Editorial Feature

如何策划一场关于魔法的展览?

探究“哈利·波特:魔法简史”展览策划背后的故事

在大英图书馆举办的这场引人入胜的“哈利·波特:魔法简史”展览重新激发了我们对魔法世界的好奇心。这次展览是为了庆祝 J·K·罗琳的第一部《哈利·波特》小说出版 20 周年,同时让我们穿越回到了魔法和神话故事开端的时代。

展览场地被划分为多个房间,分别展示了霍格沃茨的各个学科,如魔药学、占卜和黑魔法防御术。通过一系列精彩的在线展览,大英图书馆在我们的平台上也分享与这些学科分别对应的故事。

在实物展览中,除了 J·K·罗琳和吉姆·凯 (Jim Kay) 从未公开的原始草稿和画稿外,参观者还可以看到大英图书馆收藏的珍贵书籍、手稿和魔法物品,展现了民间传说和魔法传说。人们可以看到讲述如何制造魔法石的 16 世纪里普利卷轴,还有机会利用增强现实技术研究大型天球仪上的夜空,这次展览将一个充满魔法的世界展示在众人面前。

为了更深入地了解这样一场丰富多样而又神秘莫测的魔法展览的策划过程,我们采访了展览的主策展人朱利安·哈里森 (Julian Harrison)。在这次采访过程中,他向我们介绍了这项艰巨的任务并讲述了他们在策划过程中所面临的各种挑战。

《如何用茶叶预测未来》(How to Read the Future with Tea Leaves) 中的篇章:“你会麻烦不断”。由 Mandra 翻译的中文英译版(第 2 版),1925 年(大英图书馆展品)
斯隆卷轴(大英图书馆展品)
Harry Potter: A History of Magic exhibition view, The British Library

除了庆祝《哈利·波特》出版 20 周年之外,您认为举办这次展览还有哪些原因?

人们一直对魔法史和自身所处的世界非常感兴趣。这是我们在举办这次展览期间发现的,而公众对这次展览的反应也证实了这一点。全世界的人们都对无法解释的奇闻异事十分着迷。

任何展览都必须找到一个聚焦点,这样的焦点能真正激发人们的好奇心并吸引他们参观。在这种情况下,与魔法相关的历史、传统和神话作为一种整体现象就会极具吸引力。

为什么大英图书馆最适合举办这次展览?

大英图书馆是全世界最大的图书馆之一,拥有大约 2 亿件藏品。我们收藏了范围极其广泛的资料,不仅有来自不列颠群岛的资料,还有来自全球各地的资料,这些资料都非常适合这种展览。

让我们格外激动的是,能够在展览中看到亚洲和非洲的藏品,可以找到埃塞俄比亚的魔法手册、中国的甲骨以及与该主题相关的各种其他藏品。

如何策划一场关于魔法的展览?您是从何处着手的?

我们只有一年左右的时间来准备这次展览。这意味着我们必须要非常快速地选择展品,因为我们还必须同时设计展览并创作有关这次展览所用的书。

很庆幸我们在早期阶段就决定将重点放在霍格沃茨魔法学校开设的不同课程上。以天文学为例,这需要考虑我们拥有的各种资料,并推荐可能要展示的物品。其中一件物品就是神奇的天球仪,还有一件物品则是列奥纳多·达·芬奇的笔记本。然后,我们还需要找到相应的物品来讲述关于天文学历史的故事。我们在我们的中国藏品中找到了最古老的夜空图记录,围绕着类似这样的物品,我们就可以开始创办叙事性展览了。

Guy de la Garde 所著的《L’Histoire et description du Phoenix》中所描绘的凤凰,1550 年(大英图书馆展品)
炸裂的坩埚,20 世纪(大英图书馆展品)
Harry Potter: A History of Magic exhibition view, The British Library

您在策划展览时有什么流程可以遵循吗?

这取决于具体项目。我策划展览的理念是,致力于选择既具吸引力又富有教育意义的展品。不论是亲自前来参观展览的人还是在线观看的人,这一点对他们而言都非常重要。所有展品之间都有一定的关联,这一点也很重要。

《哈利·波特》相关的展品与真实档案资料之间有何关联?

这是一项有趣的任务,我们挑选了 J·K·罗琳的一些素描和草稿,然后将它们融入到展览的整体故事中。在选择大英图书馆的展品时,我们用心寻找与哈利·波特的故事有关联的物品。例如,“草药学”主题展区主要讲述了如何培育曼德拉草的故事。我们尝试着找到罗琳的想法在历史中对应的真实例子,并将之与书中的描述放在一起对比。

您能详细说一下整个展览区域的设计风格吗?

我们与设计公司 Easy Tiger 密切合作,让每个展区都呈现出各具特色的外观和风格。这次展览的设计将不同的主题融合在一起,让参观者走进每个房间时都能有所触动。

在“魔药学”展区,灯光的设计看起来就像坩埚;当您进入“天文学”展区时,可以看到一个圆形房间,夜空笼罩,星光闪烁,天花板上悬挂着望远镜;在“神奇生物”展区,有一面墙呈现出各种各样的生物不断从您身边飘过。

J·K·罗琳绘制的霍格沃茨魔法学校草图(大英图书馆展品)
约翰·伊夫林 (John Evelyn) 的《Hortus Hyemalis》(植物标本集),1645 年(大英图书馆展品)
Harry Potter: A History of Magic exhibition view, The British Library

这个项目遇到了哪些挑战?

挑战就是,我们必须确保能够吸引各种不同类型的人群来参观展览。这次以家庭为单位的参观者比平时要多得多,这一点让我们感到十分自豪。

此外,我们偶尔也需要挪动一些物品,因为它们互相之间没有关联。我们遇到了一些有趣的难题,比如,里普利卷轴总共有 6 米长,在不妨碍参观者走动的情况下,把它放在哪里合适?还有在放置天球仪时,如何才能保证全方位展现出它的壮观之美。

有没有什么没能实施的计划或者没有展示的展品?

在考虑展览涵盖的主题时,我们曾经想过要围绕魔法史展开,但是在小说中描述的魔法史与妖精叛乱等事件的历史有关,所以最终没有选用。

我们最终选定的展品免不了要比所能展出的更多,这也是一个挑战。我们把中世纪手稿并排放在一起,找出可以创作出最精彩故事的手稿,通过这种集中比较的方式作出决策。

一位高地先知所著的《茶杯解读和茶叶算命的艺术》(Tea-Cup Reading and the Art of Fortune-Telling by Tea-Leaves),1920 年(大英图书馆展品)
水晶球和支架,19-20 世纪(大英图书馆展品)
Harry Potter: A History of Magic exhibition view, The British Library

为这种影响力巨大的内容策划展览,您觉得有哪些压力?

压力来自于粉丝们的热情。我非常希望能够忠于故事本身,打造出每个人都欣赏的展览 - 不仅仅是《哈利·波特》的粉丝,还有前来参观展览的所有人。

公众的反应让我们觉得不可思议。我们成功地让大多数人感到了满意,这是我们之前从未料想到的。我们为此投入了的大量时间和精力获得了回报。

您收到的对展览的最佳回应是什么?

在展览结束时,我们会让参观者在一面墙上留下对展览的评价。作为一名策展人,我在看到这些内容时总是非常激动。这些评论来自儿童、成年人、许多国际参观者等等,有些人留下了画作,还有一些写下了他们最喜爱的展品。有很多人告诉我,他们发现了令他们着迷的新东西,这意味着我们的任务大功告成了。

埃林船长的巫术,1700-1800 年(大英图书馆展品)
爱情魔法护符,20 世纪(大英图书馆展品)
皮埃尔·波梅特所著的《Histoire générale des Drogues, traitant des plantes, des animaux et des mineraux》中的独角兽,1694 年(大英图书馆展品)

您在这个项目中削减了很多“魔法”的神秘感,对此您有什么见解吗?

这对我们来说是一个很大的提醒:我们的祖先们与自然界有着密切的联系,而我们当今的生活方式却并非如此。人们过去常常采用天然原料,并且确切了解各种成分组合在一起的效果,从而用它们来保护自身或治疗疾病。我们现在已经与这种方式渐行渐远,如果我们想治疗某些疾病,只需要去看医生或者去药店就可以了。

您从这类展览策划工作中学到了什么有关策划的东西吗?

这是我目前举办过的第三个大型展览。我策划过的展览主题有《自由大宪章》、《莎士比亚》和这次的《哈利·波特》。每个展览对我来说都是一次学习经历,而这次展览选择的主题以及我们围绕主题想出的创意方式让我大开眼界。公众的反应非常重要,这将激励我们在未来做决策时更加大胆。

所有参展内容的来源:
与好友分享此故事
使用 Google 进行翻译
首页
浏览作品
附近
个人资料

Editorial Feature

How Do You Curate An Exhibition About Magic?

Julian Harrison tells us what went into creating Harry Potter: A History of Magic

The spellbinding exhibition, Harry Potter: A History of Magic at the British Library, reignited our curiosity for the magical world. Put on to celebrate the 20th anniversary of the first Harry Potter book by J.K. Rowling, the exhibition also took us back to a time where magic and myth began.

The exhibition was split into rooms that reflected the subjects taught at Hogwarts, like Potions, Divination and Defence Against the Dark Arts, which echo the stories the British Library have shared on our platform through a series of fascinating online exhibits.

In the physical exhibition – alongside original, never-before-seen drafts and drawings from J.K. Rowling and Jim Kay – visitors saw rare books, manuscripts and magical objects from the British Library’s collection, illustrating the traditions of folklore and magic. From the 16th-century Ripley Scroll that explains how to create a Philosopher’s Stone to the chance to study the night sky on a large celestial globe using Augmented Reality, a world steeped in magic was revealed.

To get more of an insight into what it takes to curate a show about something so varied and mysterious as magic, we spoke to Lead Curator for the exhibition, Julian Harrison. Here he tells us about the mammoth task and the challenges they faced along the way.

'You will have a lot of trouble’, in How to Read the Future with Tea Leaves, translated from the Chinese by Mandra 2nd edn, 1925 (From the collection of The British Library)
Sloane Scroll (From the collection of The British Library)
Harry Potter: A History of Magic exhibition view, The British Library

Aside from celebrating the 20th anniversary of Harry Potter, why do you think this exhibition needs to exist?

People have always been interested in the history of magic and in the world around them. That's what we've discovered from putting the exhibition together and the public response to it has confirmed that. There’s a global fascination in things that are unexplained.

Any exhibition has to find a central focus, which really inspires and engages people. In this case the whole phenomenon of the history, traditions and mythology attached to magic is really fascinating.

What makes the British Library the perfect setting for this show?

We're one of the greatest libraries in the world and we have something in the range of 200 million collection items. We've got an incredible range of material, not just from the British Isles, but internationally, which really lends itself to this kind of exhibition.

We were particularly excited that we were able to look at our Asian and African collections for the show to find Ethiopian magical handbooks, Chinese oracle bones and all kind of other things relevant to the subject.

How do you curate an exhibition about magic? Where did you start?

We've had about a year to put this exhibition together. That’s meant we’ve had to work very quickly to choose the exhibits as we were also producing the design of the exhibition and creating the book for the show at the same time.

We were very lucky we decided at an early stage that we would focus on the different subjects of the Hogwarts curriculum. Take Astronomy for example, it involved thinking about the different types of material we had and suggesting potential items. One of those was an amazing celestial globe, another was Leonardo Da Vinci's notebook. You then need to find corresponding items which tell you a story about the history of astronomy. By finding items like the oldest atlas of the night sky in our Chinese collection, you can start to create a narrative around them.

A phoenix, in Guy de la Garde, L’Histoire et description du Phoenix, 1550 (From the collection of The British Library)
An exploded cauldron, 20th century (From the collection of The British Library)
Harry Potter: A History of Magic exhibition view, The British Library

Do you have a typical process you follow when curating?

It depends on the project. My philosophy when it comes to making an exhibition is that I'm really committed to choosing items which are engaging but also educational as well. This is really important for anyone coming to see the exhibition in person or if they're looking online. It's important there's a connection between all of the items.

What is the relationship created between the Harry Potter-based exhibits and the real archive materials?

It's been an interesting exercise in taking some of J.K. Rowling's own drawings and drafts from the books and then integrating them into the overall story of the exhibition. When we were choosing the British Library exhibits, we were very mindful to find things that had a relationship to the stories. For example, the story of how you cultivate a mandrake is featured in the Herbology section of the exhibition. What we've tried to do is put the historical examples of her ideas, side by side with how they feature in the books.

What else can you tell us about the atmosphere that's been created in the space?

We worked very closely with the designers Easy Tiger, and each section has a slightly different look and feel. The design of this exhibition combines the different subjects as you walk through and there's little touches every in each room.

In the Potions section the lighting is designed to look like cauldrons, when you go into Astronomy, it's a circular room with the night sky shining down and telescopes hanging from the ceiling, and in the Magical Creatures section there's a wall of creatures constantly streaming past you.

Sketch of Hogwarts by J.K. Rowling (From the collection of The British Library)
John Evelyn, Hortus Hyemalis or collection of plant specimens, 1645 (From the collection of The British Library)
Harry Potter: A History of Magic exhibition view, The British Library

What have been the challenges of this project?

Making sure we appeal to all the different type of people coming to the exhibition. There's been a far greater family audience coming than usual, and that's something we're proud of.

Also we occasionally had to move things around because they didn't respond to each other. We had some interesting challenges like the Ripley's Scroll which is 6 metres long – where's an appropriate place to put that without impeding on the flow of visitors? And working around that celestial globe to make sure it can be seen in its full glory.

Was there anything that didn't work and didn't make it into the show?

When deciding which subjects to cover in the exhibition we did play with featuring History of Magic, but the way it's described in the books it's to do with the history of goblin rebellions and things like that.

We inevitably ended up with more than we could show and that's one of the challenges. Our decisions were based on an intensive process of putting medieval manuscripts side by side and working out which one you can create the best story around.

Tea-Cup Reading and the Art of Fortune-Telling by Tea-Leaves, by a Highland Seer, 1920 (From the collection of The British Library)
A crystal ball and stand, 19th-20th century (From the collection of The British Library)
Harry Potter: A History of Magic exhibition view, The British Library

What pressure did you feel to get something as iconic as this right?

The pressure came from the passion of the fans. I was very keen to be true to the stories and create something that everybody would appreciate – not just Harry Potter fans but anybody coming to the exhibition.

The public reaction has been incredible. We’ve managed to make a lot of people very happy, which we never could've predicted. It's testament to the fact we invested so much time and energy.

What's been the best reaction you've had to the show?

At the end of the exhibition there's a wall where we let people leave comments about the exhibition, so seeing that is always exciting as a curator to read. Those comments come from children, adults, so many international visitors, some leave drawings, others tell you what their favourite items are. So many people come to tell me that they've found a completely new object that really fascinated them, which means we've done our job.

Captain Elin's witchcraft, 1700 - 1800 (From the collection of The British Library)
Love charm, 20th century (From the collection of The British Library)
Unicorns, in Pierre Pomet, Histoire générale des Drogues, traitant des plantes, des animaux et des mineraux, 1694 (From the collection of The British Library)

Any insights about magic you're taking away from the project?

It's a big reminder that previous generations were very closely connected with the natural world in ways we aren't today. People used to source natural ingredients and know precisely what each one did in combination, to either provide protection or cure an illness. We've moved away from that now, and if we want to cure something we just go to the doctors or pharmacy.

What have you learnt in terms of curation from working on an exhibition like this?

This is the third major exhibition I've done now. I did one about the Magna Carta, Shakespeare and now Harry Potter. Each one has been a learning experience but this one has been an eye opening experience, because of the subject matter and the way we've been very creative around the subject. The response from the public has been really important and will inspire us to be collectively bolder in the decisions we can make in the future.

Share this story with a friend
Translate with Google
Home
Explore
Nearby
Profile