The National Socialists held their Party Rallies in Nuremberg from 1933 to 1938. Even today, the remains of the largest surviving assemblage of architecture built by the National Socialist state and party bear witness to the scope with which the Nazi regime staged its annual propaganda shows. The Documentation Center at the Nazi Party Rally Grounds is located in the "Congress Hall," which was never completed. The Center's long passageway of glass and steel, penetrating diagonally through the building, sends a conspicuously contrasting architectural message. The "Fascination and Terror" Permanent Exhibition that was on show here from 2001 to 2020 painted a comprehensive picture of the Nazi Party's brutal rule, and of Nuremberg's role as the "City of the Nazi Party Rallies." Now the Documentation Center is being remodeled and the former Permanent Exhibition is closed. Construction will take several years. In the meantime, a specially conceived Interim Exhibition, "Nuremberg – Site of the Nazi Party Rallies. Staging, Experience and Violence," presents a large selection of objects and biographical accounts from the history of the Party Rallies and the Rally Grounds. The new entrance to the Exhibition Hall is signposted.
The Documentation Center Nazi Party Rally Grounds is part of the network of the Nuremberg Municipal Museums, which includes the following institutions: Albrecht Dürer's House, Museum Tucher Mansion and Hirsvogel Hall, City Museum at Fembo House, Art Collections, Toy Museum, Museum for Industrial Culture, Memorium Nuremberg Trials, German Games Archive, World War II Art Bunker and Medieval Dungeons.