Акции протеста в Соуэто

Africa Media Online

День, когда наши дети потеряли надежду

16 июня 1976 года почти 20 тыс. школьников в поселении Соуэто (Йоханнесбург) вышли на улицы, чтобы выразить протест против введения в местных школах обучения на языке африкаанс, который многие считали языком поработителей. Декрет от 1974 года о введении африкаанса во всех школах для темнокожих предполагал равное с английским использование этого языка в системе обучения.

16 июня молодые люди собрались на стадионе "Орландо", чтобы принять участие в акции протеста, которая была организована Комитетом действий Совета учащихся Соуэто. Протест поддержали и многие учителя, когда Комитет действий призвал участников к порядку.

Когда началось шествие, учащиеся подняли вверх плакаты с надписями "Долой африкаанс", "Да здравствует Азания" и "Если мы должны говорить на африкаанс, пусть Форстер учит зулу". Внезапно обнаружилось, что дорогу митингующим преграждает полицейская баррикада. Лидеры Комитета попросили участников не провоцировать стражей порядка, и шествие свернуло на другую дорогу, закончившись у средней школы Орландо.

Ситуация вышла из-под контроля, когда полиция спустила на учащихся собак, которых те до смерти забросали камнями. Тогда полиция открыла огонь по детям. В тот день были убиты 176 человек. Протесты захлестнули и другие районы страны.

13-летнего Гектора Петерсена (Hector Petersen), которого одним из первых застрелила полиция во время демонстрации в Соуэто, несет на руках Мбуиса Макхубо (Mbuyisa Makhubo). Знаменитая фотография, сделанная репортером Сэмом Нзимой (Sam Nzima). 
Музей Гектора Петерсона в Соуэто. Восстание в этом городе послужило спусковым крючком гражданского конфликта не только в Южной Африке, но и за ее пределами. В память об этих событиях 16 июня по всей стране отмечается Национальный день молодежи.
Авторы истории

Photographic Archive — Baileys African History Archive
Photographer — Graeme Williams / South Photographs
Photographer — David Goldblatt / South Photographs
Photographer — Motlhalefi Mahlabe / South Photographs
Text — Baileys African History Archive and Africa Media Online

Участники: все работы
Некоторые истории создаются независимыми авторами и не всегда отражают позицию организаций, предоставивших материалы.
Перевести с помощью Google
Главная
Обзор
Что рядом
Профиль

The day our children lost faith

On June 16, 1976, an estimated 20,000 children from schools in the township of Soweto in Johannesburg, took to the streets to protest the introduction of Afrikaans as a language of instruction in local schools. Afrikaans was seen by many as the language of the oppressor.  The Afrikaans Medium Decree of 1974 forced all black schools to use Afrikaans and English in a 50-50 mix as languages of instruction.

On June 16 learners gathered at Orlando Stadium in a protest organised by the Soweto Students’ Representative Council’s (SSRC) Action Committee. The protest was supposed to be peaceful and many teachers supported it after the Action Committee emphasized discipline.

When the march began, learners marched carrying signs "Down with Afrikaans", "Viva Azania" and "If we must do Afrikaans, Vorster must do Zulu". They found that their route had been barred by police. The leaders of the Action Committee asked marchers not to provoke the police and the march continued on another route, eventually ending up near Orlando High School.

The confrontation between learners and police got out of hand when police released dogs onto the crowd who responded by stoning the dogs to death. Police then began to open fire on the children. Over 176 people were killed that day. Protests quickly spread to townships all over the country.

The image of Hector Petersen (13), who was one of the first children shot dead by apartheid police during the Soweto Uprising, being carried by Mbuyisa Makhubo, has became an iconic image of this day.  The photo was taken by news photographer, Sam Nzima. 
Hector Pieterson Museum in Soweto.  The Soweto Riots, or Soweto Uprising as it is now known, galvanized resistance to apartheid both within and without South Africa. June the 16th is commemorated in South Africa as National Youth Day.
Credits: Story

Photographic Archive — Baileys African History Archive
Photographer — Graeme Williams / South Photographs
Photographer — David Goldblatt / South Photographs
Photographer — Motlhalefi Mahlabe / South Photographs
Text — Baileys African History Archive and Africa Media Online

Credits: All media
The story featured may in some cases have been created by an independent third party and may not always represent the views of the institutions, listed below, who have supplied the content.
Translate with Google
Home
Explore
Nearby
Profile