The Museum is housed within the old Stamford Township Hall built in 1874. The Lundy's Lane Historical Society was given the building in 1971, becoming the Lundy's Lane Historical Museum. On January 1st, 2010, the City of Niagara Falls took direct operation of the museum and it became Niagara Falls History Museum. Housing a vast collection of Niagara Falls history, the Museum provides a showcase for the unique past of the famous city.
The Museum is located within steps of the Drummond Hill Cemetery, the focal point of the Battle of Lundy's Lane, considered the "bloodiest battle" of the War of 1812. The starting point for any trip to this battlefield will be a visit to the Museum.