Editorial Feature

吉姆·凯:为“大难不死的男孩”绘制插图

听插画师讲述他在最新版《哈利·波特》系列小说中的作品

在过去的几年里,插画师吉姆·凯 (Jim Kay) 每周工作 7 天,每天 12 个小时全心专注于以插画形式重塑魔法世界,最终让他荣获大奖。他为布鲁姆斯伯里出版社出版的全新插图版《哈利·波特》系列小说绘制插图,赢得了全世界读者的认可。

第 1 部到第 3 部均已出版,吉姆目前正在努力绘制第 4 部《火焰杯》的插图。吉姆致力于完成所有 7 部小说的插图,在采访他时,我们充分了解到了每张插图中蕴含的细节和激情。他的作品感染了新一代读者,并让老粉丝们意识到 J·K·罗琳在 20 年前创造的魔法世界在现在看来依然如此神奇。

在本次采访中,我们与吉姆聊了聊他的创作过程,以及在为这样一部全球公认的标志性、现象级小说绘制插图的过程中,他经历了什么样的起伏。

您最初是如何参与到《哈利·波特》系列小说的插图创作的?您以前创作过哪些作品?

我的作品并不多。我真正完整创作的第一本图书是《当怪物来敲门》(Monster Calls),这是帕特里克·内斯 (Patrick Ness) 根据莎帆·多德 (Siobhan Dowd) 的构想改编的小说。《哈利·波特》系列的创作机会来得很突然,有一天我接到经纪人打来的电话,她说:“你最好有心理准备,我为你接了《哈利·波特》的插画工作。”她说的不仅仅是封面,而是全部 7 部小说的插图。我觉得,唯一能让人进步的方法就是做一些让自己有点压力的事情,而这份委托无疑是一件让我诚惶诚恐的事情。

吉姆·凯为《阿兹卡班的囚徒》创作的插图,图为书中的鹰头马身有翼兽巴克比克(大英图书馆展品)
吉姆·凯为《密室》创作的插图,图为书中的凤凰(大英图书馆展品)

您如何描述自己的风格?

我觉得自己还没形成什么风格。我在第一本书中采用了散点图方法,因此出现了很多种不同的风格。等我找到(自己的风格)后,生活应该就会变得简单很多,因为每个人都会知道我要做什么。布鲁姆斯伯里出版社一直很有耐心,愿意尝试很多不同的创意。我发现插图创作真的很困难,这是一件非常棘手的工作。

您觉得插图创作有哪些困难?

每天一个人枯坐 12 个小时真的很难受,这让我相当烦躁。还有插图的绘制过程,我从来没有一次性成功过,书中的每个插图背后都有太多失败的作品。有时候会觉得自己根本画不出满意的作品,这种感觉太折磨人了。但是,如果我不一直画下去,就会感觉自己错过了什么。这是我必须要做的,不是凭着直觉去完成,我几乎是逼迫着自己去创作的。

您的作品从美学角度看通常充满了细节。您总是把注意力放在插图的细节上吗?

当我还是个孩子的时候,我读过很多理查德·斯凯瑞 (Richard Scarry) 的书,他是一位极其注重细节的插画师。我从中得到的感悟是,人们喜欢寻找细节中的事物,尤其是孩子。我的画作正是对这种需求的回应,我希望读者在每次阅读时都能发现新的东西。

吉姆·凯为《密室》创作的插图,描绘了哈利·波特和蛇怪(大英图书馆展品)
吉姆·凯绘制的对角巷(大英图书馆展品)

您如何平衡书中描述的内容与您想象的内容?

我肯定会想办法寻找一种平衡,确保不会冒犯到原作者,到目前为止,J·K·罗琳还从没有找过我任何麻烦。这太不可思议了,因为我之前甚至没想过能完成哪怕是对角巷的草图,更别提把它完整地画出来了。在一定程度上,我的工作就是填补空白,充实 J·K·罗琳所创造的宇宙空间。

难题在于需要阅读的文字量非常大。我并不只是一次为一本书画插图,每一本插图的创作都需要我去参考 7 本书的内容。不过,布鲁姆斯伯里出版社目前在这方面相当有经验,他们给我提供了一本哈利·波特“圣经”,我一直在参考这本书。

除了书面文字之外,还有什么能为您提供插图的创作灵感?

我经常去博物馆、图书馆、国家公园之类的地方寻找灵感。我喜欢古老建筑的繁复细节和建筑风格。我还喜欢研究服装,我想更细致地展现魔法世界的着装风格,因为这必须要和麻瓜世界有很大差别才行。

您绘制插图的流程是什么?

我会用一种绘画速记法,我会画一些简单的速写,画出我大概想要的构图。不过,我通常不会完全遵照这个简图来画,一般还会把它进一步完善,而我的做法经常没有规律可言。

我很容易感到厌倦,所以我喜欢不停地变换方法,比如尝试新的颜料。我经常用些奇奇怪怪的颜料,比如把 DIY 时常用的颜料小样跟蜡之类的通常不会与颜料混在一起的东西混用。我还会使用损坏的画笔和其他工具,以让我的作品达到无法预料效果。

吉姆·凯绘制的对角巷(大英图书馆展品)
吉姆·凯为《阿兹卡班的囚徒》创作的插图,图为西弗勒斯·斯内普教授绘制的肖像(大英图书馆展品)

您在每本书上分别花了多少时间?

在开始绘制第 1 本时,我们预计每本书需要 6 个月的时间。结果,我花了 2 年半的时间才完成第一本,而且是每周工作 7 天,每天至少 12 个小时。然后,我们立马开始绘制第 2 本,历时 8 个月完成,因为第 1 本耗费的时间太长,导致时间真的很紧张。在完成第 3 本后,我已经筋疲力尽,都开始产生幻觉了。

第 3 本和第 4 本之间有一段间歇期,这段时间让我能够主观地回顾和反思这个项目。它确实占据了我所有的时间,不过因为想尽力做到最好,所以觉得压力很大。让自己经受这些折磨也是很有意思的经历。

在为这个小说系列绘制封面时,您如何选择要重点呈现的情节细节?

封面非常棘手,因为有太多限制。这几本小说可以合成一部大型作品,而且还要考虑为多语言版本预留标题位置。

最棘手的封面是我目前正在绘制的这本。在《火焰杯》这本书中,哈利经历的三项任务中发生了不可思议的事,但问题是如何把这些都表现在封面上。如何让它们跃然纸上?这需要我们开几次封面研讨会才能确定下来。

目前为止,您觉得这个项目中最难呈现的是什么形象?

一直都是哈利最难画。他是一个来自湖区的小男孩,长相极好,有一张非常独特的面孔。但是,要忠实地呈现书中所描述的样子,落在纸上的效果总是不尽如人意。

另外,每个人都穿着长袍也很难画。这些衣服太宽松了,对我来说简直就是噩梦。恨不得求他们穿一些稍微修身一些的衣服。还有,在绘制人物骑在扫帚上的画面时,会显得很不雅。很难画出人物正儿八经地坐在扫帚上的样子,一碰到要画涉及骑扫帚的插图,我就神经紧张。

吉姆·凯为《密室》创作的插图,描述了哈利·波特和德拉科·马尔福参加魁地奇比赛的情景(大英图书馆展品)
吉姆·凯绘制的飞翔钥匙(大英图书馆展品)

您最喜欢画那个角色或形象?

我喜欢画巨人,尤其是海格。他体型壮实,毛发旺盛,随意涂鸦出来就看起来很有感觉。另外,海格与人类的身材比例就像大人与孩子一样,需要抬着头看他。我还很开心在最近的这本书中可以画四条龙,我花了超级多的时间来设计它们的形象。

书中的人物在不断长大,绘制最初的孩童和现在的青少年有什么不同?

我的画是以我认识的孩子为参考的,他们显然也在成长。用现实中的孩子作为参考的意义在于,我可以把他们随着时间产生的变化描绘出来。

随着这些角色逐渐长大,描绘起来会更加容易。如果你要画 11 岁的儿童,他们脸上没有太多特点可以凸显。他们的皮肤非常光滑干净,没有什么线条。幸运的是,随着年龄的增长。他们的脸会变得更有棱角。我喜欢画棱角分明的青少年。

吉姆·凯为《魔法石》创作的插图,图为书中的九又四分之三站台(大英图书馆展品)
吉姆·凯为《密室》创作的插图,图为书中的阿拉戈(大英图书馆展品)

看到您创作的插图被如此大规模地刊发销售,您有什么感觉?

我尽量试着不去想这些,不然只会让我彻夜难眠。我不能过多地去想这些作品会公开发行,否则心中会产生恐慌。在大英图书馆的展览上,我的素描正在展出,而我从没想过会有人看到这些。我突然在想,说不定我的画还会被未来的人们看到呢!

到目前为止已经出版了 3 本书,您目前正在创作第 4 本,您有没有总结什么实践经验?

我制作了适用于所有书页的各种尺寸的模板。因此,如果我想处理相同尺寸、一半尺寸、三倍尺寸的图画,这些模板都可以帮到我。

其他工作都是同样的流程:抱着一丝恐慌,做出一些些猜想,然后在许多次失败尝试中收获一个成功的作品。我的创作成功率还是相当低的,但我已经开始接受第一次常常失败的事实了。对我来说,目前正在创作的这本书最令人激动,我很想把它画好。

您收到的对您作品的最佳回应是什么?

我收到过几封信,信中说他们的孩子不喜欢阅读,但插图版终于吸引他们开始读书了,所以我真的不能奢求更多了,这对我来说就是极大的荣幸。如果能帮助他人爱上阅读书籍,那我付出的时间、忍受的孤独都是值得的,因为这样就有希望帮助他人开启文学探索的人生。

吉姆·凯为《魔法石》创作的插图,图为书中的曼德拉草(大英图书馆展品)
吉姆·凯为《阿兹卡班的囚徒》创作的插图,图为莱姆斯·卢平教授的肖像(大英图书馆展品)
Words by Rebecca Fulleylove
所有参展内容的来源:
与好友分享此故事
使用 Google 进行翻译
首页
浏览作品
附近
个人资料

Editorial Feature

Jim Kay On Drawing The Boy Who Lived

The illustrator discusses his work on the latest editions of the Harry Potter books

For the last few years award-winning illustrator Jim Kay has spent his time working 12 hours a day, 7 days a week to reimagine the wizarding world in illustrated form. His work is the star of Bloomsbury’s new illustrated editions of the Harry Potter books, which have earned him recognition from all over the world.

With books 1 to 3 published, Jim is currently hard at work on the 4th, The Goblet of Fire. The detail and passion that sits within the pages becomes fully realized when talking to Jim, who is dedicated to finishing all 7 books. He has inspired a new generation of readers through his work, and reminded original fans how truly magical the world J.K. Rowling created 20 years ago still is.

Here we chat to Jim about his creative process and the ups and downs of illustrating such an iconic and globally recognized phenomenon.

How did you first get involved in illustrating the Harry Potter books? What had you previously worked on?

I'd not worked on a great deal. My first real full-length book was Monster Calls, which was by Patrick Ness and based on an idea by Siobhan Dowd. So it really came out of the blue. I got a call from my agent who said: "You'd better be sitting down for this – I've got Harry Potter for you,” and not just the covers, she meant all 7 books. I think the only way you get better is to do things that terrify you a bit and this is without a doubt the most frightening commission you could get.

Drawing of Buckbeak the hippogriff by Jim Kay, for The Prisoner of Azkaban (From the collection of The British Library)
Study for the phoenix by Jim Kay, for The Chamber of Secrets (From the collection of The British Library)

How would you describe your style?

I don't feel like I have a style yet. I've adopted a scattergram approach and lots of different styles appeared in book 1. When I find [my style], it will make life so much easier because everyone will know what I'm going to do. Bloomsbury has been very patient and willing to try a lot of different things. I find illustrating really difficult. It's a really uncomfortable job to do.

What do you find difficult about illustrating?

Sitting on my own all day for 12 hours a day is really difficult – I’m quite fidgety. Also the execution of it – I never get it right straightaway. For every illustration in the book there's way too many that have gone wrong. It's a little soul destroying when it feels like you're just feeding the bin. On the other hand, if I'm not drawing I feel I'm missing something. It's something I have to do, it's not instinctive though, it's almost forced.

Your work is often very detailed in its aesthetic. Have you always focused on the finer points of an illustration?

When I was a child, I read lots of Richard Scarry books who's an illustrator who really embraced detail. The response I've had is that people, especially children, like looking for things. So what I've drawn has been a response to that – I want to give people something to discover on each reading.

Study of Harry Potter and the basilisk by Jim Kay, for The Chamber of Secrets (From the collection of The British Library)
Diagon Alley by Jim Kay (From the collection of The British Library)

How do you balance what's already in the book's text with your imagination?

There is definitely a balancing act in terms of treading on the author's toes, but so far Jo [J.K. Rowling] hasn’t really pulled me up on anything. It’s amazing because I never thought Diagon Alley would even get past the sketch stage. Partly my job is to fill the gaps and expand the east and west of the universe Jo has created.

The challenge is the sheer volume of text you're going through. You're not illustrating just one book at a time, you're referencing 7 continuously. But Bloomsbury is very experienced with that now and has a Potter bible that I refer to all the time.

Aside from the written text, what else provides you with inspiration for the illustrations?

I constantly scour museums, libraries, National Trust properties, everything. I love the paraphernalia of old buildings and architecture. And the costumes as well – I want to show more of what the wizarding world wears because it has to be quite different from the muggle world.

What is your process when working on an illustration?

I've got to a point where I’ve created a drawn shorthand, so I'll draw something in this shorthand and I know it's the composition I want. But I don't often stick to the rough, it usually evolves further, I am very chaotic in the way I do it.

I get bored really easily so I like switching mediums all the time like trying new paints. I often use paints that are awkward to use like tester pots from DIY places mixed with things they shouldn't be mixed with like wax. I also use damaged brushes and other things that make it unpredictable.

Diagon Alley by Jim Kay (From the collection of The British Library)
Portrait of Professor Severus Snape by Jim Kay, for The Prisoner of Azkaban (From the collection of The British Library)

How much time do you spend on each book?

For book 1, we thought it would take 6 months to do each one. It took 2 and a half years to do book 1 – working 7 days a week, at least 12 hours a day. Then we went straight into book 2 and had 8 months, because the first one took so long. It was really intense. By the end of book 3 I was burned out and hallucinating.

The break between book 3 and book 4 has meant I've been able to subjectively step back and reflect on the project. It does occupy every hour of every day, but because you want to do the best you can, there is a lot of pressure. It's funny what you put yourself through.

When working on the covers for the books, how do you choose what details of the plot to focus on?

Covers are very awkward to do, because there’s so many limitations. For these books they fold out into a large composition and there's also multi-language editions that need space for the title.

The trickiest cover is the one I'm working on now. Amazing things happen in the three tasks Harry is set in Goblet of Fire, but it's how they sit on the cover. How do you physically compose them? It's going to take a few cover meetings to get there.

What has been the hardest thing to visualize in the project so far?

It's always Harry, every single time. He's based on a young boy from the Lake District, who is fantastic looking and has a really unusual face. But when you draw that truthfully, it doesn't always look right on the page.

The fact everyone wears robes is also really difficult to draw. They're so loose fitting, everything is a nightmare. You're begging for someone to wear something a bit clingy. Then of course, when you draw people on brooms, it can look very rude. It's very hard sitting someone convincingly on a broom – you just dread broomstick moments.

Study of Harry Potter and Draco Malfoy playing Quidditch by Jim Kay, for The Chamber of Secrets (From the collection of The British Library)
Winged Keys by Jim Kay (From the collection of The British Library)

What's your favorite thing to draw?

I like giants, especially Hagrid. He's heavy and covered in hair so you just scribble and it looks good. Also the proportions of Hagrid to a human is almost like being a child again because you're looking up at him. I'm also really chuffed to have 4 dragons to draw in this latest book – I've spent ages designing them.

The characters are growing up from book to book, what's the difference drawing children initially and now teenagers?

My drawings are based on real models of children I know and they’re obviously growing up too. The whole point of using real children is that I can map the changes over the years.

Drawing [the characters] is more forgiving as they get older. When you’re drawing someone age 11, there's not much to get hold of in their face. They're very clean-skinned and pure with no lines. Luckily as you get older you get a bit more angular. I like drawing the angular, spiky bits of teenagers.

Study of Platform Nine and Three-Quarters by Jim Kay, for The Philosopher's Stone (From the collection of the British Library)
Study of Aragog by Jim Kay, for The Chamber of Secrets (From the collection of The British Library)

What does it feel like to see your illustrations consumed on such a large scale?

I desperately try not to think about it – it's what keeps me up at night if I do. You can't think too much about the fact this stuff is going public, because there'd be too much fear otherwise. In the exhibition at the British Library, my sketches are on show and you never expect anybody to see that part. So suddenly I’m now thinking maybe even my sketches will be seen in the future!

3 books have been published so far and you're currently working on the 4th one – are there any practical lessons you've taken forward?

I've made templates that are in all the dimensions of all the pages. So if I want to work up something the same size, half the size, three times the size, I have all these templates ready made.

Everything else is the same process of mild panic and guess work, trying things that occasionally don't fail. My success rate is still quite low on that, but I've come to accept that I don't get stuff right first time. For me this next book is the most exciting, it's the one I want to get right.

What's the best reaction you've had to your work?

I've had a few letters saying they couldn't get their children to read a book, but the illustrated version has finally got them reading. So I couldn't ask for more really. It's such a privilege. If you help one person engage with books, the hours, the solitude is worth it because you've hopefully helped somebody on a life of literary discovery.

Study of mandrakes by Jim Kay, for The Philosopher's Stone (From the collection of The British Library)
Portrait of Professor Remus Lupin by Jim Kay, for The Prisoner of Azkaban (From the collection of The British Library)
Words by Rebecca Fulleylove
Credits: All media
Share this story with a friend
Translate with Google