San Salvador

San Salvador is the capital and the largest city of El Salvador and its eponymous department. It is the country's political, cultural, educational and financial center. The Metropolitan Area of San Salvador, which comprises the capital itself and 13 of its municipalities, has a population of 2,404,097.
San Salvador is an important financial hub of Central America. The city is home to the Concejo de Ministros de El Salvador, La Asamblea Legislativa, the Corte Suprema de Justicia, and other governmental institutions, as well as the official residence of the president of the Republic. San Salvador is located in the Salvadoran highlands, surrounded by volcanoes and prone to earthquakes. The city is also home to the Catholic Archdiocese, as well as many Protestant branches of Christianity, including Evangelicals, Latter-day Saints, Baptists, and Pentecostals. San Salvador has the second largest Jewish community in Central America and a small Muslim community.
San Salvador has been the host city for various regional and international sporting, political, and social events.
Show lessRead more

Discover this place

17 items

Google apps