Commemorative Medal: 50 Year Athletic Club of Campo de Ourique (Caco), 1922-1972


National Sports Museum - IPDJ

National Sports Museum - IPDJ
Lisboa, Portugal

The club was founded in December 1922 under the name of Cunha Foot-Ball Club, because the club's first partner was called Joaquim Cunha and the club's headquarters was located in the store that he owned, on Campo de Ourique . Caco's first activities were cycling and football. In the 1930s volleyball, basketball, roller hockey, gymnastics, shooting, skating and a boxing section. In the late 1950s, a handball section was created and, in 1974, the judo entered.
In cycling, the club won an important palmés in the 1920s, 1930s and 1940s, where the figures of Quirino de Oliveira, João Francisco, José Marquez, and, in 1935, the Vi Volta team to Portugal stand out . In addition to the sports results Caco was the organizer of Volta to Portugal in 1940 and 1941.
The ring for the practice of roller hockey was inaugurated in December 1939, and the activity became the former libris of Caco, with a first victory in 1951 (Lisbon champion of 1st division), the winning of the title of champion National in 1954 and the Teresa Herrera Trophy (former European Champions Cup) in 1955. Also in handball were good sports results, highlighting, in the years 1982 and 1983, in the conquest of two Portuguese cups and an equalizer by the team female.


Get the app

Explore museums and play with Art Transfer, Pocket Galleries, Art Selfie, and more

Flash this QR Code to get the app
Google apps