羅馬尼亞革命 - 現場直播

TVR, The Romanian Public Broadcaster

「槍砲無法征服靈魂,更不能摧毀理想」
羅馬尼亞國王米哈伊一世透過「自由歐洲電台」發表了上述聲明
羅馬尼亞革命期間的國家電視塔
宣佈進入緊急狀態

由於軍事行動無法制止在蒂米什瓦拉展開的反共運動,壽西斯古決定宣佈進入全國性的緊急狀態。

12 月 22 日上午 10 點 51 分,羅馬尼亞電視台發出第一次的廣播,在播放國歌 (「Trei culori」原文為「三色」之意) 之後,立即由電視主播 George Marinescu 宣讀:「總統下令宣佈進入全國緊急狀態。」

根據這份文件,所有的部隊都必須隨時待命出動、禁止所有公眾集會及五人以上的集會,以及 23:00 以後的所有夜間活動。

「勞動階級必須保護所有現有的成果:國家的主權與獨立」(壽西斯古的總統令)

第一個現場直播的革命運動

國家電視台庭院中的示威群眾

在上午 11 點左右,第一批示威群眾抵達國家電視台 Televiziunea Română 的總部大樓。他們要求電視台的管理階層播送國內目前的示威狀況。

起初電視台主管拒絕他們的要求,但在經過一連串會商之後,電視台代表答應在電視台庭院設置轉播站。最後他們開設了「第四攝影棚」(Studio 4),進行革命運動的第一次現場直播。

下午 12 點 47 分,革命份子和電視台人員正在進行「第四攝影棚」正式放送之前的最後準備,背景播放著 George Enescu 的「羅馬尼亞狂想曲」,這段畫面被攝錄了下來。

自由電視台第一次現場直播之前

「我們贏了!」

第一次電視現場直播。

「第四攝影棚」於下午 12 點 51 分時開始播送。演員 Ion Caramitru 和詩人 Mircea Dinescu 是首先發言的人。「同胞們,感謝上帝的恩典 (做出畫十字的動作),我們目前身在電視台的攝影棚內,」Ion Caramitru 第一個開口。

他感謝軍隊、學生、他身邊的人以及其他「成千上萬的羅馬尼亞人和引導我們的其他國籍人士。」

「我們必須要有耐心。我們已經等了 25 年,不在乎再多等幾分鐘。人民已贏得勝利!」(Mircea Dinescu)

詩人 Mircea Dinescu 宣佈他們正在擬定行動計劃以及對全體國民的公告。 他呼籲大家冷靜並運用智慧。「人民流的血已經夠多了。」Dinescu 繼續說道。

示威群眾擠滿國家電視台的內庭

革命期間的重要決策幾乎都在三個主要場所進行。其中一個就是電視台,透過現場直播,羅馬尼亞人可獲知事件的發展狀況,它同時也是革命領導者發佈即時命令的管道。第二個「熱點」就是羅馬尼亞共產黨的中央委員會總部,未來的政治權力形成都是從這裡開始。第三個場所則是國防部的總部,這是當時同時軍事行動的場所。

電視似乎已經變成革命份子的通訊管道。無論是異議份子、前共產黨員、演員或共產黨內的低階政治人物,這些想要向國內新政治運動輸誠的人都在電視台攝影棚內發表談話。

其中部分人士認為在電視上現身是一種「洗淨罪惡」的方式,或者當舊政權遭到推翻時能立即從權力真空的情勢中獲利。然而,他們的談話以及電視主播發佈的即時新聞,通常只會增加人們的驚慌與不安。

來自各軍方各階層的將軍和代表設法來到電視台攝影棚,並公開呼籲各方停火。

他們下令將所有部隊從國內戰場撤出,並要求士兵做好準備,以隨時抵抗來自效忠壽西斯古的軍隊和恐怖份子的可能攻擊。

電視台「第五攝影棚」(Studio 5) 播送了參謀總長 Ștefan Gușă 將軍向全國所有軍事單位的正式宣告。 Ștefan Gușă 將軍表示:「所有的單位和次級單位應立即回營。在任何情況下,任何人都不准向平民開火。我們的國家需要和平與冷靜。」

國家電視台庭院中的一對父子

「軍營內的所有軍事單位應保持警覺,並隨時準備對那些試圖傷害國家新政治、社會、民主方向的各種勢力進行反擊或猛烈還擊。」

「在此同時,我呼籲所有駐地指揮官,尤其是錫比烏和其他駐軍持續保持警戒,並與民眾力量繼續進行連繫及採取緊急措施,以盡快終止所有軍事或其他暴力性質的行動,因為這些行動沒有任何用處。」

(布加勒斯特衛戍區指揮官,Chiţac Mihai 將軍)

「要殺壽西斯古簡單,困難的是改變這個體制。」(摘自《解放日報》1988 年 1 月 26/27日,作者:Dan Petrescu)

前共黨報紙 Scînteia (「火花」之意) 的頭版

「我們的報紙將在今天,也就是幾小時之後以新的特別版出刊,它不但是一份愛國的報紙,更表達人民真正的聲音。」

「Scânteia」過去是羅馬尼亞共產黨的官方傳聲筒,這份報紙在 1931 年創刊,直到 1944 年成為國內新權力結構的宣傳工具之前,它還是一份非法發行的日報。 1989 年 12 月 22 日,這份報紙更名為「Scînteia poporului」(「人民的火花」),並在 1990 年代改名為「Adevărul」(「真理」),直到今天仍持續發行。

即時新聞播報壽西斯古與其妻脫逃的消息

在電視台攝影棚發表的即時演說在革命期間扮演了重要的角色。透過轉播,人民得以獲知與布加勒斯特以及其所在城市所有發展事件有關的最新消息。電視已成為最重要的通訊管道。

在此同時,電視也造成了資訊的混亂。沒有人針對電視主播所發佈的消息進行驗證,因而加深了一般民眾的恐慌與不安。以「緊急呼籲」和「重要訊息」形式所發佈的謠言擴大了國內的混亂,更導致許多無辜生命的喪失。

 

在電視上宣佈的這類謠言其中一則是「新聞報導」,內容報導恐怖勢力已經在國內各城市的飲用水中下毒。 這則消息是由主播 Teodor Brateș 所宣讀,此外他還宣佈布加勒斯特 Fundeni 醫院的儲備血庫已被恐怖分子炸毀。

Marius Oprean 中校在鏡頭面前呼籲:「請提供 (編按:他呼籲的對象是食品製造商) 大量的瓶裝礦泉水、啤酒和低酒精的葡萄酒。千萬不要喝自來水。」

另一名主播 Petre Popescu 表示在 Pietroaia 有座秘密機場,壽西斯古很可能將逃往該處。「鄰近區域的民眾表示這個地方有一些活動的跡象 (...),似乎這對夫妻正朝這個方向前進。」他繼續說道。

Teodor Brateș 另外還發布了一則消息,他表示有人在布加勒斯特的酒吧免費提供酒類,好讓人們在喝醉後大肆破壞。「讓我們保持做為一個人的尊嚴,不要讓自己喝醉。讓我們只因飲下自由之酒而醉 。」Brateș 說道。

羅馬尼亞電視主播呼籲羅馬尼亞軍人拿起他們的武器來捍衛國家,而不要只是等待他們的長官發布命令。Brateș 說道:「開著坦克前進吧,推倒藏匿這些罪犯的建築物!」另一名主持人則附和道:「現在人民要對你們下令,別再等待指揮官的命令,因為他們可能已被獨裁者限制了行動。」

「有一支機動化裝甲部隊正朝著 Pitești 前進,目的是佔領原子能設施、煉油廠、氰化池以及位於 Curtea de Argeș 的水壩!如果這些設施被破壞,Pitești 這座城市很可能將從地圖上消失!」(革命份子 Cazimir Ionescu)

前世界冠軍 Dan Marin 被示威者指控為恐怖份子

由於有越來越多人害怕遭到擁護壽西斯古的軍隊以及恐怖份子的攻擊,常有人將一般民眾或示威者誤認為是「恐怖份子」。曾獲得世界冠軍的手球國家代表隊成員 Dan Marin 就遭到革命份子逮捕,並指控他是恐怖份子。他們毆打他,並把他帶到電視攝影棚,要求他承認對羅馬尼亞人民犯下的「罪行」。

電視不斷地向所有觀眾播送著對於共黨政權的控訴,而那些出現在攝影棚的人也就成為代表人民進行審判的法官。電視此時已成為特別設置的法庭。揚‧伊利埃斯庫 (Ion Iliescu) 在他首次發表的談話中指控壽西斯古家族,他表示將「依照有秩序的審判程序做出清楚及明晰的判決」。而那些剛復職的軍方將領們也重申同樣的見解。

示威群眾聚集在國家電視台外

在那段時間,電視似乎已變成臨時法庭。當壽西斯古最小的兒子 Nicu Ceaușescu 被帶到攝影棚的那一刻,電視的這項「功能」得到最有力的印證。12 月 22 日傍晚,他被帶到「第四攝影棚」的鏡頭前以「面對」羅馬尼亞人民。 Nicu Ceauşescu 在從錫比烏返回途中遭到一群士兵的逮捕。當載送他的車輛朝著市中心方向前進時遭到一群示威者的攻擊,Nicu 的胸部也被刺傷。 隨後他以「小王子」的身分被帶到鏡頭面前,並以綁架兒童的罪名遭到控訴。

示威人士抓到了壽西斯古和埃列娜的兒子 Nicu Ceauşescu
未來的羅馬尼亞總統揚‧伊利埃斯庫首次發表即時談話

12 月 22 日中午,伊利埃斯庫發表了他的首次聲明。在他的演說中,他向羅馬尼亞人民保證他已獲得軍方的支持。「現在情勢已稍微獲得控制。我在 20 分鐘前與 Victor Stănculescu 將軍通過電話,他目前正在國防部的總部,並向那些在城內奉命開火的軍隊下達撤退的命令,同時召回一支從 Pitești 開往布加勒斯特的裝甲部隊。」伊利埃斯庫說道。

他還表示,在當天晚上,人民將會看到一個稱為「救國陣線」(National Salvation Front) 的臨時政權成立。

他同時呼籲人民保持冷靜和秩序:「我們必須在這段時間內展現成熟度,以證明我們具有民主素養。」他繼續說道。

新成立的救國陣線呼籲所有人停火

新成立的救國陣線委員會其中一名成員宣讀了一份正式公告,呼籲全國「立即」停火。他說道:「任何違反此一命令的人都將以反對羅馬尼亞人民的罪名定罪 (...) 讓我們合力阻止更多的流血衝突。」隨後,救國陣線委員會的代表要求人民繳回在這幾天取得的所有武器,伊利埃斯庫也要求羅馬尼亞人民與當地政府合作停止動亂並恢復社會秩序。

國家電視台庭院中的示威群眾

「救國陣線的目的是恢復民主、自由以及人民的尊嚴。我在此宣佈壽西斯古家族的所有權力結構都已瓦解。」(伊利埃斯庫的首次直播演說)

伊利埃斯庫宣讀了救國陣線委員會的首篇正式公告,該政權同時擔負起從共產主義轉移到民主體制的責任。救國陣線委員會起初有 40 名成員;當中包括羅馬尼亞異議份子、軍官、作家等等。在救國陣線委員會試圖轉型為政黨時,其中部分成員會離開該委員會。

伊利埃斯庫隨後宣布了救國陣線委員會的第一個議程。這個國家將命名為「羅馬尼亞」(在共產黨統治期間,其正式國名為「羅馬尼亞社會主義共和國」);從此該國不再屬於單一政黨體制,而是「多黨制民主政府制度」。該委員會還會規劃在 1990 年 4 月首次舉行的自由選舉。

在國家電視台總部旁 Primăverii Boulevard 發生的武裝衝突場面

在壽西斯古脫逃之後,國內就散播著一連串的謠言以及未經證實的恐怖份子反擊消息。

12 月 22 日傍晚,軍方展開了與這些「不明武裝勢力」之間的對抗。國防部派出軍隊保護首都中包括電視台總部在內的重要建築物。

12 月 23 日,電視台總部遭到攻擊,使得節目的播送暫停一段時間。

如要描述當時的局勢有多混亂,以及機構之間的通訊是如何缺乏一致性,美術館以及布加勒斯特大學附設中央圖書館會是最好的例子。當時軍方認為有恐怖份子藏匿在內,因此開始針對這些建築物展開攻擊。

結果:眾多的藝術品和大約 50 萬冊的書籍遭到破壞,當中有許多作品和書籍都是羅馬尼亞的國家遺產。

罹難者:

在 12 月 22 日之前共有 129 人罹難,之後另有 747 人死亡。這份資料來自羅馬尼亞革命組織 1989 年 12 月的統計結果。

「在偉大的羅馬尼亞人民面前,人性也將屈服。」

引用自 Agerpres 新聞通訊社的《The Independent》

故事協力單位/參與人員

Editor contributor — George Gurescu
Editor contributor — Monica Paula Coman
Editor contributor — Alina Conţeanu
Editor contributor — Lina Vdovîi
Editor arhive — Mihai Ciobanu
Operator film 16 mm — Carmen
Drăghici

Documentare foto — Irina Bartolomeu
Editor foto/video — Silviu Panaite
Coordonator proiect — Dorian Stoica

所有媒體協力單位/參與人員
在某些情況下,精選故事可能是由獨立的第三方製作,並不代表下列展覽機構的意見與觀點。
使用 Google 進行翻譯
首頁
探索
附近
簡介

The Romanian Revolution, broadcast live

TVR, The Romanian Public Broadcaster

"Guns cannot crush souls, they cannot destroy ideals"
King Michael of Romania, in a statement on Radio Free Europe
The National Television Tower during the Romanian Revolution
Declaring a state of emergency

As the actions of the army had failed to stop the anti-Communist movements in Timișoara, Nicolae Ceaușescu decided to declare a nationwide state of emergency.

On December 22, the first broadcast of the Romanian television broadcaster began at 10:51, with the airing of the national anthem ("Trei culori" – Three colors). Immediately afterwards, TV anchor George Marinescu read out the "Presidential decree on the declaration of a nationwide state of emergency".

According to this document, all army units would be put on standby, public gatherings would be forbidden and gatherings of more than five people would be prohibited, as well as all movement at night, after 23:00.

"The working classes must protect everything that has been achieved: the sovereignty and independence of the country" (Nicolae Ceaușescu's presidential decree)

The first revolution to be broadcast live

Protesters in the courtyard of the national television broadcaster

The first group of protesters reached the headquarters of the national television broadcaster, Televiziunea Română, at around 11 am. They asked the management to broadcast information about the status of the protests in the country.

Initially, the director of the network rejected their request but after a series of talks, representatives from the broadcaster promised that an amplification station would be set up in the courtyard. In the end, they set up Studio 4 for the first live broadcast of a revolution.

At 12:47 pm, with George Enescu's Romanian Rhapsody playing in the background, the revolutionaries and television staff were filmed as they made the final preparations in Studio 4 before going on air.

Before the first live broadcast of the Free Television

"We have won!"

The first live television broadcast.

Studio 4 went on air at 12:51 pm. Actor Ion Caramitru and poet Mircea Dinescu were the first to speak. "Brothers, by the grace of God (making the sign of the cross), we are now in the studios of the television," Ion Caramitru said first.

He thanked the army, the students, the people around him and the other "thousands and thousands of Romanians and other nationalities who have led us".

"We must have patience. We have waited for 25 years, we can wait a few more minutes. The People have won!" (Mircea Dinescu)

Poet Mircea Dinescu announced that a program and a proclamation to the nation were being worked on. He appealed for calm and wisdom. "Enough blood has been shed," Dinescu continued.

Protesters fill up the inner courtyard of the national television broadcaster

There were three main areas where decisions were taken during the revolution. One of them was television, through which Romanians learned about the development of events and where the main protagonists issued orders live. The second "hot spot" was the headquarters of the Central Committee of the Romanian Communist Party, where the first steps were drawn up to shape the future power. The third was the headquarters of the Ministry of National Defense, which coordinated the military actions at that time.

Television was transformed into the communication channel of the revolutionaries. Dissidents, former communists, actors, or lower-ranking politicians from the Communist Party, who wanted to show their devotion to the new movement in the country, would give talks from the television studios.

Some of them considered their TV appearances as a way to "wash away their sins" or a way to profit from the power void that was formed once the regime was overthrown. Their words, along with the breaking news issued by the television anchors, often led to an increased feeling of panic and lack of safety among the people.

Generals and representatives of various army structures made their way to the television studios and made public appeals to all parties for a cease-fire.

They ordered the withdrawal of all military troops from the country and asked soldiers to be prepared for possible attacks by pro-Ceaușescu and terrorist troops.

TV Studio 5 broadcast the official announcement by Chief of General Staff, General Ștefan Gușă, to all military units in the country. "All units and subunits are to go back to their barracks. Under no circumstances is anyone to open fire against civilians. We need peace and clam in our country," General Gușă says.

Father and son, in the courtyard of the national television broadcaster

"All military units inside their barracks should remain vigilant and should at all times be ready for a counterstrike or a strong riposte against those that would attempt to hurt the new political, social, democratic orientation of our country."

"At the same time, I appeal to all military garrison commanders of ongoing operations, especially to Sibiu Garrison and others, to contact the popular forces and take urgent steps to terminate all military or other operations of a violent nature as soon as possible, because these operations are truly useless."

(Commander of the Bucharest Garrison, General Chiţac Mihai)

"It is easier to kill Ceaușescu than it is to change the system." (Dan Petrescu, January 26/27, 1988, Liberation daily)

The first page of the former Communist newspaper Scânteia ("The Spark")

"Our newspaper will come out today, in a few hours, in a new special edition, as a patriotic and true expression of the people."

"Scânteia" used to be the official voice of the Romanian Communist Party. Launched in 1931, the daily newspaper had been printed illegally until 1944, when it became the voice of the new power structures in the country. On December 22, 1989, the newspaper changed its name to " Scânteia poporului" ("People's Spark"), and in the 1990s it changed to "Adevărul" ("The Truth"), which is still in print today.

The breaking news that Ceaușescu and his wife had fled

The live talks given in the television studios played an important role during the Revolution. They would give people the latest information about the unfolding events in Bucharest and in their cities. Television became a functional communication channel.

At the same time, television also caused information chaos. No one was verifying the accuracy of the information issued by television presenters, and they contributed to an increase in panic and disquiet among the general people. Rumors – presented as "urgent calls" and "important communications" – extended the chaos in the country and led to the loss of many innocent lives.

 

One such rumor announced on TV was the "news item" that drinking water in various cities across the country had been poisoned by terrorist forces. This information was read out by the presenter Teodor Brateș, who also announced that the blood bank reserve of the Fundeni Hospital in Bucharest had been blown up by terrorists.

Lieutenant colonel Marius Oprean stated in front of the camera: "Make available (Editor's note: he was addressing the food industry manufacturers) large quantities of bottled mineral water, beer and low-alcohol wines. Do not drink any kind of tap water."

Petre Popescu, another presenter, says that there was a secret airport in Pietroaia, the place where the Ceaușescus were supposedly heading towards. "Citizens in the neighboring areas have signaled some sort of activity there (...) It appears that the couple could be heading that way," he continued.

In another speech, Teodor Brateș said that people were being given free drinks in Bucharest bars to get drunk and subsequently carry out acts of vandalism. "Let us keep our dignity as people and not get drunk. Let us only get drunk by drinking from the cup of freedom," Brateș says.

Romanian television presenters address Romanian soldiers and tell them to use their weapons to defend their country, without waiting for orders form their superiors. "Let the tanks go and tear down the buildings these criminals are in," Brateș says, while another presenter gives the message: "the people are now giving you orders, stop waiting for orders from commanders who may be too constrained by the dictatorship."

"A motorized armored convoy is heading towads Pitești to occupy the atomic assets, the refinery, the cyanide pools, the dam at Curtea de Argeș! Once these assets fall, the city of Pitești may very well be wiped off the map!" (Revolutionary Cazimir Ionescu)

Dan Marin, former world champion, accused by protesters of being a terrorist

As the fear of possible attacks by pro-Ceaușescu and terrorist troops grew, common people or simple protesters were being confused with "terrorists". Former world champion and member of the national handball team, Dan Marin was captured by revolutionaries and accused of being a terrorist. They beat him up and brought him to the television studios to admit the "crimes" he had committed against the Romanian people.

The charges made against the Communist regime were being tried live, in front of all the viewers, and those present in the studio would become judges on behalf of the people. Television had become an ad-hoc court. In his first talk, Ion Iliescu pressed charges against the Ceaușescus, stating that they would be subject to "clear, lucid judgment, on the basis of an orderly trial". The same idea is reiterated by the newly reinstated generals of the army.

Protesters gather outside the national television studios

In those days, television had become an ad-hoc court. This "function" is best exemplified by the moment when Nicu Ceaușescu, the youngest son of the Ceaușescus, was brought into the studio. On the evening of December 22, he was brought in front of the Studio 4 cameras, to be "presented" to the Romanian people. Nicu Ceauşescu was caught by a group of soldiers while he was returning from Sibiu. The car that was transporting him towards the city center was attacked by a group of protesters and Nicu was stabbed in the thorax. In front of the cameras he was presented as the "little prince" and accused of kidnapping children.

Nicu Ceauşescu, the son of Nicolae and Elena Ceaușescu, caught by protesters
The first live speech given by Ion Iliescu, the future President of Romania

On December 22, at noon, Ion Iliescu made his first statement. During his speech, he assured Romanians that he had the support of the army. "Right now the situation is somewhat under control. I spoke on the phone 20 minutes ago with General Victor Stănculescu. He is at the headquarters of the Ministry of National Defense, he has issued the withdrawal order for the troops that were in the city with orders to fire, and he called back an armed convoy that had been ordered to come from Pitești to Bucharest," Iliescu said.

He also said that during the same evening, a temporary authority called the National Salvation Front would be presented to the people.

He also made an appeal for calm and order: "We must prove our maturity in these times, so as to be able to reorganize ourselves on democratic grounds," Iliescu continued.

The newly created National Salvation Front appeals to everyone to cease fire

A member of the newly created Council of the National Salvation Front read an official announcement which appealed for an "immediate" cease-fire in the country. "Anyone violating this order shall be found guilty of crimes against the Romanian people (...) Let us prevent further bloodshed," he says. Afterwards, the representatives of the Council of the National Salvation Front asked the people to return all the weapons they had received over the course of the last few days, and Iliescu asked Romanians to collaborate with local authorities, to stop the chaos and social disorder.

Protesters in the courtyard of the national television broadcaster

"The purpose of the National Salvation Front is to restore democracy, freedom and the dignity of the people. As of this moment, all the power structures of the Ceaușescu clan are hereby dissolved." (Ion Iliescu's first live talk)

Ion Iliescu read the first official announcement of the Council of the National Salvation Front, the new body in charge of transitioning from a communist to a democratic regime. The Council of the National Salvation Front would initially have 40 members; including Romanian dissidents, army officers, writers, etc. Later, some of these would leave the Council of the National Salvation Front after the council was intended to become a political party.

Iliescu announced the first items on the agenda of the Council of the National Salvation Front. The country shall be named Romania (during the Communist regime it officially bore the name of The Socialist Republic of Romania); there will no longer be a single state party, but "a pluralist democratic system of government". The Council of the National Salvation Front would organize the first free elections in April 1990.

Armed combat scenes on Primăverii Boulevard, next to the national television headquarters

After the Ceaușescus had fled, a series of rumors and unverified information about terrorist counterattacks were disseminated in the country.

The confrontations with these "unidentified forces" began on the evening of December 22. The Ministry of Defense sent troops to protect the most important buildings in the capital, including the television headquarters.

On December 23, the television headquarters were attacked and broadcasts cut off for a brief period of time.

In order to show what happened amidst the chaos and lack of coherent communication between the institutions of that time, we can elaborate on the case of the Museum of Art and that of the Central Library of the University of Bucharest. The army began an assault on these buildings thinking that there were terrorist troops hiding inside.

The result: numerous works of art and almost 500,000 books were destroyed, many of which were considered to be a part of Romania's national heritage.

Victims:

Before December 22, there were 129 victims, and afterwards another 747 people died. This information comes from the Romanian Revolution Institute of December 1989.

"Humanity bows before the greatness of the Romanian people"

The Independent, quote from the Agerpres news agency

Credits: Story

Editor contributor — George Gurescu
Editor contributor — Monica Paula Coman
Editor contributor — Alina Conţeanu
Editor contributor — Lina Vdovîi
Editor arhive — Mihai Ciobanu
Operator film 16 mm — Carmen
Drăghici

Documentare foto — Irina Bartolomeu
Editor foto/video — Silviu Panaite
Coordonator proiect — Dorian Stoica

Credits: All media
The story featured may in some cases have been created by an independent third party and may not always represent the views of the institutions, listed below, who have supplied the content.
Translate with Google
Home
Explore
Nearby
Profile