Colombia, officially the Republic of Colombia, is a country in South America with territories in North America. Colombia is bounded on the north by the Caribbean Sea, the northwest by Panama, the south by Ecuador and Peru, the east by Venezuela, the southeast by Brazil, and the west by the Pacific Ocean. It comprises 32 departments and the Capital District of Bogotá, the country's largest city. Urban centres are concentrated in the Andean highlands and the Caribbean coast.
With over 50 million inhabitants, Colombia's rich cultural heritage reflects influences by various Amerindian civilisations, European settlement, forced African labour, and immigration from Europe and the Middle East. Descendants of these groups and mixes between them define the population. Spanish is the official language and the native language of the vast majority of citizens, but over 70 languages are spoken within the country. Roman Catholicism is the majority religion.
Colombia has been inhabited by various indigenous peoples since at least 12,000 BCE, including the Muisca, Quimbaya, and the Tairona.
Show lessRead more

Discover this place

2,584 items

Google apps