Loading

RJR Pottery (1950-1956) Dr. Bruce Rigg (R)

Niagara-on-the-Lake Museum

Niagara-on-the-Lake Museum
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada

Founded by three friends, the RJR Pottery not only featured Niagara-on-the-Lake buildings and landscapes, but it was also made locally at 17 Prideaux Street. Dr. Bruce Rigg, Mary Jones and Bill Richardson were the founding members. Each had their own occupations and saw this project as more of a hobby. With conflicting schedules, they would often complete the various steps of a project separately and leave notes for the next person to continue the process.
Each tile was the one and only of its kind, which was very appealing. Most pieces were made of red Niagara clay; however, some were created with blank white commercial tiles made by H&R Johnson Ltd. England. They were decorated by RJR and then fired. The result was a crisper image which was different than those made from Niagara clay.
When Bill moved away, the RJR logo was no longer used. However, Dr. Rigg and his wife, Betty, did continue creating tiles until 1964 using the logo B+B for Bruce and Betty.

Bruce was a local physician who, through his knowledge of chemistry, created the early coloured glazes that produced the unique muted tones of RJR Pottery. He often prepared the raw clay for shaping and firing, turning plates and bowls on their homemade potter’s wheel. He also decorated several pieces.

Details

  • Title: RJR Pottery (1950-1956) Dr. Bruce Rigg (R)

Additional Items

Get the app

Explore museums and play with Art Transfer, Pocket Galleries, Art Selfie, and more

Google apps