6 juil. 1942

Anne Frank

Anne Frank House

 Sa vie, son journal, son héritage 

Anne Frank est l’une des millions de victimes de la persécution des Juifs.

Anne et sa famille ont passé deux années dans la clandestinité dans l’annexe située derrière l’entreprise de son père. C’est là qu’elle a tenu son journal.

Anne est morte dans un camp de concentration à l’âge de 15 ans.

Son journal a survécu à la guerre. Il a été traduit dans plus de soixante-dix langues et a rendu Anne célèbre dans le monde entier.

Le journal est exposé dans la Maison d’Anne Frank.

Anne Frank, âgée d’un jour, dans les bras de sa mère, Edith. Francfort-sur-le-Main, 13 juin 1929. 

Enfance en Allemagne

Anne Frank naît le 12 juin 1929 à Francfort-sur-le-Main, en Allemagne. Elle est la deuxième et la plus jeune des filles d’Otto Frank et d’Edith Frank-Holländer. Margot, la sœur d’Anne, est son aînée de trois ans. La famille Frank est juive.

Otto Frank avec ses filles Margot et Anne, août 1931.

Otto Frank travaille pour la banque familiale. Les affaires vont mal, en raison de la grave crise économique que connaît l’Allemagne. Otto et Edit Frank sont très inquiets quant à l’avenir. L’antisémitisme progresse. Un nombre croissant de gens soutiennent le NSDAP, le parti antisémite d’Adolf Hitler. Début 1933, Hitler arrive au pouvoir. 

Otto Frank se voit offrir l’occasion de monter une filiale d’Opekta à Amsterdam. Opekta vend de la pectine, un gélifiant pour faire des confitures.

Otto et sa femme décident d’émigrer aux Pays-Bas.    

En sécurité à Amsterdam

En 1933, la famille Frank s’installe dans un appartement situé à la Merwedeplein (place Merwede), à  Amsterdam-Zuid, un quartier  où viennent vivre de nombreux réfugiés juifs. 

Anne et Margot apprennent vite   le néerlandais  et se sentent rapidement chez elles aux Pays-Bas. Anne est une petite fille pleine de vie et de curiosité, qui aime être au centre de l’attention. Margot est plus calme et plus sérieuse.  Elle obtient toujours de  très bonnes notes à l’école.

Otto Frank établit son entreprise dans le centre d’Amsterdam. Il travaille dur et est peu souvent à la maison. Edith Frank a du mal à s’habituer à sa nouvelle vie aux Pays-Bas. Elle a le mal du pays et se fait de gros soucis concernant sa famille restée en Allemagne.

Miep Gies parle de son travail à Opekta, l’entreprise d’Otto.

En Allemagne, la situation se fait de plus en plus menaçante pour les Juifs.

En novembre 1938 a lieu un gigantesque pogrom : “Kristallnacht” (la Nuit de Cristal).

En mars 1939, la mère d’Edith quitte l’Allemagne et s’installe chez la famille Frank.

En 1939, l’Allemagne envahit la Pologne, amenant l’Angleterre et la France à déclarer la guerre à l’Allemagne.

Varsovie est bombardée. La persécution des Juifs commence presque aussitôt.

L’invasion allemande des Pays-Bas

En mai 1940, les Allemands envahissent les Pays-Bas, et après le bombardement de Rotterdam le gouvernement néerlandais capitule. L’occupation allemande a commencé.

Le général Winkelman arrivant au quartier général de l’armée allemande pour signer la capitulation des Pays-Bas, le 15 mai 1940. 

Mesures anti-juives

Peu après l’invasion en 1940, les nazis commencent à introduire des mesures anti-juives. Ils rendent la vie de plus en plus difficile aux Juifs. Les fonctionnaires juifs sont licenciés. Les Juifs ne sont plus autorisés à se rendre dans des parcs, à la piscine ou au cinéma, et les enfants juifs doivent désormais fréquenter des écoles spécifiquement juives.

Anne Frank apparaît à la fenêtre de son appartement à Amsterdam. 

Le journal d’Anne

Le 12 juin 1942, Anne Frank atteint l’âge de 13 ans. L’un de ses cadeaux d’anniversaire est un cahier à carreaux rouges qui va lui servir de journal. Elle se met aussitôt à écrire. Son journal est son bien le plus précieux et elle l’emporte avec elle lorsque sa famille entre dans la clandestinité, trois semaines plus tard.

La persécution des Juifs

L’occupation allemande des Pays-Bas se poursuit, et la situation devient de plus en plus dangereuse pour les Juifs. À partir du mois de mai 1942, tous les Juifs doivent porter une étoile jaune sur leurs vêtements. Dès le mois de juillet de la même année, les Juifs sont appelés à se présenter, officiellement pour aller travailler dans des camps en Allemagne. En réalité, ils sont déportés vers des camps de concentration pour y être  massacrés.

Pour échapper à la déportation, Otto et Edith Frank ont aménagé une cachette dans l’annexe de l’entreprise d’Otto. Le 5 juillet 1942, Margot Frank figure parmi les premières personnes à recevoir une convocation : elle est priée de se présenter pour aller dans un camp de travail. Le lendemain, la famille Frank se rend à la cachette, située au Prinsengracht.

Les Frank partagent l’annexe avec l’associé d’Otto, Herman van Pels, sa femme Auguste et leur fils Peter. Les employés d’Otto, Bep Voskuijl, Victor Kugler, Johannes Kleiman et Miep Gies et son mari approvisionnent les clandestins en nourriture.

Pendant la journée, les clandestins ne doivent pas faire de bruit. Les gens qui travaillent  dans l’entrepôt, juste en dessous, ne doivent absolument pas savoir que des Juifs se cachent dans l’annexe. Uniquement le soir et durant les week-ends, ils peuvent parler à haute voix et tirer la chasse d’eau.

Au bout de quelques mois, le 16 novembre 1942, un huitième clandestin vient vivre dans l’annexe : Fritz Pfeffer. C’est le le dentiste de Miep Gies. Pour lui faire de la place, Margot va dormir dans la chambre de ses parents et Anne partage sa chambre avec Fritz Pfeffer.

‘Nos nombreux amis juifs sont emmenés par groupes entiers. La Gestapo ne prend vraiment pas de gants avec ces gens (…) S’il se passe des choses aussi affreuses en Hollande, qu’est-ce qui les attend dans les régions lointaines et barbares où on les envoie ? Nous supposons que la plupart se font massacrer. La radio anglaise parle d’asphyxie par les gaz : c’est peut-être la méthode d’élimination la plus rapide.’

Anne Frank, 9 octobre 1942

Rafle à Amsterdam, le 26 mai 1943.
Train quittant Westerbork  à destination d’Auschwitz.

‘Tu sais depuis longtemps que mon souhait le plus cher est de devenir un jour journaliste et plus tard un écrivain célebre.’

Anne Frank, le 11 mai 1944

‘La libération tant attendue arriverait-elle enfin? (…) Oh, Kitty ! Le plus beau du débarquement, c’est que j’ai l’impression que des amis approchent.’

Anne Frank, le 6 juin 1944

Pleins d’espoir et d’enthousiasme, les clandestins suivent les nouvelles du débarquement en Normandie. Otto Frank marque l’avancée des Alliés avec des épingles sur une carte accrochée au mur de la chambre des Frank.

La mort d’Anne

Le 4 août 1944, les clandestins sont arrêtés – ils ont été dénoncés. Ils sont envoyés au camp de transit de Westerbork. Le 3 septembre, ils sont déportés vers Auschwitz-Birkenau, un camp de concentration dans la Pologne occupée par l’Allemagne. Là, les hommes et les femmes sont séparés. C’est la dernière fois qu’Anne voit son père. Elle est affectée avec Margot et Edith dans une baraque pour femmes.

Fin octobre, Anne et Margot sont transportées au camp de concentration de Bergen-Belsen, en Allemagne. Leur mère, Edith, reste à Auschwitz-Birkenau et y meurt le 6 janvier 1945. 

À l’issue d’un effroyable voyage en train qui dure trois jours, Anne et Margot arrivent à Bergen-Belsen. Le camp est surpeuplé et elles sont logées dans des tentes. Après la destruction des tentes durant une violente tempête, elles sont conduites dans des baraques surpeuplées.

Le camp de Bergen-Belsen est effroyable. Il y a peu de nourriture et les conditions hygiéniques y sont épouvantables. De nombreux prisonniers tombent malades et meurent. Margot et Anne  attrapent le typhus. Elles meurent en mars 1945, quelques semaines avant la libération du camp.

Hanneli Goslar et Anne Frank se connaissent depuis l’école maternelle. Elles ne se sont plus vues depuis 1942, lorsqu’Anne est entrée dans la clandestinité. 

À Bergen-Belsen, Hanneli se rappelle la dernière fois qu’elle a parlé à Anne.

Après la libération d’Auschwitz par les Russes, le 27 janvier 1945, Otto Frank est un homme libre. Il est le seul des huit clandestins à avoir survécu  à la guerre.

7 mai 1945, reddition de l’armée allemande en Europe de l’Ouest à Reims, France.

Retour d’Otto

À l’issue d’un long voyage chaotique, Otto Frank arrive à Amsterdam en juin 1945. Il s’installe chez Miep et Jan Gies. Il sait déjà que sa femme est morte mais ignore le sort de ses filles.

Quelques semaines plus tard, il apprend la mort d’Anne et de Margot. Ce n’est qu’à ce moment-là que Miep lui remet le journal d’Anne. Elle l’a gardé depuis l’arrestation de la famille Frank.

Otto Frank et les quatre protecteurs, août 1945. Derrière : Johannes Kleiman et Victor Kugler. Devant : Miep Gies, Otto Frank et Bep Voskuijl.

Publication du journal

Après de longues hésitations, Otto Frank se décide à publier le journal d’Anne. Au début, il a du mal à trouver un éditeur. Otto fait lire le journal à plusieurs personnes. L’une d’elles est l’historien Jan Romein.

Jan Romein écrit un article dans le quotidien “Het Parool” du 3 avril 1946, qui attire l’attention des éditions Contact. Celles-ci décident de publier le journal. “Het Achterhuis” paraît le 25 juin 1947. Le rêve d’Anne de devenir écrivain se réalise. 

C’est la publication  de l’édition anglaise “Anne Frank: The diary of a young girl”, en 1952, qui va rendre célèbre  le journal d’Anne Frank. En 1955, deux auteurs dramatiques américains en font une adaptation au théâtre. La pièce de théâtre connaît un énorme succès à Broadway.

En 1959, un film est réalisé à partir de la pièce de théâtre. Milly Perkins y joue le rôle d’Anne Frank.

De la cachette au musée

Le succès du journal suscite un intérêt pour l’endroit où s’est cachée Anne. Bientôt, des gens viennent voir l’annexe. Les employés d’Opekta la leur font visiter. En 1955, l’entreprise déménage. Comme le bâtiment est délabré, il est envisagé de le  démolir. Mais grâce à l’implication d’un certain nombre de notables d’Amsterdam, le bâtiment est sauvé. Avec Otto Frank, ils créent une fondation, la Maison d’Anne Frank, et le musée ouvre ses portes au public le 3 mai 1960. 

Un groupe d’étudiants américains de Scarsdale visite la Maison d’Anne Frank en 1961.

En 1953, Otto Frank épouse Fritzi Markovits et s’installe avec elle en Suisse. Le journal de sa fille tient toujours un rôle important dans la vie d’Otto. Il reçoit des lettres de milliers de lecteurs du monde entier. Fritzi et Otto leur répondent. Otto meurt en 1980.

Depuis son ouverture en 1960, la Maison d’Anne Frank attire de nombreux visiteurs. Au milieu des années 90, un nouveau bâtiment est construit à l’angle du Prinsengracht et du Westermarkt pour faire face au public sans cesse croissant. Actuellement, le musée accueille plus d’un million de visiteurs par an.

Ci-dessous : les dernières images de Miep Gies au musée. Peu avant l’ouverture du musée restauré, elle place quelques documents personnels dans une vitrine.

Miep Gies est l’une des personnes ayant fait partie des protecteurs des clandestins. 

Pour ceux qui ne peuvent pas visiter le musée à Amsterdam, la Maison d’Anne Frank a créé L’Annexe en Ligne, une version en 3D du bâtiment tel qu’il était quand Anne Frank et sa famille y étaient cachés.

La Maison d’Anne Frank est une organisation indépendante qui gère l’endroit où Anne Frank était entrée dans la clandestinité durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale et où elle a tenu son journal. Elle diffuse l’histoire de sa vie à travers le monde afin de susciter une réflexion sur les dangers de l’antisémitisme, du racisme et de la discrimination ainsi que sur l’importance de la liberté, de l’égalité des droits et de la démocratie. 

L’arrière-plan de cette exposition en ligne montre l’un des murs de la chambre d’Anne Frank dans l’annexe, sur lequel elle collait différentes images. 

Crédits : histoire

This exhibit has been created by the Anne Frank House
in Amsterdam. — For more information, visit http://www.annefrank.org. 

Diary quotes Anne Frank: —
Anne Frank: The Diary of a Young Girl : the definitive edition. Ed. by Otto H. Frank and Mirjam Pressler; transl. by Susan Massotty. — Copyright © The Anne Frank - Fonds, Basle, Switzerland, 1991, 2001
English translation of the diary — Copyright © Doubleday, a division of Random House, Inc. 1995, 2001

Remerciements : tous les supports
Il peut arriver que l'histoire présentée ait été créée par un tiers indépendant et qu'elle ne reflète pas toujours la ligne directrice des institutions, répertoriées ci-dessous, qui ont fourni le contenu.
Traduire avec Google
Accueil
Explorer
À proximité
Profil

Jul 6, 1942

Anne Frank

Anne Frank House

 Her life, her diary, her legacy

Anne Frank is one of the millions of victims of the persecution of the Jews during World War II.

For two years, Anne and her family were in hiding in the annex of her father’s business. There, she wrote her diary.

Anne Frank died in a concentration camp when she was fifteen. 

Her diary survived the war. It has been translated into more than seventy languages, and it has made Anne famous all over the world. 

The original diary is on display in the Anne Frank House.

Anne Frank, one day old, in her mother Edith’s arms. Frankfurt am Main, 13 June 1929.

Childhood in Germany

Anne Frank is born on 12 June 1929 in Frankfurt am Main, Germany. She is the second and youngest daughter of Otto Frank and Edith Frank-Holländer. Margot, Anne’s sister, is three years older. The Frank family is Jewish.

Otto Frank with his daughters Margot and Anne, August 1931.

Otto Frank works for the family bank. Because of the severe economic crisis in Germany, business is not going well. Otto and Edith Frank are very worried about their future. Antisemitism is increasing. More and more people support Adolf Hitler’s antisemitic NSDAP party and in 1933, Hitler takes over as leader of the German government.

Otto has the chance to set up a local branch of Opekta in Amsterdam. Opekta is a business that sells pectin, a gelling agent for making jam.

Otto and his wife decide to move to The Netherlands.    

Safe in Amsterdam

In 1933, Anne Frank and her family move to an apartment on the Merwedeplein in Amsterdam-Zuid, a neighborhood where many Jewish refugees find a home.

Anne and Margot learn Dutch quickly and soon feel at home in Holland. Anne is a bubbly, curious girl who likes to be the center of attention. Margot is more quiet and serious. She always gets good grades in school.

Otto Frank sets up his business in the center of Amsterdam. Because he works hard, he is often away from home. Edith Frank has a hard time getting used to her new life in The Netherlands. She is homesick and very worried about her family in Germany.

Miep Gies talks about her work at Opekta, Otto Frank’s business.

The situation in Germany is becoming increasingly threatening for Jews.

In November 1938, a large pogrom, ‘Kristallnacht’, takes place. 

In March of 1939, Edith’s mother leaves Germany and moves in with the Frank family.

In 1939 Germany invades Poland, causing England and France to declare war on Germany.

Warsaw is bombed. The persecution of Jews starts almost immediately.

The German invasion of Holland

In May 1940 Germany invades Holland, and after the bombing of Rotterdam, the Dutch government capitulates. The German occupation has begun.

General Winkelman arriving at German Army headquarters to sign the Dutch surrender, May 15, 1940.

Anti-Jewish regulations

Soon after the invasion in 1940, the Nazis start introducing anti-Jewish regulations. They make life increasingly difficult for Jews. Jewish civil servants are fired. Jews are no longer allowed to visit parks, cinemas and swimming pools and Jewish children are forced to go to separate Jewish schools.

Anne Frank appears in the window of her home in Amsterdam.

Anne’s diary

On 12 June 1942, Anne Frank turns thirteen. One of her birthday gifts is a red and white checkered diary. She immediately starts to write in it. The diary is her most cherished possession, and Anne takes it with her when the Frank family goes into hiding three weeks later.

Persecution of the Jews

As the German occupation continues, the situation becomes more and more dangerous for Jews in Holland. From May 1942, all Jews have to wear a yellow star on their clothing. Starting in July of that year, Jews are called up to report for work duty. Allegedly they are sent to labor camps in Germany. In reality, they are transported to concentration camps to be killed.

To avoid deportation, Otto and Edith Frank have been preparing a secret hiding place in the back of the annex to Otto’s business. Margot Frank is one of the first to receive a summons to report for a labor camp on 5 July 1942. The next day, the Frank family leaves for the hiding place on the Prinsengracht.

The Franks share their hiding place with Otto’s business partner Hermann van Pels, his wife Auguste and their son Peter. Otto’s employees Bep Voskuijl, Victor Kugler, Johannes Kleiman and Miep Gies and her husband Jan supply them with food.

During the day, the people in hiding have to keep very quiet. The people working in the warehouse below must not find out that there are Jews hiding in the secret annex. Only at night and during the weekends can they speak without whispering and flush the toilet.

After a few months, on 16 November 1942, an eighth person comes to live in the secret annex: Fritz Pfeffer. He is Miep Gies’ dentist. To make room for him, Margot moves to her parents’ room, and Anne shares her room with Fritz Pfeffer.

‘Our many Jewish friends and acquaintances are being taken away in droves. The Gestapo is treating them very roughly (…) If it's that bad in Holland, what must it be like in those faraway and uncivilized places where the Germans are sending them? We assume that most of them are being murdered. The English radio says they're being gassed. Perhaps that's the quickest way to die.’

Anne Frank, 9 October 1942

Round-up of Jews in Amsterdam, 26 May 1943.
Train leaving for Auschwitz from Westerbork.

‘You've known for a long time that my greatest wish is to be a journalist, and later on, a famous writer.’

Anne Frank, 11 May 1944

‘Is this really the beginning of the long-awaited liberation? (...) Oh Kitty, the best part about the invasion is that I have the feeling that friends are on the way.’

Anne Frank, 6 June 1944

The people in hiding follow the news about the Normandy invasion with enthusiasm and hope. Otto Frank marks the allied army advances with pins on the map on the wall of the Frank family room in the secret annex.

Anne’s death

On 4 August 1944, the people in hiding are arrested: they have been betrayed. They are sent to the Westerbork transit camp in the Netherlands. On 3 September they are deported to the Auschwitz-Birkenau concentration camp in German-occupied Poland. There, the men and women are separated. Anne sees her father for the last time. She is assigned to a women’s barracks with Margot and Edith.

On the first of November Anne and Margot are transported to the Bergen-Belsen concentration camp in Germany. Their mother Edith remains in Auschwitz-Birkenau and dies there on 6 January 1945.

After an awful train journey lasting three days, Anne and Margot arrive at Bergen-Belsen in Germany. The camp is overpopulated and they have to live in tents. When the tents are destroyed during a heavy storm, the prisoners are moved to already overcrowded barracks.

Bergen-Belsen is terrible. There is little or no food and the sanitary conditions are dreadful. Many prisoners become ill and die. Margot and Anne Frank contract typhus. They die at the end of February 1945, just weeks before the camp is liberated.

Hanneli Goslar and Anne Frank have known each other since kindergarten. They haven't met since 1942, when Anne went into hiding.

In Bergen-Belsen Hanneli looks back to the last time she talked to Anne.

After the Soviet Army liberates Auschwitz on 27 January 1945, Otto Frank is free. He is the only one of the eight people in hiding who survives the war.

7 May 1945, surrender of the German army in Western Europe in Reims, France.

Otto returns

After a long and chaotic journey, Otto returns to Amsterdam in June 1945. He moves in with Miep and Jan Gies. He already knows that his wife Edith is dead, but he knows nothing of the fate of his daughters.

A few weeks later he hears that Anne and Margot are both dead. Only then does Miep give him Anne’s diary. She has kept it safe since the family’s arrest.

Otto Frank and the four helpers, August 1945. Back: Johannes Kleiman and Victor Kugler. Front: Miep Gies, Otto Frank and Bep Voskuijl.

The diary is published

After much deliberation, Otto Frank decides to have Anne’s diary published. At first, it is difficult to find a publisher. Otto shows the diary to several people. One of them is historian Jan Romein.

He writes an article about it for the national newspaper 'Het Parool' of 3 April 1946. The article attracts the attention of the publishing company Contact. It decides to publish the diary. 'Het Achterhuis' is published on 25 June 1947. Anne’s dream of becoming a writer comes true after her death.

The publication of the English edition 'Anne Frank: The Diary of a Young Girl' in 1952 makes Anne’s diary famous. It is adapted for the theater by two American dramatists in 1955. The play becomes a huge success on Broadway.

In 1959, the play is made into a film with Milly Perkins playing Anne Frank.

From hiding place to museum

The success of the diary creates an interest in Anne Frank’s hiding place. Soon, people come by wanting to see the secret annex and they are shown around by the Opekta employees. In 1955, the company moves. Because the building is in a dilapidated state, there are plans for demolition but thanks to the efforts of prominent Amsterdam citizens, it is saved. Together with Otto Frank they establish the Anne Frank House and the museum is opened to the public on 3 May 1960.

A group of American students from Scarsdale visits the Anne Frank House in 1961.

In 1953, Otto Frank marries Fritzi Markovits and they move to Switzerland. His daughter’s diary continues to play an important role in his life. He receives thousands of letters from readers from all over the world. Fritzi and Otto reply to them. Otto dies in 1980.

Ever since the opening in 1960 the Anne Frank House has attracted large numbers of visitors. During the mid-nineties, a new building is constructed on the corner of Prinsengracht and Westermarkt in order to cope with the ever-growing public interest. Nowadays, the museum welcomes over one million visitors a year.

Below are the last moving images of Miep Gies in the museum: she is arranging some personal documents right before the opening of the new museum route in 1999.

Miep Gies is one of the helpers of the people in hiding.

For those who are unable to visit the museum in Amsterdam, the Anne Frank House has created the Secret Annex Online, a 3D version of the wartime hiding place.

The Anne Frank House is an independent organization entrusted with the care of the Secret Annex, the place where Anne Frank was hiding during World War II and where she wrote her diary. The Foundation  brings her life story to the attention of people all over the world to encourage them to reflect on the dangers of antisemitism, racism and discrimination and the importance of freedom, equal rights, and democracy.

The background to this exhibit shows a wall in Anne Frank's room in the secret annex on which she pasted many different pictures.

Credits: Story

This exhibit has been created by the Anne Frank House
in Amsterdam. — For more information, visit http://www.annefrank.org. 

Diary quotes Anne Frank: —
Anne Frank: The Diary of a Young Girl : the definitive edition. Ed. by Otto H. Frank and Mirjam Pressler; transl. by Susan Massotty. — Copyright © The Anne Frank - Fonds, Basle, Switzerland, 1991, 2001
English translation of the diary — Copyright © Doubleday, a division of Random House, Inc. 1995, 2001

Credits: All media
The story featured may in some cases have been created by an independent third party and may not always represent the views of the institutions, listed below, who have supplied the content.
Home
Explore
Nearby
Profile