1912 – 1993

Закон о земле 1913 года

Africa Media Online

Устранение "черных точек"

Закон о земле 1913 года, который запрещал темнокожим покупать либо арендовать землю в "белых" районах, был одним из краеугольных камней апартеида. Он повлек за собой дальнейшее разграничение прав белых и черных людей, в том числе в отношении земли.

Чтобы воплотить эту норму в жизнь, правительство предприняло меры по устранению темнокожих из районов, предназначенных для белых.

Дом в Вальспане, где власти апартеида практиковали насильственный снос. Жителям не разрешалось ремонтировать свои дома, они могли претендовать лишь на те услуги, без которых нельзя было обойтись. Правительство позже назвало эту местность трущобами. Число на двери означает, что выселение постоянное.
Господин Квале (Cwaile), активист из Вальспан, рядом с домом. В Вальспане власти апартеида практиковали насильственный снос. Жителям не разрешалось ремонтировать свои дома, они могли претендовать лишь на те услуги, без которых нельзя было обойтись. Правительство позже назвало эту местность трущобами. Число на двери означает, что выселение постоянное.
Женщина штукатурит стены грязью. Власти признали Даггакраал "черной точкой" и в дальнейшем уничтожили. Ремонт дома – это попытка предотвратить снос.
Исполнитель народных песен Тинки (Tinkie) с Джилл (Jill), членом женской организации "Чёрный пояс". Матопиестад был процветающей фермой, которую власти апартеида квалифицировали как "черную точку" и в дальнейшем снесли.
Снос в Софиятауне. Перемещение. Первые шестьдесят семей из Софиятауна (Йоханнесбург), которым приказали покинуть дома и переехать в Мидоулэндс. "Согласно Закону о переселении по национальному признаку от 1954 г. вы должны освободить помещения, в которых проживаете".
Сопротивление переселению
Полиция смотрит на переселенцев, чьи дома были разрушены. Мидранд, 1991 г.
Сборы и переезд
Туалеты рядом с колючим кустарником. Насильственно перемещенным лицам иногда давали палатки. Туалеты, впрочем, предоставлялись всегда. Длинные ряды кабинок в пустынной местности говорили о том, что здесь находятся переселенцы.
Снос зданий в шестом районе Кейптауна
Бетти Накона (Betty Nakona), насильственно перемещенная, со своими пожитками на новом месте. Ботшабело, 1987 г.
Брошены! Беестеркрааль был районом для насильственно перемещенных. Им выделяли палатки и туалеты. Сюда высылали и работников ферм.
Женщина по фамилии Хлатсвайо (Hlatswayo) во время строительства нового дома в Дрифонтейне. Дрифонтейн был областью, названной правительством апартеида "черной точкой". Работники ферм, которых переселили из мест рядом с фермами белокожих людей, осели в Дрифонтейне. Тимоти Хлатсвайо (Timothy Hlatswayo) получил травмы, когда перевернулся трактор, который вез рабочих. Фермер отказался брать на себя ответственность за этот инцидент и прогнал работника.
Нас не сломить! Невзгоды укрепляли дух африканцев.
Авторы истории

Photographer — Gille de Vlieg / South Photographs
Photographer — Paul Weinberg / South Photographs
Photographer — Paul Grendon / South Photographs
Photographer — Graeme Williams / South Photographs
Photographer — Cedric Nunn
Photographic Archive — Baileys African History Archive
Photographer — Paul Alberts / South Photographs
Photographer — Guy Tillim /  South Photographs

Участники: все работы
Некоторые истории создаются независимыми авторами и не всегда отражают позицию организаций, предоставивших материалы.
Перевести с помощью Google
Главная
Обзор
Что рядом
Профиль

1912 - 1993

1913 Land act

Africa Media Online

The removal of "black spots"

The 1913 Land Act prohibited "black" people from buying or renting land in areas designated as "white".  This legislation was one of the cornerstones of apartheid and paved the way for further legislation restricting the rights of black people and their ownership of land.  

In order to fulfill this legislation the government took measures to forcibly remove black people from areas set aside for white people.

Home in Valspan, an area threatened by apartheid forced removals. The residents were not allowed to repair their homes, and only very basic services were provided. The Apartheid government then designated the area a 'slum'. The number on the door indicates that removal is immanent
Mr Cwaile, Valspan activist, outside his home. Valspan was an area threatened by apartheid forced removals. The residents were not allowed to repair their homes and only very basic services were provided. The apartheid government then designated the area a 'slum'. The number on the door indicates that removal is immanent.
Woman plastering walls with mud. Daggakraal was an area deemed a 'black spot' by the apartheid government and was threatened with forced removal. Maintaining the home was seen as resistance to removal.
Tinkie, a praise singer, with Jill, a member of Black Sash. Mathopiestad was a productive farming area deemed a 'black spot' by the apartheid Government and threatened by forced removal.
Sophiatown Removals - The Move - The first sixty families in Sophiatown, Johannesburg, have been given orders to leave their houses, and have been offered accomodation in the new location in Meadowlands. "You are hereby required in terms of the Native Resetlement Act 1954 to vacate the premises in which you are residing..."
Resistance to removals
Police watch squatters whose homes have been demolished.  Midrand: 1991
Loading up and moving
Toilets and thorn bushes. People who were forcibly removed by the apartheid government, were sometimes given tents. Toilets, however, were always available. The sight of rows of toilets in desolate areas would indicate immanent forced removals.
Buildings in Cape Town's District Six being demolished
Betty Nakona dumped with her possessions in a resettlement area. Botshabelo: 1987
Dumped! Beestekraal was a 'dumping ground' for those forcibly removed under the aparheid system. They were given tents and toilets. Farmworkers evicted from farms also were sent here.
Mrs Hlatswayo, building a new home in Driefontein. Driefontein was an area deemed a 'black spot' by the apartheid government. Farmworkers who were evicted from neighbouring white owned farms were given refuge in Driefontein. Mr Timothy Hlatswayo had been injured when the tractor driving farmworkers home, overturned. The farmer refused to accept responsibility for the accident, and evicted him from the farm.
Making the most of being forcibly removed. The resilient spirit of Africa.
Credits: Story

Photographer — Gille de Vlieg / South Photographs
Photographer — Paul Weinberg / South Photographs
Photographer — Paul Grendon / South Photographs
Photographer — Graeme Williams / South Photographs
Photographer — Cedric Nunn
Photographic Archive — Baileys African History Archive
Photographer — Paul Alberts / South Photographs
Photographer — Guy Tillim /  South Photographs

Credits: All media
The story featured may in some cases have been created by an independent third party and may not always represent the views of the institutions, listed below, who have supplied the content.
Translate with Google
Home
Explore
Nearby
Profile