The Jordan Historical Museum of the Twenty was one of the few museums in Canada established prior to the Centennial Celebrations of 1967, enjoying the unique position of establishing itself as a pioneer museum. Seven years after the museum’s inception in 1953, the Jordan Historical Museum continued to prosper with the addition of the Fry House on the Museum site. Later that same decade, the Museum would see the establishment of the annual Pioneer Day, an iconic festival, that continues to bring its nostalgic representation of the past into the present.
The Museum continued its operations through the 1970s, not veering much from its early traditional roots until in the 1980s when Jordan Wines closed and subsequently removed its financial backing for the Museum. The 1859 stone School House and the 1815 Fry House were officially designated as properties “of architectural and historical value” under the Ontario Heritage Act in 1988.
In 1996 the Town of Lincoln acquired ownership of the Museum from the Volunteer Trustees.
In 2017, the Museum is temporarily relocated to Beamsville making way for the construction of a new Interpretive Centre on the existing Museum site in Jordan. While in transition, the institution was rebranded to better holistically amalgamate all the Township histories. Today, the Town of Lincoln Museum and Cultural Centre represents an ever-expanding, rich cultural mosaic of its people and their histories.