La révolution roumaine, retransmise en direct

TVR, The Romanian Public Broadcaster

"Les armes ne peuvent pas détruire les âmes, ni briser les idéaux"
Le roi Michel 1er de Roumanie, dans une déclaration à Radio Free Europe
La tour de télévision nationale pendant la révolution roumaine
Déclaration de l'état d'urgence

Les opérations de l'armée n'ayant pas permis d'arrêter les mouvements anti-communistes à Timișoara, Nicolae Ceaușescu décida de déclarer l'état d'urgence dans tout le pays.

Le 22 décembre, la première émission de la chaîne de télévision roumaine commença à 10 h 51, avec la diffusion de l'hymne national ("Trei culori" – Trois couleurs). Immédiatement après, le présentateur George Marinescu lut à l'antenne le décret présidentiel déclarant l'état d'urgence national.

Selon ce document, toutes les unités militaires devaient se tenir prêtes à intervenir, les regroupements publics étaient interdits et les rassemblements de plus de cinq personnes prohibés, ainsi que tout déplacement de nuit, après 23 heures.

"Les classes ouvrières doivent protéger tout ce qui a été acquis : la souveraineté et l'indépendance du pays" (Décret présidentiel de Nicolae Ceaușescu)

La première révolution retransmise en direct

Manifestants dans la cour de la chaîne de télévision nationale

Le premier groupe de manifestants atteignit le siège de la chaîne de télévision nationale, Televiziunea Română, vers 11 heures. Ils demandèrent à la direction de diffuser des informations sur les protestations dans le pays.

Le directeur de la chaîne commença par rejeter leur demande mais après négotiation, des représentants de la chaîne promirent qu'une station d'amplification serait installée dans la cour. Ils finirent par mettre en place le Studio 4, qui devait retransmettre pour la première fois en direct une révolution.

À 12 h 47, avec la Rhapsodie roumaine de George Enescu en fond sonore, les révolutionnaires et l'équipe de télévision furent filmés alors qu'ils achevaient les derniers préparatifs dans le Studio 4 avant de passer à l'antenne.

Avant le premier direct de la Televiziunea Română Liberă

"Nous avons gagné !"

Première émission télévisée en direct

Studio 4 passa à l'antenne à 12 h 51. L'acteur Ion Caramitru et le poète Mircea Dinescu furent les premiers à prendre la parole. "Mes frères, par la grâce de Dieu, nous sommes actuellement dans les studios de la télévision," commença par dire Ion Caramitru, en faisant le signe de croix.

Il remercia l'armée, les étudiants, les personnes à ses côtés ainsi que les "milliers et milliers de Roumains et d'étrangers qui nous ont guidés".

"Nous devons faire preuve de patience. Nous avons attendu 25 ans, nous pouvons bien attendre quelques minutes de plus. Le peuple a gagné !" (Mircea Dinescu)

Le poète Mircea Dinescu annonça qu'un programme et qu'une annonce devant la nation étaient en cours de préparation. Il appela au calme et à la sagesse. "Assez de sang a été versé", continua-t-il.

Les manifestants envahissent la cour intérieure de la chaîne de télévision nationale

Pendant la révolution, les décisions importantes étaient prises dans trois lieux principaux. Le premier était le siège de la chaîne de télévision, grâce à laquelle les Roumains pouvaient suivre le déroulement des événements et depuis laquelle les personnages clés émettaient leurs messages en direct. Le deuxième lieu-clé était le siège du Comité central du Parti communiste roumain, où les bases du futur régime furent jetées. Le troisième était le siège du ministère de la Défense nationale, qui à l'époque coordonnait les opérations militaires.

La télévision devint le moyen de communication des révolutionnaires. Les dissidents, anciens communistes, acteurs ou politiciens mineurs du Parti communiste qui souhaitaient prouver leur dévotion au nouveau mouvement dans le pays, s'exprimaient depuis les studios de télévision.

Certains considéraient leur apparition télévisée comme un moyen de "laver leurs péchés" ou de profiter du vide de pouvoir laissé par le renversement du régime. Leurs paroles, ainsi que les nouvelles annoncées par les présentateurs de télévision, accroissaient souvent le sentiment de panique et d'insécurité du peuple.

Des généraux et des représentants de plusieurs structures de l'armée se rendirent sur les plateaux de télévision et lancèrent plusieurs appels au cessez-le feu.

Ils ordonnèrent le retrait de toutes les troupes militaires du pays et demandèrent aux soldats de se préparer à d'éventuelles attaques de groupes terroristes ou pro-Ceaușescu.

Le Studio 5 diffusa l'annonce officielle du chef d'état-major, le général Ștefan Gușă, à toutes les unités militaires du pays. "Toutes les unités et sous-unités doivent regagner leurs casernes. Personne n'est autorisé, en aucune circonstance, à ouvrir le feu sur des civils. Notre pays a besoin de paix et de calme." déclara-t-il.

Un père et son fils, dans la cour de la chaîne de télévision nationale

"Toutes les unités militaires dans les casernes doivent rester vigilantes et se tenir prêtes à contre-attaquer ou opposer une forte résistance à ceux qui tenteraient de porter atteinte à la nouvelle orientation politique, sociale et démocratique de notre pays."

"J'appelle également les commandants des opérations en cours dans toutes les garnisons militaires, notamment dans la garnison Sibiu, à entrer en contact avec les forces populaires et à prendre des mesures urgentes pour mettre un terme à toutes les opérations militaires ou autres opérations à caractère violent dès que possible, car elles sont vraiment inutiles."

Le général Mihai Chiţac, commandant de la garnison de Bucarest

"Il est plus facile de tuer Ceaușescu que de changer le système." (Dan Petrescu, 26/27 janvier 1988, quotidien Libération)

La première page de l'ancien journal communiste Scînteia ("L'étincelle")

"Notre journal va paraître aujourd'hui, dans quelques heures, dans une nouvelle édition spéciale qui se veut l'expression patriotique et véritable du peuple."

"Scînteia" était auparavant la voix officielle du Parti communiste roumain. Lancé en 1931, le quotidien fut imprimé illégalement jusqu'en 1944, année où il devint la voix des nouvelles structures au pouvoir dans le pays. Le 22 décembre 1989, son nom fut changé en "Scânteia poporului" ("L'étincelle du peuple") et dans les années 1990 il devint "Adevărul" ("La vérité"), nom sous lequel il continue à paraître aujourd'hui.

L'annonce de la fuite de Ceaușescu et de sa femme

Les discours diffusés en direct depuis les plateaux de télévision jouaient un rôle important pendant la révolution. Ils permettaient de tenir le peuple informé du déroulement des événements à Bucarest et dans d'autres villes. La télévision devint un moyen de communication privilégié.

Parallèlement, la télévision amplifia également la confusion ambiante. Personne ne vérifiait l'exactitude des informations fournies par les présentateurs, augmentant ainsi la panique et l'inquiétude du peuple. Des rumeurs (présentées comme des "appels urgents" et des "communications importantes") contribuèrent à semer le chaos dans le pays et causèrent la mort de nombreux innocents.

 

Une de ces rumeurs annoncées à la télévision affirmait que l'eau potable dans plusieurs villes du pays avait été empoisonnée par des forces terroristes. Cette information fut lue par le présentateur Teodor Brateș, qui annonça également que les terroristes avaient fait exploser la réserve de la banque de sang de l'hôpital Fundeni de Bucarest.

Devant la caméra, le lieutenant-colonel Marius Oprean lança un appel aux industriels du secteur agroalimentaire : "Prévoyez en grande quantité des stocks d'eau minérale en bouteilles, de bière et de vins à faible teneur en alcool. Ne buvez en aucun cas l'eau du robinet."

Petre Popescu, un autre présentateur, annonça qu'il existait un aéroport secret à Pietroaia, destination vers laquelle les Ceaușescu étaient supposés se rendre. "Des citoyens des environs ont signalé une activité suspecte dans le secteur (...) Il semblerait que le couple se dirige vers cette zone", continua-t-il.

Lors d'une autre intervention, Teodor Brateș affirma que des boissons alcoolisées étaient offertes au peuple dans les bars de Bucarest afin qu'ils soient assez saouls pour commettre des actes de vandalisme. "Restons un peuple digne et ne nous enivrons pas. Soyons uniquement ivres de liberté", conclut-il.

Les présentateurs de la télévision roumaine s'adressèrent aux soldats roumains et leur demandèrent d'utiliser leurs armes pour défendre leur pays, sans attendre les ordres de leurs supérieurs. "Que les chars aillent démolir les bâtiments qui abritent ces criminels", demanda Brateș, tandis qu'un autre présentateur fit passer le message suivant : "désormais, c'est le peuple qui vous donne les ordres, arrêtez d'attendre des ordres de vos commandants, peut-être trop contraints par la dictature."

"Un convoi blindé motorisé se dirige vers Pitești pour occuper les installations atomiques, la raffinerie, les réservoirs de cyanure et le barrage de Curtea de Argeș ! Si ces sites passent entre leurs mains, la ville de Pitești risque d'être rayée de la carte !" (Le révolutionnaire Cazimir Ionescu)

Dan Marin, ancien champion du monde, accusé d'être un terroriste par des manifestants

La crainte de possibles attaques par les groupes terroristes ou pro-Ceaușescu augmentant, des gens du peuple ou de simples manifestants furent assimilés à des "terroristes". Ancien champion du monde et membre de l'équipe nationale de handball, Dan Marin fut capturé par des révolutionnaires et accusé d'être un terroriste. Ils le passèrent à tabac et l'amenèrent dans les studios de la télévision afin qu'il admette les "crimes" qu'il avait commis contre le peuple roumain.

Les accusations portées contre le régime communiste étaient jugées en direct devant les téléspectateurs, les personnes présentes dans le studio jouant le rôle de juges au nom du peuple. La télévision était devenue un tribunal improvisé. Lors de son premier discours, Ion Iliescu porta plainte contre les Ceaușescu, annonçant qu'ils feraient l'objet d'un "jugement clair et lucide, à l'issue d'un procès méthodique". La même idée fut reprise par les généraux de l'armée fraîchement réintégrés.

Manifestants rassemblés à l'extérieur des studios de la télévision nationale

À cette époque, la télévision était devenue un tribunal improvisé. Le moment où Nicu Ceaușescu, le plus jeune fils des Ceaușescu, fut amené dans le studio en est un parfait exemple. Le soir du 22 décembre, il fut placé devant les caméras du Studio 4, pour être "présenté" au peuple roumain. Nicu Ceauşescu avait été intercepté par un groupe de soldats alors qu'il rentrait de Sibiu. La voiture qui le transportait vers le centre-ville avait été attaquée par un groupe de manifestants et Nicu, poignardé au thorax. En face des caméras il fut présenté comme le "petit prince" et accusé de kidnapper des enfants.

Nicu Ceauşescu, fils de Nicolae et Elena Ceaușescu, capturé par des manifestants
Premier discours en direct d'Ion Iliescu, futur président de Roumanie

Le 22 décembre à midi, Ion Iliescu fit sa première déclaration. Dans son discours, il assura aux Roumains qu'il avait le soutien de l'armée. "À l'heure actuelle, la situation est quasiment sous contrôle. J'étais au téléphone il y a 20 minutes avec le général Victor Stănculescu. Il est au siège du ministère de la Défense nationale, il a émis l'ordre de retrait pour les troupes qui se trouvaient dans la ville avec ordre de tirer et a rappelé un convoi armé qui se dirigeait de Pitesti vers Bucarest", indiqua-t-il.

Il annonça également que le soir même, une autorité temporaire appelée le Front de salut national serait présentée au peuple.

Il lança également un appel au calme et à l'ordre : "Nous devons désormais faire preuve de maturité, afin de pouvoir nous réorganiser sur des bases démocratiques", continua-t-il.

Le Front de salut national nouvellement créé appelle au cessez-le-feu

Un membre du Conseil du Front de salut national récemment créé lut une annonce officielle appelant au cessez-le-feu "immédiat" dans le pays. "Quiconque enfreindrait cet ordre serait considéré coupable de crimes contre le peuple roumain (...) Évitons de faire couler plus de sang," conclut-il. Plus tard, les représentants du Conseil du Front de salut national demandèrent au peuple de rapporter les armes qu'il avait reçues au cours des derniers jours, et Iliescu pria les Roumains de collaborer avec les autorités locales, afin de mettre fin au chaos et aux troubles.

Manifestants dans la cour de la chaîne de télévision nationale

"Le Front de salut national a pour objectif de restaurer la démocratie, la liberté et la dignité du peuple. À l'heure où je vous parle, toutes les structures de pouvoir du clan Ceaușescu sont dissoutes." (Premier discours en direct d'Ion Iliescu)

Ion Iliescu lut la première annonce officielle du Conseil du Front de salut national, le nouvel organisme chargé de la transition du régime communiste au régime démocratique. Le Conseil du Front de salut national comptait initialement 40 membres, dont des dissidents roumains, des officiers de l'armée, des écrivains, etc. Par la suite, certains d'entre eux quittèrent le conseil lorsqu'il eut vocation à devenir un parti politique.

Iliescu annonça les premiers éléments à l'ordre du jour du Conseil du Front de salut national. Le pays s'appellerait Roumanie (pendant le régime communiste il portait officiellement le nom de République socialiste de Roumanie) ; il n'y aurait plus un parti unique mais "un système de gouvernement démocratique pluraliste". Le Conseil du Front de salut national organiserait les premières élections libres en avril 1990.

Scènes de combat armé sur le boulevard Primăverii, à proximité du siège de la télévision nationale

Après la fuite des Ceaușescu, une série de rumeurs et d'informations non vérifiées relatives à des contre-attaques terroristes se répandit dans le pays.

Les confrontations avec ces "forces non identifiées" commencèrent au soir du 22 décembre. Le ministre de la Défense envoya des troupes protéger les bâtiments les plus importants de la capitale, dont le siège de la télévision.

Le 23 décembre, le siège de la télévision fut attaqué et les émissions interrompues pendant un court moment.

Afin de mieux se représenter le chaos qui régnait et le manque de cohérence dans la communication entre les institutions de l'époque, nous pouvons évoquer les cas du Musée et de la Bibliothèque centrale de l'université de Bucarest. L'armée lança un assaut contre ces bâtiments, pensant que des troupes terroristes se cachaient à l'intérieur.

Le résultat fut la destruction de nombreuses œuvres d'art et de près de 500 000 livres, dont beaucoup étaient considérés comme faisant partie de l'héritage national roumain.

Les victimes :

Il y avait 129 victimes avant le 22 décembre. 747 personnes supplémentaires moururent après cette date. Cette information émane de l'Institut de la révolution roumaine de décembre 1989.

"L'humanité s'incline devant la grandeur du peuple roumain."

The Independent, citation de l'agence de presse Agerpres

Crédits : histoire

Editor contributor — George Gurescu
Editor contributor — Monica Paula Coman
Editor contributor — Alina Conţeanu
Editor contributor — Lina Vdovîi
Editor arhive — Mihai Ciobanu
Operator film 16 mm — Carmen
Drăghici

Documentare foto — Irina Bartolomeu
Editor foto/video — Silviu Panaite
Coordonator proiect — Dorian Stoica

Remerciements : tous les supports
Il peut arriver que l'histoire présentée ait été créée par un tiers indépendant et qu'elle ne reflète pas toujours la ligne directrice des institutions, répertoriées ci-dessous, qui ont fourni le contenu.
Traduire avec Google
Accueil
Explorer
À proximité
Profil

The Romanian Revolution, broadcast live

TVR, The Romanian Public Broadcaster

"Guns cannot crush souls, they cannot destroy ideals"
King Michael of Romania, in a statement on Radio Free Europe
The National Television Tower during the Romanian Revolution
Declaring a state of emergency

As the actions of the army had failed to stop the anti-Communist movements in Timișoara, Nicolae Ceaușescu decided to declare a nationwide state of emergency.

On December 22, the first broadcast of the Romanian television broadcaster began at 10:51, with the airing of the national anthem ("Trei culori" – Three colors). Immediately afterwards, TV anchor George Marinescu read out the "Presidential decree on the declaration of a nationwide state of emergency".

According to this document, all army units would be put on standby, public gatherings would be forbidden and gatherings of more than five people would be prohibited, as well as all movement at night, after 23:00.

"The working classes must protect everything that has been achieved: the sovereignty and independence of the country" (Nicolae Ceaușescu's presidential decree)

The first revolution to be broadcast live

Protesters in the courtyard of the national television broadcaster

The first group of protesters reached the headquarters of the national television broadcaster, Televiziunea Română, at around 11 am. They asked the management to broadcast information about the status of the protests in the country.

Initially, the director of the network rejected their request but after a series of talks, representatives from the broadcaster promised that an amplification station would be set up in the courtyard. In the end, they set up Studio 4 for the first live broadcast of a revolution.

At 12:47 pm, with George Enescu's Romanian Rhapsody playing in the background, the revolutionaries and television staff were filmed as they made the final preparations in Studio 4 before going on air.

Before the first live broadcast of the Free Television

"We have won!"

The first live television broadcast.

Studio 4 went on air at 12:51 pm. Actor Ion Caramitru and poet Mircea Dinescu were the first to speak. "Brothers, by the grace of God (making the sign of the cross), we are now in the studios of the television," Ion Caramitru said first.

He thanked the army, the students, the people around him and the other "thousands and thousands of Romanians and other nationalities who have led us".

"We must have patience. We have waited for 25 years, we can wait a few more minutes. The People have won!" (Mircea Dinescu)

Poet Mircea Dinescu announced that a program and a proclamation to the nation were being worked on. He appealed for calm and wisdom. "Enough blood has been shed," Dinescu continued.

Protesters fill up the inner courtyard of the national television broadcaster

There were three main areas where decisions were taken during the revolution. One of them was television, through which Romanians learned about the development of events and where the main protagonists issued orders live. The second "hot spot" was the headquarters of the Central Committee of the Romanian Communist Party, where the first steps were drawn up to shape the future power. The third was the headquarters of the Ministry of National Defense, which coordinated the military actions at that time.

Television was transformed into the communication channel of the revolutionaries. Dissidents, former communists, actors, or lower-ranking politicians from the Communist Party, who wanted to show their devotion to the new movement in the country, would give talks from the television studios.

Some of them considered their TV appearances as a way to "wash away their sins" or a way to profit from the power void that was formed once the regime was overthrown. Their words, along with the breaking news issued by the television anchors, often led to an increased feeling of panic and lack of safety among the people.

Generals and representatives of various army structures made their way to the television studios and made public appeals to all parties for a cease-fire.

They ordered the withdrawal of all military troops from the country and asked soldiers to be prepared for possible attacks by pro-Ceaușescu and terrorist troops.

TV Studio 5 broadcast the official announcement by Chief of General Staff, General Ștefan Gușă, to all military units in the country. "All units and subunits are to go back to their barracks. Under no circumstances is anyone to open fire against civilians. We need peace and clam in our country," General Gușă says.

Father and son, in the courtyard of the national television broadcaster

"All military units inside their barracks should remain vigilant and should at all times be ready for a counterstrike or a strong riposte against those that would attempt to hurt the new political, social, democratic orientation of our country."

"At the same time, I appeal to all military garrison commanders of ongoing operations, especially to Sibiu Garrison and others, to contact the popular forces and take urgent steps to terminate all military or other operations of a violent nature as soon as possible, because these operations are truly useless."

(Commander of the Bucharest Garrison, General Chiţac Mihai)

"It is easier to kill Ceaușescu than it is to change the system." (Dan Petrescu, January 26/27, 1988, Liberation daily)

The first page of the former Communist newspaper Scânteia ("The Spark")

"Our newspaper will come out today, in a few hours, in a new special edition, as a patriotic and true expression of the people."

"Scânteia" used to be the official voice of the Romanian Communist Party. Launched in 1931, the daily newspaper had been printed illegally until 1944, when it became the voice of the new power structures in the country. On December 22, 1989, the newspaper changed its name to " Scânteia poporului" ("People's Spark"), and in the 1990s it changed to "Adevărul" ("The Truth"), which is still in print today.

The breaking news that Ceaușescu and his wife had fled

The live talks given in the television studios played an important role during the Revolution. They would give people the latest information about the unfolding events in Bucharest and in their cities. Television became a functional communication channel.

At the same time, television also caused information chaos. No one was verifying the accuracy of the information issued by television presenters, and they contributed to an increase in panic and disquiet among the general people. Rumors – presented as "urgent calls" and "important communications" – extended the chaos in the country and led to the loss of many innocent lives.

 

One such rumor announced on TV was the "news item" that drinking water in various cities across the country had been poisoned by terrorist forces. This information was read out by the presenter Teodor Brateș, who also announced that the blood bank reserve of the Fundeni Hospital in Bucharest had been blown up by terrorists.

Lieutenant colonel Marius Oprean stated in front of the camera: "Make available (Editor's note: he was addressing the food industry manufacturers) large quantities of bottled mineral water, beer and low-alcohol wines. Do not drink any kind of tap water."

Petre Popescu, another presenter, says that there was a secret airport in Pietroaia, the place where the Ceaușescus were supposedly heading towards. "Citizens in the neighboring areas have signaled some sort of activity there (...) It appears that the couple could be heading that way," he continued.

In another speech, Teodor Brateș said that people were being given free drinks in Bucharest bars to get drunk and subsequently carry out acts of vandalism. "Let us keep our dignity as people and not get drunk. Let us only get drunk by drinking from the cup of freedom," Brateș says.

Romanian television presenters address Romanian soldiers and tell them to use their weapons to defend their country, without waiting for orders form their superiors. "Let the tanks go and tear down the buildings these criminals are in," Brateș says, while another presenter gives the message: "the people are now giving you orders, stop waiting for orders from commanders who may be too constrained by the dictatorship."

"A motorized armored convoy is heading towads Pitești to occupy the atomic assets, the refinery, the cyanide pools, the dam at Curtea de Argeș! Once these assets fall, the city of Pitești may very well be wiped off the map!" (Revolutionary Cazimir Ionescu)

Dan Marin, former world champion, accused by protesters of being a terrorist

As the fear of possible attacks by pro-Ceaușescu and terrorist troops grew, common people or simple protesters were being confused with "terrorists". Former world champion and member of the national handball team, Dan Marin was captured by revolutionaries and accused of being a terrorist. They beat him up and brought him to the television studios to admit the "crimes" he had committed against the Romanian people.

The charges made against the Communist regime were being tried live, in front of all the viewers, and those present in the studio would become judges on behalf of the people. Television had become an ad-hoc court. In his first talk, Ion Iliescu pressed charges against the Ceaușescus, stating that they would be subject to "clear, lucid judgment, on the basis of an orderly trial". The same idea is reiterated by the newly reinstated generals of the army.

Protesters gather outside the national television studios

In those days, television had become an ad-hoc court. This "function" is best exemplified by the moment when Nicu Ceaușescu, the youngest son of the Ceaușescus, was brought into the studio. On the evening of December 22, he was brought in front of the Studio 4 cameras, to be "presented" to the Romanian people. Nicu Ceauşescu was caught by a group of soldiers while he was returning from Sibiu. The car that was transporting him towards the city center was attacked by a group of protesters and Nicu was stabbed in the thorax. In front of the cameras he was presented as the "little prince" and accused of kidnapping children.

Nicu Ceauşescu, the son of Nicolae and Elena Ceaușescu, caught by protesters
The first live speech given by Ion Iliescu, the future President of Romania

On December 22, at noon, Ion Iliescu made his first statement. During his speech, he assured Romanians that he had the support of the army. "Right now the situation is somewhat under control. I spoke on the phone 20 minutes ago with General Victor Stănculescu. He is at the headquarters of the Ministry of National Defense, he has issued the withdrawal order for the troops that were in the city with orders to fire, and he called back an armed convoy that had been ordered to come from Pitești to Bucharest," Iliescu said.

He also said that during the same evening, a temporary authority called the National Salvation Front would be presented to the people.

He also made an appeal for calm and order: "We must prove our maturity in these times, so as to be able to reorganize ourselves on democratic grounds," Iliescu continued.

The newly created National Salvation Front appeals to everyone to cease fire

A member of the newly created Council of the National Salvation Front read an official announcement which appealed for an "immediate" cease-fire in the country. "Anyone violating this order shall be found guilty of crimes against the Romanian people (...) Let us prevent further bloodshed," he says. Afterwards, the representatives of the Council of the National Salvation Front asked the people to return all the weapons they had received over the course of the last few days, and Iliescu asked Romanians to collaborate with local authorities, to stop the chaos and social disorder.

Protesters in the courtyard of the national television broadcaster

"The purpose of the National Salvation Front is to restore democracy, freedom and the dignity of the people. As of this moment, all the power structures of the Ceaușescu clan are hereby dissolved." (Ion Iliescu's first live talk)

Ion Iliescu read the first official announcement of the Council of the National Salvation Front, the new body in charge of transitioning from a communist to a democratic regime. The Council of the National Salvation Front would initially have 40 members; including Romanian dissidents, army officers, writers, etc. Later, some of these would leave the Council of the National Salvation Front after the council was intended to become a political party.

Iliescu announced the first items on the agenda of the Council of the National Salvation Front. The country shall be named Romania (during the Communist regime it officially bore the name of The Socialist Republic of Romania); there will no longer be a single state party, but "a pluralist democratic system of government". The Council of the National Salvation Front would organize the first free elections in April 1990.

Armed combat scenes on Primăverii Boulevard, next to the national television headquarters

After the Ceaușescus had fled, a series of rumors and unverified information about terrorist counterattacks were disseminated in the country.

The confrontations with these "unidentified forces" began on the evening of December 22. The Ministry of Defense sent troops to protect the most important buildings in the capital, including the television headquarters.

On December 23, the television headquarters were attacked and broadcasts cut off for a brief period of time.

In order to show what happened amidst the chaos and lack of coherent communication between the institutions of that time, we can elaborate on the case of the Museum of Art and that of the Central Library of the University of Bucharest. The army began an assault on these buildings thinking that there were terrorist troops hiding inside.

The result: numerous works of art and almost 500,000 books were destroyed, many of which were considered to be a part of Romania's national heritage.

Victims:

Before December 22, there were 129 victims, and afterwards another 747 people died. This information comes from the Romanian Revolution Institute of December 1989.

"Humanity bows before the greatness of the Romanian people"

The Independent, quote from the Agerpres news agency

Credits: Story

Editor contributor — George Gurescu
Editor contributor — Monica Paula Coman
Editor contributor — Alina Conţeanu
Editor contributor — Lina Vdovîi
Editor arhive — Mihai Ciobanu
Operator film 16 mm — Carmen
Drăghici

Documentare foto — Irina Bartolomeu
Editor foto/video — Silviu Panaite
Coordonator proiect — Dorian Stoica

Credits: All media
The story featured may in some cases have been created by an independent third party and may not always represent the views of the institutions, listed below, who have supplied the content.
Translate with Google
Home
Explore
Nearby
Profile