The 7 Chakras and Kundalini Energy

The secrets of tapping into one's hidden potentials

The Seven Chakras of Kundalini Energy (2019-06) by Sumit SondThe Yoga Institute

Chakras relate to our Kundalini which in turn is an exemplification of the immense latent potentials within us. There are many means of tapping these hidden potentials (Mantra repetition, Gemstones, yoga asanas, pranayamas, meditation, etc.) All the creations are first conceived in our thoughts and hence our thoughts are seen as the most potent means to tap into our innate potentials.

Our thoughts are the primary source of all creations and hence considered to be the most potent causative factor for the manifestation of all possibilities. Similarly, possession of possibilities without the wisdom to use it sensibly is akin to a monkey wielding a sword; harmful to the self as well as others.

Yoga helps in balancing our emotions, actions and being in control of our thoughts hence is the most efficient and safest route to create a life of Empowerment. Self-confidence, Improved Relationships, Financial Abundance, Vitality, Expressiveness and Physical Health are just some of the manifestations of this Empowerment.

Towards this purpose, the study of each Chakra in context with certain Yoga concepts can help us understand our potentials and motivations in life.

Muladhara Chakra - Root

Muladhara is situated at the base of the spine. It is considered the groundwork of the “energy body”. Yogic systems stress the importance of stabilising this chakra.

The Kundalini awakening originates here. Many describe it as the subtle red Bindu or drop because when activated it exudes a red aura. It is linked with the earth element, the action of excretion and the sense of smell.

Svadhishthana Chakra - Sacral

Svadhishthana is located two finger-widths above the Muladhara chakra, i.e. in front of the body just below the belly button.

It is associated with the reproductive organs (the genitals) and the sense of taste (the tongue). The samskaras lie latent within the Svadhishthana Chakra.

Manipura Chakra - Solar Plexus

The position of Manipura is listed as being behind the navel at the solar plexus region. Chakra Manipura is the epicenter of will-power or “Icha shakti,” verve and accomplishment. It is said to radiate Prana throughout the body.

It is related to the power of fire and digestion and the sense of sight and the act of movement. By meditating on Manipura Chakra, one can achieve the capacity to save or destroy the world.

Anahata Chakra - Heart

Anahata is the seat of the subtle prana or Jivatman (Parashakti.) In the Upanishads, it is described as a small glow inside the heart.

Anahata can make choices outside the realm of karma. It is associated with love, compassion, touch, air and the actions of the hands.

Vishuddha Chakra - Throat

Vishuddha chakra is the purification centre; it is associated with higher discrimination, creativity and self-expression. When it is activated the negative experiences are transformed into wisdom and learning.

It is related to actions of speaking, sense of hearing and the Sky/Akash element or Ether. Meditation upon Vishuddha is said to bring about various siddhis like vision of the three periods, past, present and future; and the ability to transcend the three worlds.

Ajna Chakra - Third Eye

Ajna is considered the third eye of clairvoyance and intellect. This corresponds to the pineal and the pituitary glands located at the centre of the brain directly above the spinal column. When we dream or perceive things, it is in the mind’s eye or Ajna.

Ancient Indian system of education there were many instances where the Guru poured his knowledge in his Shishya or Disciple. This transference or mind communication happened through the connecting bridge - Ajna.

Meditation on Anja is said to bring in many powers being omniscient and realising the unity with Brahma is also mentioned in ancient scriptures.

Sahasrara – Crown of Head

The Sahasrāra is located on the crown of the head. It is compared to a blooming thousand-petalled lotus, Brahmrandhra or the source of divine light (because a mystical light as bright as the sun radiates from it).

It’s also the centre for more profound connection with ourselves and more insightful relationship with a force of life that is greater than ourselves

This chakra represents self-actualization, where the individual is liberated from all karmas and identifies the hidden energy centre within.

Thus, these are the seven chakras of Kundalini energy and the Yoga tinges associated.

Credits: All media
The story featured may in some cases have been created by an independent third party and may not always represent the views of the institutions, listed below, who have supplied the content.
Explore more
Related theme
Stories of Yoga
Exploring the history, culture, and science behind the practice
View theme
Google apps