏方:Anne Frank House
Pieta, pasted on the wall on top of the picture of the Lane sisters., AFS, 收藏方:Anne Frank House

“我们大量犹太同胞被抓走。盖世太保对他们非常凶残。…如果说,在荷兰他们的处境尚且如此糟糕,那么在他们将被遣送的遥远的地方,情况将会有多么可怕呢?我们觉得大多数犹太同胞都会被杀害。英国电台的广播中说他们被毒气杀死。也许这是最快的屠杀方式。”

安妮•弗兰克,1942 年 10 月 9 日

Raid on the Geldersekade in Amsterdam, 26 May 1943., H.J. Wijnne, 1943-05-26, 收藏方:Anne Frank House
阿姆斯特丹被捕的犹太人,1943 年 5 月 26 日。
Jews Deported, Hulton Archive, 1941-01-01, 收藏方:Getty Images
从韦斯特博克开往奥斯威辛集中营的火车。

“如您早已所知,我最大的梦想就是先成为一名记者,然后再成为著名作家。”

安妮•弗兰克,1944 年 5 月 11 日

The Dutch royal family in exile in Ottawa, Canada, pasted on the wall in Anne's room., Anne Frank House, 1943, 收藏方:Anne Frank House
Commandos approach Sword Beach in a Landing Craft Infantry (LCI), 收藏方:Imperial War Museums
A dead American soldier lies face down in the sand, 6 June 1944, 收藏方:Imperial War Museums

“期待已久的自由难道真的临近了吗?(...) 哦,吉蒂,最美的是我有一种感觉,朋友们正在到来。”

安妮•弗兰克,1944 年 6 月 6 日

听闻诺曼底登陆的消息,藏匿者们感到欢欣鼓舞和充满希望。奥托•弗兰克将盟军的进展标记在密室房间墙上悬挂的地图上。

Map of Normandy, cut from a newspaper in June 1944, pasted on the wall in the secret annex., Anne Frank House, 收藏方:Anne Frank House

安妮去世

1944 年 8 月 4 日,由于被人出卖,八位藏匿者被逮捕。他们被押往荷兰的韦斯特博克中转营。9 月 3 日,他们被押往德占波兰的奥斯威辛集中营。在奥斯威辛集中营,男人和女人被分开关押。这是安妮最后一次见到自己的父亲。她与妈妈艾迪特和姐姐玛戈特一起被关押在女牢房中。

Auschwitz, Poland, Railways by the camp, after liberation., 收藏方:Yad Vashem
Birkenau, Poland, A view of the camp from the entrance tower, winter 1942/1943., 收藏方:Yad Vashem

10 月末,安妮和姐姐玛戈特被运到了位于德国的伯根-贝尔森集中营。他们的母亲艾迪特仍然留在奥斯威辛集中营,并于 1945 年 1 月 6 日去世。

Bergen-Belsen is terrible. There is little or no food and the sanitary conditions are dreadful. Many prisoners become ill and die. Margot and Anne Frank contract typhus. They die at the end of February 1945, just weeks before the camp is liberated.

经过三天三夜火车颠簸之后,安妮和玛戈特到达了德国的伯根-贝尔森集中营。由于集中营里关押的人太多,他们不得不住在帐篷中。后来帐篷毁于一场大风暴,被关押在帐篷中的人员住进了本已拥挤不堪的营房中。

汉内利•戈斯拉尔与安妮•弗兰克早在上幼儿园时便相识。自 1942 年安妮藏进密室后,他们就再也没见过面。据汉内利回忆,她在伯根-贝尔森集中营与安妮进行了最后一次交谈。

George Rodger, 1945-05, 收藏方:LIFE Photo Collection
The first meal after the liberation of Bergen-Belsen concentration camp, April 1945 (BU 4006), 收藏方:Imperial War Museums
Auschwitz, Poland, Former inmates of Auschwitz, January 1945., 收藏方:Yad Vashem

1945 年 1 月 27 日,俄军解放奥斯威辛集中营后,奥托•弗兰克重获自由。他是八位藏匿者中唯一从战争中幸存下来的人。

Reims Surrender, Ralph Morse, 1945-05, 收藏方:LIFE Photo Collection

1945 年 5 月 7 日,西欧德军在法国兰斯投降。

奥托返回荷兰

经过漫长而混乱的旅途奔波之后,奥托终于在 1945 年 6 月回到阿姆斯特丹。他与梅普•吉斯和杨•吉斯住在一起。他已经听闻自己妻子艾迪特去世的噩耗,但对自己两个女儿的命运却一无所知。

数周之后,他才听说安妮和玛戈特都已不在人世。此时,梅普才将安妮的日记交给了奥托。自从弗兰克一家被抓后,她一直妥善保管着这些日记。

Otto Frank and his four office employees, August 1945., 收藏方:Anne Frank House
1945 年 8 月,奥托•弗兰克和四位救助者在一起。后排:约翰内斯•克莱曼和维克多•库格勒。前排:梅普•吉斯、奥托•弗兰克和贝普•弗斯库尔。

安妮日记付梓出版

经过深思熟虑,奥托•弗兰克决定出版安妮的日记。起初很难找到愿意出版日记的出版商。奥托给几个人看了安妮的日记,其中包括历史学家简•罗门。

他于 1946 年 4 月 3 日在《荷兰国家日报》(Het Parool) 上发表了一篇关于这份日记的文章。这篇文章引起了互通 (Contact) 出版社的注意,该出版社决定出版安妮日记。《安妮日记》荷兰文版于 1947 年 6 月 25 日出版。安妮想要成为作家的梦想终在她死后得以实现。

Front page of 'Het Parool' with the article ‘Kinderstem’ (Child’s voice)., Het Parool, 1946-04-03, 收藏方:Anne Frank House
The first edition of 'Het Achterhuis'., AFS, 收藏方:Anne Frank House
Otto Frank with dramatists Frances Goodrich and Albert Hackett and director Garson Kanin during their visit to the secret annex in November 1954., Maria Austria, 1954-09, 收藏方:Anne Frank House

英文版《安妮日记》取名为“Anne Frank: The diary of a young girl”(直译:《安妮•弗兰克:一个少女的日记》),于 1952 年出版,使《安妮日记》声名远扬。1955 年,《安妮日记》被两名美国剧作家改编为话剧,在百老汇演出后获得巨大的成功。

1959 年,该话剧被拍成电影,由米莉•珀金斯饰演安妮•弗兰克。

Ralph Crane, 1958, 收藏方:LIFE Photo Collection
From the film "The Diary of Anne Frank" (United States, 1959)., 收藏方:Yad Vashem

由藏身之地变为博物馆

《安妮日记》的成功出版引起了公众对安妮•弗兰克藏身之地的兴趣。很快,人们便来到这里想要一睹密室里的情况,欧培克塔公司的员工则带他们进行参观。1955 年,欧培克塔公司搬离这栋建筑。由于这栋建筑年久失修,有人计划将其拆除。但在阿姆斯特丹市民的努力下,这栋建筑最终保存了下来。他们与奥托•弗兰克一起建立了安妮之家博物馆,并于 1960 年 5 月 3 日面向公众开放。

Otto Frank and the mayor of Amsterdam, Van Hall, at the building site of the Anne Frank House, 1960., 1960-05-03, 收藏方:Anne Frank House
American Students Abroad Amsterdam-Scarsdale Group, Loomis Dean, 1961, 收藏方:LIFE Photo Collection
一群来自美国斯卡斯代尔的学生正在参观安妮之家博物馆(摄于 1961 年)。
American Students Abroad Amsterdam-Scarsdale Group, Loomis Dean, 1961, 收藏方:LIFE Photo Collection
American Students Abroad Amsterdam-Scarsdale Group, Loomis Dean, 1961, 收藏方:LIFE Photo Collection
Otto Frank with a bust of Anne Frank in Anne Frank's room in the secret annex, April 1979., 1979-04, 收藏方:Anne Frank House

1953 年,奥托•弗兰克与弗里兹•马克维茨结婚,婚后他们迁居瑞士。女儿的日记依旧在奥托的生活中扮演着重要角色。他收到了世界各地成千上万读者的来信。弗里兹和奥托给他们都回了信。奥托于 1980 年辞世。

Nelson Mandela opens the traveling exhibition about Anne Frank in Strasbourg, France, 1994., Anne Frank House, 1994, 收藏方:Anne Frank House
Actress Natalie Portman visits the Anne Frank House in 1997., Anne Frank House, 收藏方:Anne Frank House

自 1960 年开放以来,安妮之家博物馆吸引了大量参观者到访。九十年代中期,为接待不断增加的到访公众,阿姆斯特丹在王子运河和韦斯特市场拐角处新修了一栋建筑。时至今日,安妮之家博物馆每年迎来的参观者超过百万。

以下是博物馆里关于梅普•吉斯的最后一些录像片:在 1999 年新的博物馆参观路线即将开放之前,她正在整理一些个人文件。

梅普•吉斯是当年帮助过八位藏匿者的人员之一。

对于无法亲自前往阿姆斯特丹的参观者,安妮之家博物馆为他们建立了网上密室,用 3D 技术还原了战时密室中的真实情景。

安妮之家博物馆是一个独立的组织,受托负责管理安妮曾经藏身过的密室。安妮的日记引起了世界人民的广泛关注,激发着人们去思索反犹太主义、种族主义和种族歧视的危害,以及自由、平等和民主的重要意义。

此处展览的背景是安妮•弗兰克密室房间的一面墙,墙上有安妮粘贴的许许多多不同的图片。

故事鸣谢名单:

This exhibit has been created by the Anne Frank House
in Amsterdam. — For more information, visit http://www.annefrank.org. 

Diary quotes Anne Frank: —
Anne Frank: The Diary of a Young Girl : the definitive edition. Ed. by Otto H. Frank and Mirjam Pressler; transl. by Susan Massotty. — Copyright © The Anne Frank - Fonds, Basle, Switzerland, 1991, 2001
English translation of the diary — Copyright © Doubleday, a division of Random House, Inc. 1995, 2001

所有参展内容的来源:
展出的故事有时可能由独立的第三方创作,并不完全代表以下提供这些内容的机构的观点。
首页
浏览作品
附近
个人资料

Jul 6, 1942

Anne Frank

Anne Frank House

 Her life, her diary, her legacy

Anne Frank is one of the millions of victims of the persecution of the Jews during World War II.

For two years, Anne and her family were in hiding in the annex of her father’s business. There, she wrote her diary.

Anne Frank died in a concentration camp when she was fifteen. 

Her diary survived the war. It has been translated into more than seventy languages, and it has made Anne famous all over the world. 

The original diary is on display in the Anne Frank House.

Anne Frank, one day old, in her mother Edith’s arms. Frankfurt am Main, 13 June 1929.

Childhood in Germany

Anne Frank is born on 12 June 1929 in Frankfurt am Main, Germany. She is the second and youngest daughter of Otto Frank and Edith Frank-Holländer. Margot, Anne’s sister, is three years older. The Frank family is Jewish.

Otto Frank with his daughters Margot and Anne, August 1931.

Otto Frank works for the family bank. Because of the severe economic crisis in Germany, business is not going well. Otto and Edith Frank are very worried about their future. Antisemitism is increasing. More and more people support Adolf Hitler’s antisemitic NSDAP party and in 1933, Hitler takes over as leader of the German government.

Otto has the chance to set up a local branch of Opekta in Amsterdam. Opekta is a business that sells pectin, a gelling agent for making jam.

Otto and his wife decide to move to The Netherlands.    

Safe in Amsterdam

In 1933, Anne Frank and her family move to an apartment on the Merwedeplein in Amsterdam-Zuid, a neighborhood where many Jewish refugees find a home.

Anne and Margot learn Dutch quickly and soon feel at home in Holland. Anne is a bubbly, curious girl who likes to be the center of attention. Margot is more quiet and serious. She always gets good grades in school.

Otto Frank sets up his business in the center of Amsterdam. Because he works hard, he is often away from home. Edith Frank has a hard time getting used to her new life in The Netherlands. She is homesick and very worried about her family in Germany.

Miep Gies talks about her work at Opekta, Otto Frank’s business.

The situation in Germany is becoming increasingly threatening for Jews.

In November 1938, a large pogrom, ‘Kristallnacht’, takes place. 

In March of 1939, Edith’s mother leaves Germany and moves in with the Frank family.

In 1939 Germany invades Poland, causing England and France to declare war on Germany.

Warsaw is bombed. The persecution of Jews starts almost immediately.

The German invasion of Holland

In May 1940 Germany invades Holland, and after the bombing of Rotterdam, the Dutch government capitulates. The German occupation has begun.

General Winkelman arriving at German Army headquarters to sign the Dutch surrender, May 15, 1940.

Anti-Jewish regulations

Soon after the invasion in 1940, the Nazis start introducing anti-Jewish regulations. They make life increasingly difficult for Jews. Jewish civil servants are fired. Jews are no longer allowed to visit parks, cinemas and swimming pools and Jewish children are forced to go to separate Jewish schools.

Anne Frank appears in the window of her home in Amsterdam.

Anne’s diary

On 12 June 1942, Anne Frank turns thirteen. One of her birthday gifts is a red and white checkered diary. She immediately starts to write in it. The diary is her most cherished possession, and Anne takes it with her when the Frank family goes into hiding three weeks later.

Persecution of the Jews

As the German occupation continues, the situation becomes more and more dangerous for Jews in Holland. From May 1942, all Jews have to wear a yellow star on their clothing. Starting in July of that year, Jews are called up to report for work duty. Allegedly they are sent to labor camps in Germany. In reality, they are transported to concentration camps to be killed.

To avoid deportation, Otto and Edith Frank have been preparing a secret hiding place in the back of the annex to Otto’s business. Margot Frank is one of the first to receive a summons to report for a labor camp on 5 July 1942. The next day, the Frank family leaves for the hiding place on the Prinsengracht.

The Franks share their hiding place with Otto’s business partner Hermann van Pels, his wife Auguste and their son Peter. Otto’s employees Bep Voskuijl, Victor Kugler, Johannes Kleiman and Miep Gies and her husband Jan supply them with food.

During the day, the people in hiding have to keep very quiet. The people working in the warehouse below must not find out that there are Jews hiding in the secret annex. Only at night and during the weekends can they speak without whispering and flush the toilet.

After a few months, on 16 November 1942, an eighth person comes to live in the secret annex: Fritz Pfeffer. He is Miep Gies’ dentist. To make room for him, Margot moves to her parents’ room, and Anne shares her room with Fritz Pfeffer.

‘Our many Jewish friends and acquaintances are being taken away in droves. The Gestapo is treating them very roughly (…) If it's that bad in Holland, what must it be like in those faraway and uncivilized places where the Germans are sending them? We assume that most of them are being murdered. The English radio says they're being gassed. Perhaps that's the quickest way to die.’

Anne Frank, 9 October 1942

Round-up of Jews in Amsterdam, 26 May 1943.
Train leaving for Auschwitz from Westerbork.

‘You've known for a long time that my greatest wish is to be a journalist, and later on, a famous writer.’

Anne Frank, 11 May 1944

‘Is this really the beginning of the long-awaited liberation? (...) Oh Kitty, the best part about the invasion is that I have the feeling that friends are on the way.’

Anne Frank, 6 June 1944

The people in hiding follow the news about the Normandy invasion with enthusiasm and hope. Otto Frank marks the allied army advances with pins on the map on the wall of the Frank family room in the secret annex.

Anne’s death

On 4 August 1944, the people in hiding are arrested: they have been betrayed. They are sent to the Westerbork transit camp in the Netherlands. On 3 September they are deported to the Auschwitz-Birkenau concentration camp in German-occupied Poland. There, the men and women are separated. Anne sees her father for the last time. She is assigned to a women’s barracks with Margot and Edith.

On the first of November Anne and Margot are transported to the Bergen-Belsen concentration camp in Germany. Their mother Edith remains in Auschwitz-Birkenau and dies there on 6 January 1945.

After an awful train journey lasting three days, Anne and Margot arrive at Bergen-Belsen in Germany. The camp is overpopulated and they have to live in tents. When the tents are destroyed during a heavy storm, the prisoners are moved to already overcrowded barracks.

Bergen-Belsen is terrible. There is little or no food and the sanitary conditions are dreadful. Many prisoners become ill and die. Margot and Anne Frank contract typhus. They die at the end of February 1945, just weeks before the camp is liberated.

Hanneli Goslar and Anne Frank have known each other since kindergarten. They haven't met since 1942, when Anne went into hiding.

In Bergen-Belsen Hanneli looks back to the last time she talked to Anne.

After the Soviet Army liberates Auschwitz on 27 January 1945, Otto Frank is free. He is the only one of the eight people in hiding who survives the war.

7 May 1945, surrender of the German army in Western Europe in Reims, France.

Otto returns

After a long and chaotic journey, Otto returns to Amsterdam in June 1945. He moves in with Miep and Jan Gies. He already knows that his wife Edith is dead, but he knows nothing of the fate of his daughters.

A few weeks later he hears that Anne and Margot are both dead. Only then does Miep give him Anne’s diary. She has kept it safe since the family’s arrest.

Otto Frank and the four helpers, August 1945. Back: Johannes Kleiman and Victor Kugler. Front: Miep Gies, Otto Frank and Bep Voskuijl.

The diary is published

After much deliberation, Otto Frank decides to have Anne’s diary published. At first, it is difficult to find a publisher. Otto shows the diary to several people. One of them is historian Jan Romein.

He writes an article about it for the national newspaper 'Het Parool' of 3 April 1946. The article attracts the attention of the publishing company Contact. It decides to publish the diary. 'Het Achterhuis' is published on 25 June 1947. Anne’s dream of becoming a writer comes true after her death.

The publication of the English edition 'Anne Frank: The Diary of a Young Girl' in 1952 makes Anne’s diary famous. It is adapted for the theater by two American dramatists in 1955. The play becomes a huge success on Broadway.

In 1959, the play is made into a film with Milly Perkins playing Anne Frank.

From hiding place to museum

The success of the diary creates an interest in Anne Frank’s hiding place. Soon, people come by wanting to see the secret annex and they are shown around by the Opekta employees. In 1955, the company moves. Because the building is in a dilapidated state, there are plans for demolition but thanks to the efforts of prominent Amsterdam citizens, it is saved. Together with Otto Frank they establish the Anne Frank House and the museum is opened to the public on 3 May 1960.

A group of American students from Scarsdale visits the Anne Frank House in 1961.

In 1953, Otto Frank marries Fritzi Markovits and they move to Switzerland. His daughter’s diary continues to play an important role in his life. He receives thousands of letters from readers from all over the world. Fritzi and Otto reply to them. Otto dies in 1980.

Ever since the opening in 1960 the Anne Frank House has attracted large numbers of visitors. During the mid-nineties, a new building is constructed on the corner of Prinsengracht and Westermarkt in order to cope with the ever-growing public interest. Nowadays, the museum welcomes over one million visitors a year.

Below are the last moving images of Miep Gies in the museum: she is arranging some personal documents right before the opening of the new museum route in 1999.

Miep Gies is one of the helpers of the people in hiding.

For those who are unable to visit the museum in Amsterdam, the Anne Frank House has created the Secret Annex Online, a 3D version of the wartime hiding place.

The Anne Frank House is an independent organization entrusted with the care of the Secret Annex, the place where Anne Frank was hiding during World War II and where she wrote her diary. The Foundation  brings her life story to the attention of people all over the world to encourage them to reflect on the dangers of antisemitism, racism and discrimination and the importance of freedom, equal rights, and democracy.

The background to this exhibit shows a wall in Anne Frank's room in the secret annex on which she pasted many different pictures.

Credits: Story

This exhibit has been created by the Anne Frank House
in Amsterdam. — For more information, visit http://www.annefrank.org. 

Diary quotes Anne Frank: —
Anne Frank: The Diary of a Young Girl : the definitive edition. Ed. by Otto H. Frank and Mirjam Pressler; transl. by Susan Massotty. — Copyright © The Anne Frank - Fonds, Basle, Switzerland, 1991, 2001
English translation of the diary — Copyright © Doubleday, a division of Random House, Inc. 1995, 2001

Credits: All media
The story featured may in some cases have been created by an independent third party and may not always represent the views of the institutions, listed below, who have supplied the content.
Home
Explore
Nearby
Profile