A Museum Built in 1640

By Unit Pengelola Museum Seni

Museum Wayang building was originally one of the most important church building in Java Island that was built in 1640 - during Dutch colonial era- by the name of de Oude Kerk Holandsche.

The building was renovated and extended in 1730s . The church was then renamed into De Nieuwe Hollandse Kerk .

In 1939, a foundation called Stichting Oud Batavia turned the building into a Museum named Oude Bataviasche Museum. 

After Indonesian independence the building is kept as a Museum for Wayang in 1975.

Credits: All media
The story featured may in some cases have been created by an independent third party and may not always represent the views of the institutions, listed below, who have supplied the content.
Explore more
Related theme
Wayang Shadow Puppets
Style, epic stories, and surprises in the world of Indonesian wayang
View theme
Google apps